5/13 Lucian +5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS HI,+2.5/495,4.75/281

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505

darn! i was hoping he wouldn't bounce so high!
let's hope this bounce is short-lived.

i have a bunch of things to do today, but will check back later...
have a good day!
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505

It's not 600+, so it could be worse. I'll take even a small improvement.

Lucian, being the bouncy boy he is, might take longer with the controlled drop to show effect. I'm in it for the long haul. :-D Looking at the past 5 months, I don't expect him to do anything quickly, except bounce. :o If we can get a little control over that, it's a very good thing, in my book.

Thanks again for all the help last night.
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505,3.5/256

That's a 50% drop in 3.5 hrs. Got to be a way to slow him down. Dropping that hard just leaves him open to bounce, I believe. hmmmmmmm....


And I am having a hard time getting him to eat today, after the MC last night to control his drop. Have 4 different cans open! Finally got him to eat a little whitefish and tuna. :-x Gonna have to figure a way around that. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505,3.5/256,+5/161

Gonna give 1 tsp MC and 1 tsp LC to try to slow down his drop, have to go to DR and won't be back for a while, maybe not till +9. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505,3.5/256,+5/161,+7/150,+9/380

That didn't seem to work too well. Maybe tomorrow. :YMSIGH: I know it takes time, break out the patience pants. :roll:
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505,3.5/256,+5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS H

nckitties3 said:
I just don't get it. :cry:
yep, it ugly, but it's to be expected. he dropped 355 points that we know of today (maybe more). it's those steep drops that cause him to bounce.
the good news... 1.75u is capable of dropping him 355 points on a cycle immediately following a green!

That's a 50% drop in 3.5 hrs. Got to be a way to slow him down. Dropping that hard just leaves him open to bounce, I believe. hmmmmmmm....
purr-fect! your instincts were right on the money. that's exactly what you want to do... slow him down when he starts to take a dive.

from your PM:
I have every intention of trying to hold him around 100 as much as I can.
it's not so much a need to hold him around 100 (although when he's going low you don't want him to earn a reduction... not yet anyway), but try to keep him from diving 300 or 400 points in a single cycle... if possible. i realize it's not always possible! it's those steep drops that cause him to bounce so high.

i know how discouraging all this can be, but try to keep your chin up. rome wasn't built in a day...
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505,3.5/256,+5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS H

in response to your PM:

i would hold the dose for now.
i wish i could "plan ahead" with diabetic kitties. i analyze the data and then suggest changes accordingly. he made an attempt to clear the bounce today. let's see if that's the best he can do with this dose. if not, there's more insulin where that came from.
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505,3.5/256,+5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS H

I was hoping to keep him in mid 100's and maybe he wouldn't bounce like that. I added tiny bit of MC to his meals twice before +7, not much, but I thought enough to keep him from crashing and I really think he would have. But I didn't expect that PMPS. It wasn't because of the MC, right? I had to be gone for 4 hrs, I thought he'd be ok with the little boost.

He usually is higher at his +3 or4, didn't expect that mad dash to the bottom. Guess I'm gonna have to start testing at +2 instead.

I'm leaning more and more towards a bolus with him, maybe he's one of those cats?

I am so frustrated and so afraid I'll lose him cause I can't help him.
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505,3.5/256,+5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS H

no, it's not food that causes bounces. it's the dives or dropping into lower numbers that cause a bounce. lucian just happens to be an award winning diver.

i have real mixed emotions about incorporating the use of R as a bolus with lucian. he can drop so fast on just his lantus dose. i'm not sure if R would help or make things worse. that said, *maybe* a tiny dose of R would help if you could catch him on his way up. it *might* be a way of keeping him from soaring to the moon.
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505,3.5/256,+5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS H

Sorry about the delay, I had to pull myself together. :cry:

From what I understand, a bolus would be given like at +10 when he's already way too high and headed for that 'meter greeting', so it would be in and out by the time he nadir'd from the Lantus, right?
I may be grasping at straws, I know. But it would seem like it would keep him from doing that and help him to be a little more consistent in his bg's. Do I understand that right?
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian +5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS HI,+2.5/495

I started trying to slow him down at +3.5 w/1 tsp MC on his food, then half tsp at +5 and +7, I thought that would be enough, but he had already dropped to far, too fast by that point, is what I'm seeing. Would I have been better off to give more and try to keep him in the 200's? Or was it already too late with that 50% drop by +3.5? I think maybe so. Gonna start testing at +2, not wait till 3 or 4 until he shows me I can.
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian AMPS 505,3.5/256,+5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS H

nckitties3 said:
From what I understand, a bolus would be given like at +10 when he's already way too high and headed for that 'meter greeting', so it would be in and out by the time he nadir'd from the Lantus, right?

the following comments are made with lucian in mind (not every cat)...

that's one way of giving R as a bolus. R has a duration of about 4 - 5 hours (depending on the cat). a small dose of R could be administered after nadir and at +10 if you're confident he's headed to the moon. that would allow the R to be mostly out of his system before the typical onset of lantus.

another options is to administer R at +8, or +9 as long as it's after nadir... if he's beginning to zoom upwards and you're confident he'll continue to zoom upwards after a low.

key points to using R with lucian:

  • you have to "know thy cat". in others words, you have to be confident in knowing where your cat is headed number-wise.
  • you never want the nadirs of lantus and R to coincide.
  • you never want to administer R as the bounce is about to break.
  • all you want the R to do is to "take the edge off" the numbers. you're not looking for a drop of more than 50 - 100 points because a drop of more than that can set kitty up for yet another bounce.
  • because R is a powerful insulin, it's in your best interest to start with a tiny dose (0.1u) and test every hour for the first 4 - 5 hours. this will allow you to collect R data. you want to learn the same things as you do with lantus: the onset, nadir, and duration of R. it's possible the R dose will have to be increased, but many kitties, including my own, will drop 100 points or more from a tiny dose of 0.1 unit R.

nckitties3 said:
I may be grasping at straws, I know. But it would seem like it would keep him from doing that and help him to be a little more consistent in his bg's. Do I understand that right?
that's the goal!
R can be useful a useful tool until kitty reaches his optimal lantus/levemir dose.


nckitties3 said:
I started trying to slow him down at +3.5 w/1 tsp MC on his food, then half tsp at +5 and +7, I thought that would be enough, but he had already dropped to far, too fast by that point, is what I'm seeing. Would I have been better off to give more and try to keep him in the 200's? Or was it already too late with that 50% drop by +3.5? I think maybe so. Gonna start testing at +2, not wait till 3 or 4 until he shows me I can.
you did the best you could possibly do with the information you had!
he had already dropped quite a bit by +3.5 so at that point it was difficult to slow him down. +1s & +2s and +10s & +11s are called "the forgotten spot checks". they'll often yield hints as to where kitty is headed... and how quickly he's planning on getting there.
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian +5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS HI,+2.5/495

Given how much and how fast he can drop, what about a pre-emptive teaspoon or two of medium carb at shot time and/or at +2. It could slow the rapidity of the drop and it would likely keep you away from a low nadir.
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian +5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS HI,+2.5/495

OK, I had some of the info wrong.
For 1, I don't 'know' him. He is so all over the place.
What I was looking at was that +10 where is jumped to 515, 3 hrs after green. Thought that looked like a good time for a bolus.
But again, he isn't consistent enough to even predict onset, much less nadir. So I can see where it would be next to impossible to use it safely.

Just tested at +4.75...281 Still dropping hard, though not as fast as today.. Over 50% in less than 5 hrs. Would have tested sooner, but fell asleep, (the meds). I gave him the last of the MC, in hopes of slowing it down. Right or wrong, it's done.

I could try giving a little earlier on, have to get more tomorrow. Trying to change the info in my head, for 5 months, all I thought I was striving for was getting him low enough for a reduction.
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian +5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS HI,+2.5/495,4.75/2

deb, there is no right or wrong here. try different ways of controlling the curve (choice of foods, timing, amounts of food, etc.). there's no one way to do it right. managing a curve with food takes a lot of trial and error... til you find what works for lucian.

just giving you a head's up...
i work long days on T-W-TH (10 - 12 hours). sometimes i have cancellations and can get online during the day/evening. sometimes i don't... which is one of the main reasons i generally don't post much any more.

didn't want you to think i was abandoning you. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/13 Lucian +5/161,+7/150,+9/380,PMPS HI,+2.5/495,4.75/2

It's ok. Sorry you have to work such long hrs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top