? 5/13 Kit AMPS 260, +1 247, +2 167, +4 100, +5 89, +10 139, PMPS 165, +2 113, possible vacation dose

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
5/12/24

Happy Monday to all. Kit has a vet appointment this morning - she'll get her solensia shot and a claw trim. Because it's a claw trim month I gave her the stronger gabapentin this morning. I tested putting it in some 15% food at +2 (her appointment is at +5.5), and she ate almost all of it, so that was a success. I was surprised at +4 to see her at 100 since I'd given her the 15%, but she tends to drop more on vet visit days when she needs the gabapentin, even if she's eating like normal. I do wish I had gotten a +3, I'm not sure now why I decided not to?
Still a big drop between AMPS and +2. I'm gonna keep on with what I'm doing for a bit to see if we level out and have fewer drops, and then re-evaluate.
I'm taking today off because of Kit's vet visit, just because the gabapentin hits her so hard usually, but it's the only way to get all of her claws trimmed. Tomorrow I'll go in for a meeting at 9am, and then come home once that's done. And I'll be taking the rest of the week off. I was already sort of planning to, but then late on Friday they told us they were replacing the chiller that runs my building and one other, and they have to shut off the power to the building for the whole week. Seems like a good reason to not go in to me. :joyful::joyful:
I hope everyone has a good Monday!

Also - some cute pictures of the wee miss. Ignore the crumbs - I swap the towel she's laying on a few times a week, but she's a messy freeze dried chicken eater. :cat::cat:

PXL_20240513_025535934.jpg


PXL_20240513_025553978.jpg
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20240513_025535934.jpg
    PXL_20240513_025535934.jpg
    64.1 KB · Views: 215
  • PXL_20240513_025553978.jpg
    PXL_20240513_025553978.jpg
    124.1 KB · Views: 225
I love the pictures!
I know the crumb issue with freeze chick. They all love it but my goodness, that thing breaks and goes everywhere! :rolleyes:
Recently, Mikan has been liking chicken hearts—sometimes she eats the whole thing, and sometimes, she eats a part and leaves a wet chunk and crumbs on the floor. Gross.
Hope the vet appt goes well. Enjoy the day off, hope you get to do something nice!
 
Also, an update to the family health saga. So last week I mentioned my mom had been in the ER due to taking too much of the wrong insulin (completely an accident). They were in a town about 4.5 hours from home for cardiac tests for my dad. My dad had gotten a stomach bug the night before that they thought was maybe food poisoning, but weren't sure. He had his appointment, and was supposed to meet with the nurse practitioner in a few weeks, but then got a phone call that they wanted to move the appointment up by a week or so and he would be meeting with the cardiologist. Mom said something about maybe a stent. They also found out from some kidney tests that he's in renal failure.
So dad was sick on Sunday (a week ago yesterday), had his appointment on Monday. On Monday night, mom was sick, same symptoms, better by the next day. Tuesday night was the insulin incident. They drove home on Wednesday. On Thursday dad started feeling not great again. He was still not feeling great yesterday - kept having gas build up and wasn't able to release it. He also hasn't been eating much because he hasn't been feeling well, and yesterday his BG dropped to 52. It went back up just fine, but last night he was in such pain from what he thought was gas, that mom took him to the ER. At 3 am they admitted him because they think he has a small blockage. They have a tube running down his nose to I think his stomach to drain "stuff". And that's where we are. He's not comfortable with the nose tube (not a surprise, I wouldn't be either), and is feeling less pain. But mom wasn't sure what was next except continuing to drain things.
Oh - I also found out that the sugar cocktail they gave my mom at the emergency room was a mix of apple, orange, and grape juices, plus 6 PACKETS OF SUGAR. o_O
Anywho, the health saga continues.
 
I love the pictures!
I know the crumb issue with freeze chick. They all love it but my goodness, that thing breaks and goes everywhere! :rolleyes:
Recently, Mikan has been liking chicken hearts—sometimes she eats the whole thing, and sometimes, she eats a part and leaves a wet chunk and crumbs on the floor. Gross.
Hope the vet appt goes well. Enjoy the day off, hope you get to do something nice!
They're so messy and she loves them so much!
The chicken heart sounds disgusting, and I will do what I can to ensure Kit doesn't become aware of them. :p:joyful:
 
Also, an update to the family health saga. So last week I mentioned my mom had been in the ER due to taking too much of the wrong insulin (completely an accident). They were in a town about 4.5 hours from home for cardiac tests for my dad. My dad had gotten a stomach bug the night before that they thought was maybe food poisoning, but weren't sure. He had his appointment, and was supposed to meet with the nurse practitioner in a few weeks, but then got a phone call that they wanted to move the appointment up by a week or so and he would be meeting with the cardiologist. Mom said something about maybe a stent. They also found out from some kidney tests that he's in renal failure.
So dad was sick on Sunday (a week ago yesterday), had his appointment on Monday. On Monday night, mom was sick, same symptoms, better by the next day. Tuesday night was the insulin incident. They drove home on Wednesday. On Thursday dad started feeling not great again. He was still not feeling great yesterday - kept having gas build up and wasn't able to release it. He also hasn't been eating much because he hasn't been feeling well, and yesterday his BG dropped to 52. It went back up just fine, but last night he was in such pain from what he thought was gas, that mom took him to the ER. At 3 am they admitted him because they think he has a small blockage. They have a tube running down his nose to I think his stomach to drain "stuff". And that's where we are. He's not comfortable with the nose tube (not a surprise, I wouldn't be either), and is feeling less pain. But mom wasn't sure what was next except continuing to drain things.
Oh - I also found out that the sugar cocktail they gave my mom at the emergency room was a mix of apple, orange, and grape juices, plus 6 PACKETS OF SUGAR. o_O
Anywho, the health saga continues.
Wow, one thing after another for your parents. Poor dad. No fun to stay in the hospital. Hope he feels better and can get free from them soon.
The ER juice sounds so SWEET - I have no idea how sweet it tasted for your mom. 6 packets of sugar into juice!

I will do what I can to ensure Kit doesn't become aware of them. :p:joyful:
Hahaha, turn of her cell. Or Mikan will text her. :p:joyful:
 
Wow, one thing after another for your parents. Poor dad. No fun to stay in the hospital. Hope he feels better and can get free from them soon.
The ER juice sounds so SWEET - I have no idea how sweet it tasted for your mom. 6 packets of sugar into juice!


Hahaha, turn of her cell. Or Mikan will text her. :p:joyful:
She said it was hard to drink, it was so sweet.
They're hoping they can clear it up with the tube that is helping alleviate the gas and drain stuff. If that doesn't work, he'll have to have surgery. Which will mean either myself or my sister who lives in California will need to go home to drive my mom to where he would need to have surgery, since he would need a cardiologist present, and his is 4.5 hours away in a city she can't drive in. So we're hoping the naso tube works, although they said it might take a few days to drain enough. There's a third sister who lives 1.5 hours away, but she has to save all her PTO for a surgery she has to have next month for a tear in the muscle near her hip that will put her out of work for 3 months. Eesh.

Kit's vet appointment went well. I only gave her about 2/3 of the gaba from the pill, and that seems like the right amount for a claw trim. She got hissy and growly, but didn't swat or bite. For blood draws I think we'll still have to use a full pill to really get her sedated.
 
She said it was hard to drink, it was so sweet.
They're hoping they can clear it up with the tube that is helping alleviate the gas and drain stuff. If that doesn't work, he'll have to have surgery. Which will mean either myself or my sister who lives in California will need to go home to drive my mom to where he would need to have surgery, since he would need a cardiologist present, and his is 4.5 hours away in a city she can't drive in. So we're hoping the naso tube works, although they said it might take a few days to drain enough. There's a third sister who lives 1.5 hours away, but she has to save all her PTO for a surgery she has to have next month for a tear in the muscle near her hip that will put her out of work for 3 months. Eesh.

Kit's vet appointment went well. I only gave her about 2/3 of the gaba from the pill, and that seems like the right amount for a claw trim. She got hissy and growly, but didn't swat or bite. For blood draws I think we'll still have to use a full pill to really get her sedated.
Gosh, it can get so complicated. I hope the drainage will work and he won't have to undergo a surgery.
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So, we find out tomorrow or Wed if my dad has to have surgery, and if he does, if he can have it close to home or if he has to travel to where his cardiologist is. I'm the most logical (and honestly the better choice) out of my older sister and I as to who could go if he has to travel since my mom can't drive in a larger city. So it will be a last minute, has to happen quick thing, because I'll need to drive 12 hours to my mom, and then an additional 4.5 hours to where the surgery would be. Eric would be taking care of Kit, but he's still not able to test. What's the best way to get to a vacation dose fast if I have to leave suddenly? Should we skip a shot if I have to leave to drain the depot some? Other options?
@Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo
 
she'll get her solensia shot and a claw trim
I read this too fast and thought I saw she'll get her solensia shot and claw him. :p

Sorry to hear about the parental health saga,:bighug: I'm sure it's something we can all relate too.
What's the best way to get to a vacation dose fast if I have to leave suddenly? Should we skip a shot if I have to leave to drain the depot some?
A skip would work. I'd also lower the dose just cause she's been visiting the limes too much on this dose for someone who can't test. Any idea how long you might be gone?
 
I read this too fast and thought I saw she'll get her solensia shot and claw him. :p

Sorry to hear about the parental health saga,:bighug: I'm sure it's something we can all relate too.

A skip would work. I'd also lower the dose just cause she's been visiting the limes too much on this dose for someone who can't test. Any idea how long you might be gone?
Definitely would be lowering the dose, probably to 1.5 to be safe. It's still not determined if I will need to. They're hoping it will resolve itself. They think they'll know by tomorrow. I'm not sure how long I would be gone. Maybe a week?
 
5/12/24

Happy Monday to all. Kit has a vet appointment this morning - she'll get her solensia shot and a claw trim. Because it's a claw trim month I gave her the stronger gabapentin this morning. I tested putting it in some 15% food at +2 (her appointment is at +5.5), and she ate almost all of it, so that was a success. I was surprised at +4 to see her at 100 since I'd given her the 15%, but she tends to drop more on vet visit days when she needs the gabapentin, even if she's eating like normal. I do wish I had gotten a +3, I'm not sure now why I decided not to?
Still a big drop between AMPS and +2. I'm gonna keep on with what I'm doing for a bit to see if we level out and have fewer drops, and then re-evaluate.
I'm taking today off because of Kit's vet visit, just because the gabapentin hits her so hard usually, but it's the only way to get all of her claws trimmed. Tomorrow I'll go in for a meeting at 9am, and then come home once that's done. And I'll be taking the rest of the week off. I was already sort of planning to, but then late on Friday they told us they were replacing the chiller that runs my building and one other, and they have to shut off the power to the building for the whole week. Seems like a good reason to not go in to me. :joyful::joyful:
I hope everyone has a good Monday!

Also - some cute pictures of the wee miss. Ignore the crumbs - I swap the towel she's laying on a few times a week, but she's a messy freeze dried chicken eater. :cat::cat:

View attachment 70107

View attachment 70108
Ohhh I love her- she reminds me of my late Sage :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top