5/13 pmps +11 134 ONE Unit in an Hour??

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Active Member
what the heck do I shoot to that? He's eating breakfast and I know the number would be closer to 200 in an hour probably - but I had to feed him.

I'm thinking 1unit? depending on where it he falls in an hour? At 136 when I gave no shot he was mid 300's in 2 hours - I postponed the shot that time - I'd like to stay on schedule and just give him a token shot now - thoughts ???
 
Yes, I'd try one unit, if he is sure rising and gets closer to 200, and watch him.

If you think of this process as data gathering, Ellen, it can be a little less frustrating. So your low number amps tells you the dose last night was too much as it produced a long cycle. That will help you next time you get that range of numbers. The dose/number this am is also good info for you to have for future doses.
 
thanks Sue - I still don't understand the low numbers (which we want) equaling too much of a dose - except in how it impacts the next dose - but if I'd given him less he'd have been higher the entire cycle I would guess or do I have it wrong. I hate that these numbers and patterns just don't sink in for me - it's truly annoying but I keep hoping a light will go on in my thick skull at some point.
Gave him one unit , he was clearly rising but only got to 155 - and will test at +2 and see where we are.
 
I agree he is a tough one to figure out, especially recently. What we think (and remember, this is based on data gathering and patterns we observe - unfortunately there are no scientific studies I have ever found on how ProZinc might work....) is that there are two ways cats react to too much insulin. They have low numbers and/or the cycle lasts longer than 12 hours. Robbie had lower numbers last night, but not the scary low numbers he might have had that would indicate a dose reduction is needed. Instead, the cycle went on for a long time, with flat blues, not our usual smile cycle (from preshot to nadir to preshot). It also indicates probably a lower dose at that same range next time.

This may be Robbies's new pattern. It might be his reaction to that one dose at that number. It's why we whine about getting data (which you have done amazingly well). If you didn't have the numbers from last night, we would be guessing whether it was a very low nadir or a long cycle.....

His patterns are definitely changing. He seems to finally be reacting to the insulin. But it makes his doses hard to figure out.

Glad you are getting numbers today. Definitely rising but gutsy dose for 150. BOS award again.
 
with all the BOS awards I'll be clanking around here trying to get more data to figure this **** out! LOL oh, well, another test in an hour - gonna check him about every 2 - 3 hours today and see where it goes.
 
with all the BOS awards I'll be clanking around here trying to get more data to figure this **** out!

Pretty soon you'll be able to assemble a wind chime.
Nice call on the 1u this morning.

Carl
 
Not sure what sort of cycle this will give you, but the up, then down by +4 will probably happen. He might not show a big drop on a small dose, but I don't think it would have been good to go with more than 1u. You're only other option was to stall and shoot when he came up higher, and that just screws your schedule up. A flat cycle in the blues is good enough - better than ups and downs across three colors of the SS.

Carl
 
looks like Robbie is just gonna go sky high today. He played a bunch with the dog which he hasn't done much of recently and that was fun to see, other than that he slept all morning which is very cat like I know - he wants to eat which is annoying cause he got a snack at noon (+4) which is standard. But I can't imagine what he'll go up to. YIKES
 
OK 342 @ +6 I can't stand to think where he's gonna go - do I just let him sky rocket? I mean - this is awful. I can't shoot him a bit earlier as I'd like to get off this 8am/8am time frame if I can but don't want to screw things up too much.
Thoughts?
 
I'd leave it, though you can certainly shot 15-30 minutes early with no ill effects and not mess up your schedule. You could have given a fur shot this am and be in the same place; he'll be fine. So now you know you can shoot a higher dose into a lower range number and he'll be okay. Good info to have.

If it had gone the other way (hypo) you would be beating yourself up in the other direction. You do the best you can, Ellen, and that is good enough.
 
thanks Sue - I look at him lying it the sun and think my decisions are hurting him and it just makes me crazy but you are right. I was talking to a friend who's sister has a diabetic cat and she didn't understand what my issues were she says her sister's been shooting 1 unit of insulin 2x a day into her siamese cat for like 7 years and it's never been an issue and the cat is 18 and doing fine. Made me really stop and think -"what the hell am I doing?" But I can't think that way if I'd been giving Robbie 1 unit 2x a day all this time where would he be? probably always in the 300's or higher and what would that prove. I don't know maybe it's cause I"m sick too and feel crummy.
Gonna hurt to see him over 400....
 
Ellen
One day in the 400s hurts you a helluva lot more than it hurts Robbie. He doesn't give a crap what the meter says. Look at HIM. How he acts and appears to feel when he's playing or napping....that's what he thinks about the stupid numbers.
it's just one cycle, hon.
Carl
 
thanks Carl I know - just frustrated.
So tonight when I give him his shot - should i react to the very high number we're gonna see or not. I'm thinking I should look back and see that 5.50 has been too much maybe go for 5.0? i want to be able to dose him tomorrow and not have him still too low but Im thinking he'll have gone so high by the time I shoot tonight that he'll never get that low in 12 hours.
I'm pretty unsure of this territory.
 
Well, maybe Carl or someone else is around for a second opinion. 5 units for 265 was too high - gave you a long cycle. 5 units on 414 looked good as did 4.5 on 339/396. Hopefully he will give you something in those ranges to work with.......
 
I concur. This number is "pure", it isn't a bounce or food boosted. It is just due to the lowered dose this morning that he forced you into. So shoot it at face value.

Carl
 
OK - giving him 5 at shot time he's 455 - that's with some dinner in him about an hour ago - the last unfood effected number was 393 at +9 - I'm going with the 5.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top