5/13 Leo AMPS 398, +3 248, +5 149, +6 131, PMPS 396

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Goooood morning!

I'm sitting at the airport waiting to catch my flight to work and I'm tickled pink! Leo got down to 101 last night!

I spoke to his grandpa this morning, I called to make sure he was up to give him his shot and he told me his numbers from last night. It makes me happy that Mr Liver is finally letting up. Of course my dad got worried and fed him some HC. I told my dad to be prepared to see high numbers because of it. I actually learned a lot from Junior's (and Bonnie) condo yesterday regarding HC food. Now to make my father understand it.

Anyway have a great day all!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Oh I'm so happy to hear how my experience has helped you. Last night I went out and bought even more HC food for my hypo kit!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Have a safe flight and a good trip! Sounds like grandpa is on it and Leo is in good hands. That would be somewhat of a relief.

Yay for the 101! Those numbers are so nice, but I get really anxious if it is anything below 200. Can you tell we have been in the 200+ for way too long?

Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Good morning guys ... that 101 looked great on leo! I hope that leo and grandpa have a nice time hanging out and that your flight is a smooth one .. any person who flies is a brave person in my eyes .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

that's super - maybe it would help your dad not panic if he understood that a non-diabetic cat's normal blood sugar is in the 50-100 range, and that's the aim of this protocol, to get a cat into that range. when they drop into the greens, their pancreas can heal and the longer you can hold your cat there, the better the chance of getting off insulin.

i don't give high carb food until punkin's below 50.

have a good work week!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Maybe you can convince your Dad to feed him regular food instead of HC when he gets nervous? Leo needs to try and stay in a normal range as long as possible so his liver will stop panicking. So we need to get Grandpa to stop panicking, too! :smile:

Leo wanted dog kibble, did he? I hope Leo doesn't turn out to be part raccoon like Bandit!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Yes he wanted dog kibble! I have never seen him try to eat it before,he had a few kibbles before I saw him and took it away, plus trying to get into the dry cat food too! He knows how to get into cupboards at my folks place so I threw the dry food in the dishwasher for safe keeping. Leo is missing carbs big time apparently. Lol crazy kitters.
My dad has a bad habit of feeding HC as soon as Leo hits 5 mmol/L. Its because of the vet, he told us that a cats BG range is the same as a humans and being my dad is a diabetic too he sees that number and panics. I think I'll tell my dad just to phone me when he gets that low and I can try to walk thru it with him.

I did print out the 'ready to shoot low numbers' sticky for him to read. He was pretty apprehensive about shooting anything under 11 mmol/L.

Anyway I'm back at work and should try to work instead of checking out condos....

Will update Leo's numbers later!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

AWESOME!!! So glad to see Leo came down. Have a safe flight and a good week!!!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Nice +5, Leo!

Like Julie, now that I'm comfortable with seeing Trixie in lower numbers, I don't bust out the HC unless Trix falls below 50; using the LC seems to help her surf nicely in those low numbers. However, when she is low, I do increase the frequency of testing. I do know how your Dad feels, though...the first time Trixie hit the 60s, my heart was in my throat! It's great that Grandpa is so caring about Leo!!

Travel safely!!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Good job Leo!!!

When I was buying Orijen my cats would SCARF it any chance they got. We would try to shoo them off but they were very sneaky. They wouldn't touch their food, just waited for me to feed him. It got so bad that we had to stop buying it because it was getting to be really expensive!!

Willy had one time he was green. My DH started to freak out and got worried, we had his kit out and the HC on standby. I increased the frequency of his tests and I told my DH if he hits mid 50s to low 50s we would start treating with HC (because we didn't know how low he would wind up going and it was our first experience with green and I didn't want to be scrambling). He wound up popping right back up. If it had just been my DH he would have given him the HC at like 100. He gets worried (but knows its ok) when Willy is in blue, even!

Have a safe flight!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Tracy & Leo said:
Yes he wanted dog kibble! I have never seen him try to eat it before,he had a few kibbles before I saw him and took it away, plus trying to get into the dry cat food too! He knows how to get into cupboards at my folks place so I threw the dry food in the dishwasher for safe keeping.!

Bandit is a true carb addict, and will eat any carbs he can get into. The worst offender is Pizza, which he'll eat completely, including all the crust. We have to put the pizza boxes in the oven or Bandit will knock the box off the counter and try to get a piece while we are eating. We can't throw pizza crust in the trash, either, or Bandit will knock over the garbage and eat it over night.

Funny story...in November I saw him drinking out of his dish so I did a spot check. He was over 400! I freaked and searched the house to see if he got into anything but couldn't find any food. I was like, "Great. 4 months otj and now he is going to go back on." Tested him the next morning and he was still high. When I went into my brother's room to feed Gabby (who was hung out on his bed a lot), I stepped in something. I look under the bed, and found pizza. My brother went out of town for a few days and had left a pizza box with 4 large slices in it on the top shelf in his room. Bandit had climbed up, knocked it down, and dragged it under the bed so I wouldn't find it, and then proceeded to eat 3 1/2 pieces from bottom to top! I got rid of the pizza, and the high BG cleared after a couple days. Boy did my brother get an earful when he got home. He should know better than to 1. keep food in his room while he's gone and 2. think that ANYPLACE is safe from El Bandito.
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Julia & Bandit said:
Tracy & Leo said:
Yes he wanted dog kibble! I have never seen him try to eat it before,he had a few kibbles before I saw him and took it away, plus trying to get into the dry cat food too! He knows how to get into cupboards at my folks place so I threw the dry food in the dishwasher for safe keeping.!

Bandit is a true carb addict, and will eat any carbs he can get into. The worst offender is Pizza, which he'll eat completely, including all the crust. We have to put the pizza boxes in the oven or Bandit will knock the box off the counter and try to get a piece while we are eating. We can't throw pizza crust in the trash, either, or Bandit will knock over the garbage and eat it over night.

Funny story...in November I saw him drinking out of his dish so I did a spot check. He was over 400! I freaked and searched the house to see if he got into anything but couldn't find any food. I was like, "Great. 4 months otj and now he is going to go back on." Tested him the next morning and he was still high. When I went into my brother's room to feed Gabby (who was hung out on his bed a lot), I stepped in something. I look under the bed, and found pizza. My brother went out of town for a few days and had left a pizza box with 4 large slices in it on the top shelf in his room. Bandit had climbed up, knocked it down, and dragged it under the bed so I wouldn't find it, and then proceeded to eat 3 1/2 pieces from bottom to top! I got rid of the pizza, and the high BG cleared after a couple days. Boy did my brother get an earful when he got home. He should know better than to 1. keep food in his room while he's gone and 2. think that ANYPLACE is safe from El Bandito.

Oh my goodness, what a sneaky kitty. Willy has eaten a loaf of bread (tore the plastic open) from the counter. He also knocked a cake that was in a pan with a plastic snap lid off the counter, shattering the lid, and ate all of the frosting. He also tries to eat spaghetti whenever we make it... they will eat all that stuff then turn their nose up at their healthy food! (not Willy, he would eat a brick if he was convinced it was food, but cats in general)
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

OH WOW! Hahaha I love Bandit stories that involve him and food, he's definitely still a fat cat stuck in a lil cat's body. And sneaky sneaky too isn't he? Well he does have to live up to his name. Is he an outdoor cat? I can imagine him getting into all sorts of stuff if he was allowed outside. Why would your brother leave pizza on his top shelf?
Willy too sounds like a carb addict, and a sweet toof as well?
Leo's weakness seems to be potato chips, you drop 1 on the ground and he licks the salt off and eats it up. And perhaps any kind of kibble now that he's on a canned diet?
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Stephanie&Willy said:
Willy has eaten a loaf of bread (tore the plastic open) from the counter. He also knocked a cake that was in a pan with a plastic snap lid off the counter, shattering the lid, and ate all of the frosting. He also tries to eat spaghetti whenever we make it... they will eat all that stuff then turn their nose up at their healthy food!

Oh, yes. Bread is kept on top of the fridge because I discovered Bandit will gnaw his way through plastic bags to eat it. My boyfriend once left a box of Matzos sealed in the box on the counter, and Bandit tore his way through the box and the plastic to eat them. Matzos!!!! He growled at me because I dropped a cupcake on the floor last week and wouldn't let him eat it. He's also been known to snatch pieces of pasta right off my boyfriends fork if he's not paying attention.

Tracy & Leo said:
Is he an outdoor cat? I can imagine him getting into all sorts of stuff if he was allowed outside. Why would your brother leave pizza on his top shelf?

He's not an outdoor cat, but he does go out on a leash (but a pretty long one if I'm just hanging out and not walking him) when the weather is nice and I can keep an eye on him. One time he did wander over onto my neighbor's patio (he thought Bandit was adorable and didn't mind him hanging out with him) while he was grilling, and my neighbor didn't realize that El Bandito can strike at anytime, and he managed to steal and eat nearly an entire hot dog roll before he got caught.

My brother left pizza in his room because he was too lazy to properly dispose of it before he left (He's also a single guy in his mid-twenties), so he figured he'd stash it somewhere he thought Bandit couldn't get to. I can't tell you how many times I tell the boys that this never works, and it's gross besides!
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

We keep the bread in the pantry with a chair in front of the door because he knows how to open the cupboards. We can't have it on top of the fridge because he can get up there... also I am far too short to get that down myself. Willy does the spaghetti steal too! Right off the fork or corner of your plate if you turn your head! I have pictures of him watching my DH eat Mc Donald's and reaching his paw out to steal cos he does it so slowly! He must think we're all T-Rexes and can't see things if they aren't moving or something. Just a bit ago-- its even on my SS-- he got into the trash and ate half of a snack wrap including the lettuce. (I swear, Willy could be a spokesperson for them. He LOVES Mc Donald's, especially the fries.... my DH eats if kinda often cos it's really close to our house and easy to get if he's up studying all night)

When my brother moved out (he stayed with me for awhile) I found empty frozen dinner containers and chip bags. Ewwwww!!! My DH and I are in our mid-twenties and even WE think it's gross!!

It's kinda nice to see my cat isn't the only weird one! Maybe Leo is going after dog food because of what it smells like? A lot of times they coat that stuff in brewer's yeast or animal digest because a lot of cats (and dogs) love it. If you're trying to move a dog to raw and they aren't eating it, sometimes they suggest covering the meat in a small amount of brewer's yeast to entice them because they are used to it from and then slowly phase it out. Its most common in the mid to lower quality brands (not all, but a lot more than one would think). Could also be the carbs, in general, or the texture. For us, it was the fish that is in Orijen.
 
Re: 5/13 Leo (last nights +5 101)AMPS?

Stephanie&Willy said:
He LOVES Mc Donald's, especially the fries.... my DH eats if kinda often cos it's really close to our house and easy to get if he's up studying all night)

When my brother moved out (he stayed with me for awhile) I found empty frozen dinner containers and chip bags. Ewwwww!!! My DH and I are in our mid-twenties and even WE think it's gross!!

Lol! I know exactly what you mean! Bandit will try and steal the McDonald's fries out of your hand! He can smell it and stalks you the moment it enters the door. You'd think I'd just have brought the most delicious sushi home the way he acts! We have to throw the food containers away in the garbage outside or he'll get into them and try and eat the paper boxes and bags.

I'm in my very early 30s myself so I didn't mean to imply it was an age thing...I meant to imply it was a single-guy thing! :-D
 
LOL Crazy kitties, its amazing that both Bandit and Willy like McDonalds. Bandit actually eats the bags too? OMG you really do have a raccoon on your hands.

Before FD Leo would turn his nose up at dog kibble and human food and dry cat food too for that matter, he would pretty much starve himself before he ate dry cat food. During Easter dinner he was running around trying to snatch up turkey that was dropped on the floor, i have never seen him do that before. He is always around dog kibble at my parents place, so its nothing new for him, it must be a carb thing.

He's had good numbers all day today as well, but still bouncing up pre-shot. At least his bounces aren't lasting 3 full days anymore. My poor dad is having a hard time testing him as well, says he has to poke at least 3-4 times before he gets enough blood, and he said Leo has started growling at him too, i told him to keep shovelling treats down him to keep him happy. I know from my Leo testing experience that i really need to get his ears really really warm with the rice sock in order for me to get ANY blood outta him. His ears have not learned to bleed yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top