? 5/13 Milo AMPS 7.4 /(mmol/L) + 1.05 4.2 / + 1 .75 4.0/ + 2 3.7/ + 3 4.3/ +4 4.9

Mariaana and Milo

Member Since 2021
I am stalling his food and insulin, increased his dose from 2.25 to 2.5 last night.(PMPS)
Vet said to not shoot if lower than 10 mmol/L. i have shot when he was slightly below 10 in the past...
Thank you.
UPDATE: I shot 2.0 Lantus. And is monitoring closely and have a hypo kit.
 
Last edited:
Hmm, this is your call. You've never shot this low, or close to it. Do you have a hypo kit? Will you be around to test the whole cycle?

Your signature says you're feeding DM, but spreadsheet says the Friskies Pates. Assuming you're feeding the pates and given your data this is generally considered a safe number to shoot, as long as you can stay around to test.

You can also choose to do a reduced dose, token dose, or skip. Keep in mind that those all affect the depot and he will likely go higher over the next few days until the depot builds back up.
 
I have to log off now, so I'd wait for some others to chime in. If not, go with what you're most comfortable with. There's no harm if you reduce or skip, provided no history of ketones/DKA. Just gives you some more data points! In the past when you've skipped at lower numbers, his BG goes higher fairly quickly
 
Hmm, this is your call. You've never shot this low, or close to it. Do you have a hypo kit? Will you be around to test the whole cycle?

Your signature says you're feeding DM, but spreadsheet says the Friskies Pates. Assuming you're feeding the pates and given your data this is generally considered a safe number to shoot, as long as you can stay around to test.

You can also choose to do a reduced dose, token dose, or skip. Keep in mind that those all affect the depot and he will likely go higher over the next few days until the depot builds back up.
 
Thanks for responding i decided to shoot 2.0 i am home all day and have a hypo kit.
When this has happened before i usually did not give his dose. But his blood sugar then
spikes at PMPS. Now in retrospect i wish i didnt give him his shot.. oh well its done.
Keeping a close eye.
 
It is good you shot. That was a safe number and you have the tools to keep him safe.
The idea is to gradually lower your no-shoot number and be comfortable shooting any number over 50mg/dl (TR) or 90mg/dl (SLGS).

Btw, are you following TR or SLGS?

Could you please edit your title to remove the "stalling...advice please?". Thanks! :-)
 
You are jumping around in dose a lot. Shooting 2.0 will not necessarily mean you won’t see a drop to numbers under 100 so get a +2. Looks like you aren’t following either of our methods. Have you read the sticky?
 
It is good you shot. That was a safe number and you have the tools to keep him safe.
The idea is to gradually lower your no-shoot number and be comfortable shooting any number over 50mg/dl (TR) or 90mg/dl (SLGS).

Btw, are you following TR or SLGS?

Could you please edit your title to remove the "stalling...advice please?". Thanks! :)
 
Sorry i tried to remove the word "stalling" but couldn't get it to work.
Can you help me please?
I can't edit your title for you. Only you can. If you go to the top of the thread, at the top right, there is an option called "Thread Tools". Under that there is "Edit Title". If you click on that, it should allow you to edit your thread title.
 
Hmm, this is your call. You've never shot this low, or close to it. Do you have a hypo kit? Will you be around to test the whole cycle?

Your signature says you're feeding DM, but spreadsheet says the Friskies Pates. Assuming you're feeding the pates and given your data this is generally considered a safe number to shoot, as long as you can stay around to test.

You can also choose to do a reduced dose, token dose, or skip. Keep in mind that those all affect the depot and he will likely go higher over the next few days until the depot builds back up.
 
Oh Boy... Milos BGL had gone down...he ate all his food post AMPS;
Retested: +1.05 @ 4.2 Feed 2 TBSP of FF Pate.
Tested again: +2 @ 4.0 Feed 1/4 can FF Pate.
I'm getting nervous... What's the next step?
Do i create a new post for advice on FDMB?
 
Do you have any food with higher % of carbs?

You may want to test again in 30 minutes, and give a bit of higher carb if he is still going down
 
If you don't have higher carbs, you can add a drop of honey to 1 tbs of his food and see if that does th trick of getting him flat (i.e. not going lower)
 
Thanks for the response. I have FF Gravy Lovers grilled chicken feast and Turkey feast in gravy.
i am testing again in 5 min. If lower which can is best and how much? Thanks.
 
I am sorry, I am not familiar with these flavours. I will go do some research and see if I can find out. Foods with gravy usually are higher carb, so either should be good. I would try a tablespoon and meassure again in 30 minutes to see if he responded to it.

@tiffmaxee
 
Do you have any medium carb food? If not, add half a teaspoon of the FF gravy to half a teaspoon of his LC and feed it to him.
 
For what it's worth, when Djoko amps or pspm is lower than usual, his nadir if often around +3. I hope it will be the same for you!
Keep testing :).
 
BGL @ + 2.05 is 3.7! I rubbed some honey on his gums and gave 1 Tbs FF chicken feast gravy lover.
Testing again in 15 min.Question: Can everyone see this post i sent to you? I dont know how to "add"
New information to my previous post so every one can see it.
 
Some of your posts have text on it. Others just a copy of someone previous text.

15 minutes might be too soon to see the effect of the food. can you wait for 20 minutes?
 
You didn't need the honey. It looks like he was doing okay with just the LC. He is more or less flat between +1 and 2.5.

I know you aren't used to these numbers but these are normal healing numbers. We usually intervene with honey only below 2.8. That too, if HC didn't work
 
Let us know the value when you get your next test. The honey will likely get his BG valuie up, and is the right thing when is getting quite low, but is good to know that tends to have a short duration. So is good that you also gave the gravy lovers. Together they might give a spike, but we shall see :)
 
You didn't need the honey. It looks like he was doing okay with just the LC. He is more or less flat between +1 and 2.5.

I know you aren't used to these numbers but these are normal healing numbers. We usually intervene with honey only below 2.8. That too, if HC didn't work
 
Thanks for your reply, and yes i am definitely not used to these lower numbers. Freaking out a bit...
Will test again soon and post.
 
If you highlight a text, and click on it, it will create a quote.
If you just proceed to the last box, in the bottom of the conversation, the one that has Milo picture and nothing written on it, than you can click on that and start typing. When you finished, you post reply and that should work.

Have you tested again?
 
Thank You! I appreciate your words, Fingers crossed that his nadir is happening sooner than later
as this is nerve racking! His BGL has never been this low and yet these numbers are "good numbers" right..?
(Milo's # are always high at AMPS.)
 
Thank You! Retested @ +3 BGL was 4.3 so going up!
Good, so we know he responds well to honey. As I mentioned before, the honey effect will expire soon. So, keep testing!
He might start bouncing, i.e. going up and up. If that happens you can test less often.
If it is only the honey keeping him up, his number might start going down again since it is still early in the cycle, but know you know what to do :)
As Bandit's mum said, once you feel more confortable with green numbers (and get to know Milo's paetterns an responses) you may try to keep him up just with the gravy lover's and reserve the honey for when he hits 3. But I know when I started, I hit the honey all the time....:joyful:
 
Back
Top