Champoux
Member Since 2017
Link to my previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-units-sid-wonky-numbers.177560/
Since May 10, Champagne's dose has successfully been lowered to 0.5 units BID. However, he tends to do the same thing he did with the previously higher doses: once he gets one dose, he is almost automatically under his "safe" shot number at PS, leading us to skip the dose and giving him against our will, his dose only once a day.
Now this morning his +11.5 was 10.3 mmol/L and his AMPS was 10.4 mmol/L. I'm wondering if I should give the whole dose and hope he rises back during the day, reduce the dose to 0.25 or just skip it completely again and reduce the next doses ? The thing is, I feel that the 0.5 is just right for him at the moment, it brings him down to blues and often greens towards nadir. The only thing bothering me are his low PS numbers. I was told by the vet not to shoot under 12 mmol/L and I'm worried about giving him a shot while he's low and accidentally putting him at a hypo risk.
Sorry for posting right around his shot time again.
Thanks in advance for your advice !
Since May 10, Champagne's dose has successfully been lowered to 0.5 units BID. However, he tends to do the same thing he did with the previously higher doses: once he gets one dose, he is almost automatically under his "safe" shot number at PS, leading us to skip the dose and giving him against our will, his dose only once a day.
Now this morning his +11.5 was 10.3 mmol/L and his AMPS was 10.4 mmol/L. I'm wondering if I should give the whole dose and hope he rises back during the day, reduce the dose to 0.25 or just skip it completely again and reduce the next doses ? The thing is, I feel that the 0.5 is just right for him at the moment, it brings him down to blues and often greens towards nadir. The only thing bothering me are his low PS numbers. I was told by the vet not to shoot under 12 mmol/L and I'm worried about giving him a shot while he's low and accidentally putting him at a hypo risk.
Sorry for posting right around his shot time again.
Thanks in advance for your advice !