5/13 Newman AMPS 257 shot 2.25 then he regurgitates his morning food

I am so afraid of doing the wrong thing. This morning, fasting BG 224 at 7:45 AM. In hindsight, I made the mistake of going ahead with feeding him when I guess I should have stalled. So after he has eaten, I retest. He is 217 at 8:15. So close to 200. Referring to the guidelines, I suppose I should wait a couple of hours, test again and make a decision on dosing at that time. Or do a give a reduced dose and by how much. I already made one mistake. Consequently, I am doing nothing for the moment.

I have to go out to physical therapy appointment at noon, so he will be home alone.

Edit Update: Shot skinny 2.25 with test result 288.
Next time, stall and don't feed for 30 minutes to se if his BG is rising on its own. Thanks for the update. I don't like the waiting two hours thing because it really messes up the whole schedule.
 
And don't beat yourself up about it. In the beginning, I forgot about the stall and don't feed a whole bunch of times before I remembered it. My boy was frantic for food a lot of the time, so I always wanted to keep him happy and I fed him.
 
I'm back and just tested him. He is 116 @ +7.

A thunder storm is starting so he is a bit spooked. He was on the top spot on the cat tree when I came in so I assume all was well in my absence. lol
 
Yes. I had a feeling that he was going to go blue today -- that's why I suggested going back to 2.25 and holding it for at least the rest of this week. He is doing very well on 2.25
 
Hi Linda. What time will you be testing and feeding and shooting tonight? I just want to check in on you. Have you gotten any more tests this afternoon?
No tests after returning from my appointment. I fed him and withheld any food after 6:15. He seemed to be feeling pretty good. He even found a toy that he likes and chased it around!

I tested him at 8:15, he was 473 and I shot 2.25. He was hungry again so I let him have more of his food.

The 473 was a bit surprising, like you I expected a yellow number. I guess that would be too easy. lol
 
B
No tests after returning from my appointment. I fed him and withheld any food after 6:15. He seemed to be feeling pretty good. He even found a toy that he likes and chased it around!

I tested him at 8:15, he was 473 and I shot 2.25. He was hungry again so I let him have more of his food.

The 473 was a bit surprising, like you I expected a yellow number. I guess that would be too easy. lol
. Well I think he’s bouncing from his green today. He probably was in green for a few hours. You are doing great, Linda. I really appreciate you!
 
I have been trying for over an hour to get a hold of him and he is not having it. I think he played himself out, literally. He responds when I talk to him, but he is comfortable in his sleeping place, tired with a full belly. I have let him smell every treat I have to offer to no avail. I wish I could have tested.

I was falling asleep in front of my computer this afternoon. LOL I'm going to bed.
 
I see you got a yellow pre-shot and already gave the insulin. Very good.

No therapy today so I am hoping Newman will cooperate and you can figure out how low he is going on this dose. You may actually have to keep him a little hungry and feed smaller amounts (good for diabetics anyway) to keep him coming. It seems like he's gotten wise to your testing and isn't happy about it. I'm not worried about him going too low on this dose, but we will need to see how it's going so you will know if an increase will be required or not.
 
I know they like to graze. It's just that if Newman has access to food all day (or most of the day) he may evade you. Sorry, I'm not trying to change his whole world... I'm just wondering if you will be able to grab him and test ... maybe while he's grazing.. if you are around near the food coffee table :-) (which, by the way was a great idea... making it easier for you and also keeping Minnie from getting the food. I'd LOVE to see a photo of Minnie, by the way, as well as your other kitty. :-)
 
I see you got a yellow pre-shot and already gave the insulin. Very good.

No therapy today so I am hoping Newman will cooperate and you can figure out how low he is going on this dose. You may actually have to keep him a little hungry and feed smaller amounts (good for diabetics anyway) to keep him coming. It seems like he's gotten wise to your testing and isn't happy about it. I'm not worried about him going too low on this dose, but we will need to see how it's going so you will know if an increase will be required or not.
Yes, I was thinking the same. Looking at the spreadsheet, I think I will aim to get a spot check around +5.
 
I know they like to graze. It's just that if Newman has access to food all day (or most of the day) he may evade you. Sorry, I'm not trying to change his whole world... I'm just wondering if you will be able to grab him and test ... maybe while he's grazing.. if you are around near the food coffee table :) (which, by the way was a great idea... making it easier for you and also keeping Minnie from getting the food. I'd LOVE to see a photo of Minnie, by the way, as well as your other kitty. :)
I control access the food, so technically not grazing unless I remove the cover from his bowl. I have grabbed him at those times. I don't want to do it so often that he associates the two.

As to adding a photo to a thread? That will take some study. LOL
 
Back
Top