5/14 (AT) Lovey AMPS 198 + 3.5 81? Reduce dose a bit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hi all,

Lovey has been doing pretty nicely on a 1.75 dose, but this morning I got a 81 at 3.5. I had to leave for work so I gave her a few tsp MC food and some extra LC food in the feeder. I thought she would be sky high, but she is 257 at PMPS. She ate every bit of food.

She probably would have gone below 68 since she nadirs around 6 - 6.5 usually. Should I reduce the dose or just shave it a bit? If I wasn't working, I would probably wait. I can only get a +2 or +3 on weekday mornings.

Thanks
 
I think I'd stick to the 1.75 for now since she is getting better numbers.

We really want them to earn those reductions and she didn't quite get there. If you rush the reductions, more often than not, they just fail and you end up back where you started anyway.

I think you did the best thing this morning...a little food to support her and the snack in the feeder for later. As long as that seems to work, I think I'd keep her where she's at.

Of course you hold the syringe, so you have to do what you're most comfortable with.
 
i'd probably hold the dose too. if you can feed her and keep her nadirs up, then giving slightly more insulin like this will help bring the higher numbers down.

you might just leave her food in the feeder as though you assume she's going to go below 68. Not necessarily high carb, but until your next day off, leave plenty of low carb so if she goes low she has food available. i had 4 openings possible in our timed feeder and if i was concerned about punkin, i set it to go off at +3 (always) then added +3.5, +4, +4.5 to it. I could count on punkin to eat, though, so that worked for us.

if it's going to make you worried while you're at work, though, or you're faced with a low preshot that seems unsafe, give a token dose or skip.
 
I agree, too, with holding the dose. I don't usually reduce unless I actually see the number or unless I'm having to fight to keep her above the 40s.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top