5/14 Buzz PMPS: 369, +3.5: 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14484

WCR: Buzz is snuggly and purring a lot today. She keeps headbutting me and licking my hair and hands. Hoping her bounce clears today and wondering about yesterday's 36 at AM +4.5. Should I continue to give the 0.5u that she is on, go to a skinny 0.5, or reduce to 0.25? Buzz sometimes has a problem holding on to her reductions, although this time from a fat 0.5 to a regular she seemed to do okay. FWIW, I'm not sure how confident I am measuring a skinny but can certainly do it if warranted.
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270/Dose question

HI Sarah and Buzz, I am not one to give advice but doesn't a 36 automatically get a reduction? I was practicing with a syringe and water when I was getting down to the smaller doses since it was so hard to measure. I think the main thing is being consistent every time. What an exciting time for you guys!!!! I am sure someone will come along and give you the answer. Have a great day,nice to see Buzz doing so well!!!!!
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270/Dose question

Sarah....protocol says : If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!
Hopefully someone will be by to say how much you should reduce it by....very nice numbers Buzz!
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270/Dose question

36 is pretty low & does qualify for a dose reduction--But if you are checking with Libby, how about a PM to her--
She is excellent at helping with dosing--OK?
Today is a bounce, but not so bad considering!! Things are looking great for BUZZ!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270/Dose question

That's really not a bad bounce, especially as low as she went. Buzz always has to keep it interesting, doesn't she? Her headbutting is very cute.
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270/Dose question

The info that everyone is giving you is correct.
Tilly Protocol said:
Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

I think it 's your choice if you skinny the dose or take the full reduction. I would lean toward the skinny since you are concerned about Buzz holding the reduction.
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270/Dose question

I agree with Sienne.... sneakcreases may be better for Buzz (although I can hear the voices in my head that say 30s are pretty low, perhaps 0.25 would be better).... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270, +3: 203, +4.5: 125, +5.5: 88

Thank you all for the replies. I tend to agree with Sienne and Helene (each time I type those two names together, the nerd in me gets happy that they rhyme :mrgreen: ) but am also wary due to the 36. I've PM'd Libby, as Roni suggested.

Buzz definitely had a pretty cycle today, although not nearly as exciting as Blackie's (which is fine with me).
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270, +3: 203, +4.5: 125, +5.5: 88

Hi Buzz, Keepin' your mamabean on her toes, huh? Good for you! My mamabean is totally puzzled by my numbers lately. I think it's fun to see what they say and do, don't you?
Have fun with your numbers. We'll discuss them at the next party.

Stu
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270, +3: 203, +4.5: 125, +5.5: 88

Yes, you need to reduce the dose, 36 always earns a reduction. Congrats!

How much? I'll respond to the questions in your PM here. Usually we do dose reductions by 0.25 at a time, unless the cat has shown that they can't hold onto 0.25 dose reductions. I personally feel that way too many people here are doing increases/decreases by fat and skinny, and most should be doing their changes by 0.25 (especially new diabetics). However, Buzz really HAS done better with the sneakcreases rather than the 0.25 reductions. I think I would go to skinny 0.5. We'll quickly know if that is too much. If you look at Kathy/Kitty's spreadsheet, they did sneakcreases for a long time, but then all of a sudden Kitty's shed started getting ahead of us, he had so much momentum that Kathy had to switch back to regular decreases. You just have to pay attention to your cat.

We do find that usually cats who have returned from the Falls have to work harder for their dose reductions if they want to go to the Falls a second time.

It looks like her rebound is already clearing, so getting a +11 today will help with your shot decision at PMPS. She might keep dropping into PS and give you a low number. If that happens, then IMHO this would be a good time to try a 0.25 reduction and see if it holds. We might learn something. :smile:

As to the differences between the "German way" and our way, there really aren't many differences. You can read both of them in the dosing protocols sticky. Use of the fat and skinny doses is one way we differ for some cats. Earning reductions is a little different, we tend to be easier on the newer diabetics and harder on the old ones. :smile: These are tweaks that we have found to work over time.

Hope this helps!
 
Re: 5/14 Buzz AMPS: 280, +2: 270, +3: 203, +4.5: 125, +5.5: 88

Congrats on the dosecrease--Moonie is one of those who doesnt hold decreases, which is why I do those drop increases & decreases..Glad you got Libby & the answer!! Go Buzz :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Thanks, Libby! Those explanations were very helpful. :-D

Buzz had bounced again at PMPS so I went ahead and did a skinny 0.5u. I assume tonight's action is leftover shed, but I never really know anymore. ;-) I appreciate everyone's comments and knowledge, too.

Stu-
Man, I love to mess up my bean's plans, it is so much fun. I think she's catching onto me, though. I might have to switch it up a little. Let's share tips at the next party like you said. I bet we'll get 'em good!! :lol:
<3, Buzz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top