5/13 Minnie PMPS 189 +2 280 +5 306 big fat dinner + r-boing

Nice numbers today. :cool:
I am in shock! I went rogue and gave her 0.25u of R even though her AMPS was (just) under 300....and gave her some Tiki After Dark chicken/pork. Not sure if either/both those things are to be credited or it's just coincidence - and of course, getting lower the day before I go away for 2 nights! :cat::banghead: She is doing well though :)
 
Continuing on yesterday's topic, I'm not sure what to suggest for reduced doses and cutoff numbers for shots. Her recent enough DKA makes me nervous to suggest it. And so far, she hasn't seen greens on this dose. Though close today, she had R and looks like she didn't need even that much as 0.25 took her down more than 100 points. Curious to see where the rest of the cycle goes.
 
Well... little Min gave you a pretty big response to the .25 R today, didn't she... considering last time it didn't seem to make much difference. I wonder what's up with that? She must know you are leaving town. Now she wants to make a big stink about it! You must be nervous about it all.
 
Sure would like a magic decoder to determine when to give R and how much! All I've learned is that when I give R it's usually the wrong amount. Last 3 days she had the same dose at the same time on pretty much the same AMPS with completely different drops - 79, 17 and 161.

Yes. I am terrified. I feel like I'm living on a knife edge. It's bad enough when I'm home - setting the alarm and hope it wakes me because I've been trained to panic. Just because the sticky says 'don't panic', when the numbers drop at night you can't help but panic - will the cat eat, will the cat puke, how much do I feed the cat to leave it hungry enough for next time in case the BG doesn't go up enough, poke poke poke every 20-30 minutes, will the cat respond, post the data, update the s/s, try to get a 45min 'sleep'. YOU know. I'm not the only one. And her poor little ears are in terrible shape. And on the other swing of the pendulum, terrified of her drinking water, pink/red numbers and ketones. I'm going from all that to have a stranger drop in twice a day, check BG and shoot insulin anyway, give food and hope for the best.

And thanks for asking about the race before, I forgot to reply - I have not had any time to train. I have been for a run 5 times since the beginning of April. I've spent more time worrying about a pet-sitter in the last 2 weeks than I've spent running in the last 2 months! At least the weather forecast is good.

I gave them a huge 5oz Frickazee meal at shot time as an experiment tonight ahead of the sitter, since autofeeders are yet another crapshoot in this feline diabetes casino. Curiously they both walked away from their dishes with about half left in them. Sam went back and finished his (glutton), Minnie went back for another 1/2oz then went on strike after 3 1/4oz total. I'll just leave it there and see if she goes back to it (I know she won't. She likes her food fresh. Diva.)
 

Attachments

  • 20210513_R Dosing trends.PNG
    20210513_R Dosing trends.PNG
    290.1 KB · Views: 134
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
The lowest this dose is taking Minnie is low 100's (still safe), but that's only after an assist from R to give the Lev some better numbers to work with. And you'll be lowering the dose.
 
5/13 Minnie AMPS 291 (0.25R) +2 235 +4 130 +6 113 +8 102 +10 185

Around PM +2 she did a fine poop specimen, 99.8% solid. Then went back to her bowl and nearly finished it after scratching like it was her litter tray. Went to hide by the front door which had me worried, got her BG and it was a springy 280. Now she's resting back on her normal perch.
 
Back
Top