5/13 Sweetie PMPS=43 +3=64 +3.5=69 +4=72 +4.5=90 +5.5=105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

This either earns me the fabled "Balls Of Steel", or idiot of the year, but I actually shot the 43 tonight! :shock: I did give him an immediate reduction of 1.75 -> 1.5u.

And I had to go out right away to a Boy Scout Court of Honor so I could only choose to skip the shot or "shoot low to stay low", could not stall.

So, I fed him 10% carb Friskies instead of the usual 5% or less FF, set the auto feeder to feed at +1 and +2 instead of +1 and +3, and added an extra 1/4 can of FF gravy lovers to each mini meal. Then I left nailbite_smile

I was back at +3 and he was up to 64. Now it's been 30 minutes to I'll retest and be back to post. If it drops more I will feed a little, but try to hold off his last meal until +4 or +5.
 
Re: 5/13 Sweetie AMPS=283 PMPS=43! +3=64 +3.5=69

No drop in the last 30 min - nice surf so far. But we are still a ways from a normal nadir so I'll keep testing tonight. (Don't know what kind of day Sweetie had while I was at rowk so I don't know what his normal is today - he dropped 240 points from AMPS to PMPS today!)

And of course a bounce could certainly be the near future from all this drama :roll:
 
Re: 5/13 Sweetie AMPS=283 PMPS=43! +3=64 +3.5=69

Cathy

Oh gosh....we really strongly recommend you don't shoot below 50. Even Sienne with all her experience won't shoot below 50 and I rarely do with Gracie who is on lev and doesn't onset until late.

I'm glad you are watching it now and please be sure he's coming up much more before you quit testing tonight.

It would have been ok to skip.......

Hope Sweetie comes up and you get some rest tonight.
 
Re: 5/13 Sweetie AMPS=283 PMPS=43! +3=64 +3.5=69

So far so good but I'll watch him closely tonight and I won't shoot under 50 if it happens again :oops: . It was one of those times when I didn't have time to look it up or post for advice so I just went with my gut.
 
Re: 5/13 Sweetie AMPS=283 PMPS=43! +3=64 +3.5=69

I know but when in doubt...err on the side of caution. Sometimes when the number is dropping...it keeps dropping and with a 40 something number, you don't have much cushion.

Don't mean to beat a dead horse but just wanted to throw some thoughts out there for you.
 
Re: 5/13 Sweetie AMPS=283 PMPS=43! +3=64 +3.5=69 +4=72

I know you are right Marje and I appreciate the need for caution. I consider tonight (knock on wood) as beginner's luck that he hasn't dropped down further. Believe me, I won't take this risk again!

+4: BG slowly drifted higher to 72, and he just got his 4th mini meal of the night, this time without the gravy lovers. But I'll keep checking tonight, I promise!
 
Re: 5/13 Sweetie AMPS=283 PMPS=43! +3=64 +3.5=69 +4=72

Ok...I know you will and I know you know how to handle low numbers.

IF he starts back down, I'd give him higher carb food from the get go.

I have "Dealing with low Preshots" linked in my signature block....maybe you want to print it out? It addresses what to do if numbers are in the 40s. But...in the circumstance tonight, skipping would be the best option.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/13 Sweetie PMPS=43 +3=64 +3.5=69 +4=72 +4.5=90

He's up to 90 now at +4.5 but he did just have a LC mini meal at +4. So I'll check again.

Thanks for your help and reminders to keep my kitty safe! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/13 Sweetie PMPS=43 +3=64 +3.5=69 +4=72 +4.5=90

Great...that makes me feel better. :-D

It's possible he will start to bounce. Have a good night, Cathy.
 
Re: 5/13 Sweetie PMPS=43 +3=64 +3.5=69 +4=72 +4.5=90 +5.5=10

BG is on its way up now - 105 @+5.5 - so I'll go to sleep. Wonder how high he'll bounce?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top