5/14 Alice -already off to weird start, AMPS 100 not fasting/126, vet visit today

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
Last post 2 days ago http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...25-73-amps-136-delay-20-min-146-2-100.214388/


So PMPS last night was 238. I guess I messed up and we didn't get any proper testing for the rest of the night, but I woke up and fed her when she cried. I was out of it sleepy. :(

This morning she woke me, looks well, clean, soft, standing up on her toes, energetic. I test her at +10.66 and she is 88! So I fed her. She was crying for it and desperate hungry.

How will this affect AMPS? We've had 3 cycles decreased to 4u from 4.25u. This AM makes cycle 4. She will be riding to the vet today which always shoots her sugar up. I do not want to skip her insulin. Do I need to fast her for two hours still for a proper PS number? I can test every hour and prop her sugar up if I need to, and in fact I have noticed she appears feels great after those days, and I think her starving cells probably have needed the extra energy, each time.

I've got about an hour to figure out her shot for the morning. Vet trip begins around what is normally +3 right now.

Thank you for any thoughts. :)
 
Could you edit your title with the current BG number and maybe "dose advice"? Might be able to get better eyes on your condo.

Otherwise, post a +11 or +11.5. If Alice is trending up, that would be a good sign. Of course, you also fed so that's something to keep in mind. How much did you feed and what? Also is your SS up to date? I only see up to 5/12's PM cycle.

Hope someone comes along soon with some suggestions :)
 
Also not a lot to update on SS the past 2 days.
Yesterday AMPS 471, 4u, +3 357, decided to give her ears a break. We had a rough testing day Sunday. PMPS was 238 and I missed testing last night. Sigh.
Weight this morning up to 2.5kg.

Alice is hungry.
 
If you are home and able to monitor, I would at the very least shoot a token dose. You correct that it's not ideal to have a food-influenced pre-shot number, but with her DKA history, I'd be leery of flat-out skipping a shot.

With that said, I am only able to keep tabs on you until about 12:30EST, as I have to take my Mom to an appointment after lunch today. I'll check as I can until then, though.
 
If you are home and able to monitor, I would at the very least shoot a token dose. You correct that it's not ideal to have a food-influenced pre-shot number, but with her DKA history, I'd be leery of flat-out skipping a shot.

With that said, I am only able to keep tabs on you until about 12:30EST, as I have to take my Mom to an appointment after lunch today. I'll check as I can until then, though.
Able to monitor but was planning a trip to the vet which is a 25 min drive.

I thought about a smaller dose-as you said, token dose-but what would that be? Half (2u)?

I can feed anything from syrup, 20%, 14%, and 4% or less. I am stocked on mixed carbs and have some Purina DM kibble for longer-lasting boosts or anorexia.

The travel may increase her sugar too. But then I may just cancel because I haven't gotten a confirmation yet from my DCIN person if the scheduled time works. Not sure who to message.

These mornings throw me off so much. I'm scattered.
 
126 with a 2 hour fast (showing an uninfluenced rise) is a very shootable number. I would start by just feeding her LC and see how she does; at the moment there really isn't a need to bring in HC. I would get your first test in an hour.

With regards to the vet, you should test shortly before you have to leave; if necessary, you can pump her up with HC then if she's showing a big drop. And, take your testing supplies and HC supplies with you when you go.
 
Glad you shot and had help!

If you do go to the vet, I hope the visit goes well. What is the visit for?
Thanks. We need to discuss the lump on her belly. One of the ER vets suggested it may be a mammary tumor. I need to make a treatment plan going forward to address possible underlying conditions. Low income, need careful, affordable planning....
 
Sorry for the late response--the trip wore us both out.

We discussed the fact that the tumor still doesn't feel attached to any deeper tissue, muscle, etc., and agreed biopsy isn't worth it when we may as well just remove the whole thing and spay while we are at it. (If it is a mammary tumor, they can be easily affected by her hormone production.) I had also read that if in fact it is a malignant mammary tumor, it is safer not to biopsy.

The vet also agreed that she looked much better. She was solidly over 5 pounds today.

So for now we just have a treatment plan and I need to figure out... funds, I guess.

Alice is just plain HI now. Vet travel stress bounce, I'm sure. That was another cue for me to take a nap.

PMPS in two hours!

She's still pretty bright today, too, though I can see more and more when her sugar is high how it affects her stance, etc. She stands like she feels a little weaker.

Thank you everyone for checking in! :)
 
How is Alice doing? :cat: :)
Thanks for asking! I haven't been on here for a couple days, trying to catch up on life stuff!
She is looking and acting great actually!!!! She has a lot more fat padding her spine, especially as of this past week. She is no longer only moving her head to watch the red dot. She is actually chasing it like a healthy cat again! :D Up at her door waiting for me more often, rather than just lying down. I need to update her SS. We had a beautiful, gentle, no-alarms set of numbers yesterday. :D

I was just pulling up some pictures of her and her brother(GA) a few min ago..... <3 (photo is about 8 years old)
 

Attachments

  • FB_IMG_1558264875593.jpg
    FB_IMG_1558264875593.jpg
    37.1 KB · Views: 47
Back
Top