5/13 Jupiter PMPS/319 +2/302

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95217&p=1019686#p1019686

So I am still worried about what I am going to do tomorrow... I hate to skip the dose because I know I will see high numbers probably for a few days after... And if I shoot a reduced dose I think the same will happen... If I shoot a full dose.. and his numbers are declining... I could give him HC food, and leave out HC, and I could also have someone stop by to give him more fresh HC food in between the time I am gone.. Will it be okay to leave him as long as hes getting this HC?

Copy/Pasted from my condo yesterday: I am considering skipping his AM dose on Tuesday, May 14th. I have an appointment and will be gone for a few hours. I missed this appointment last week and had to reschedule so I cannot miss this appointment for any reason this time. Had to cancel last week (on 5/7) since Jupiters numbers kept going lower and lower and I was afraid to leave him here alone. I am not sure if I should just skip, or shoot a reduced dose, or shoot the full dose and hope he doesnt go too low. I will be leaving here at 4pm(+6) and I found someone that can come feed him more fresh food at 6pm(+8) although I will be leaving food out - and I should be back no later then 8pm(+10). Any opinions on what I should do that day??


Todays numbers:
AMPS-308
+2-346
+4.5-310
+9.5-293
PMPS-319
+2-302
+10-350

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-288
+3-220
+3.15(out the door test)-238
+6.75(back home test)-189
+8.5-151
+9-107
+9.5-117
+10.25-89
+10.75-106
+11.25-109
PMPS-119
+1.5-159
+2.75-166
+3.25-150
+4.75-232
+6.5-352
+9.5-285
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Question

Just my opinion, but absent a really low AMPS, I think you could give the normal dose, and then check like you mentioned... Maybe +3 and +5, and feed HC or LC depending on the numbers, then leave food out on your way out the door. Make your appointment, don't worry the whole time you are away, don't drive crazy, and get an "in the door" test when you get back.
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Question

Thanks Carl.

Dane will be driving - so I wont drive crazy. lol

But.... I will probably worry...no way to avoid that though.. Jupe is my baby
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Question

I agree with Carl. I think everything will be fine. Just don't tell Jupiter you have this appointment you can't get out of. If worse came to worse, could Dane stay home?
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Question

I feel so embarrassed saying this... but...The reason I had to cancel last time was because I was on pain medicine for my kidneys so I did not feel comfortable driving. I needed Dane to drive, so there was no one to stay here with Jupiter, and I did not feel comfortable leaving Jupiter alone when his numbers were dropping.

It is not likely that I will be able to drive myself to my appointment tomorrow for the same reason. I would do anything for my baby Jupe, but I dont want to wreck my car trying to drive on pain medicine. I mean if it were a life or death situation I would not leave Jupiter here alone, but I really do not want to risk me getting into a car accident or missing this appointment again.

If worse comes to worse tomorrow, and his numbers are dropping... will he be safe as long as I feed him a bunch of HC before I leave... leave out a bunch of HC (he normally free feeds) and I could also have someone come over 2 hours after I leave to feed him more fresh HC???
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Question

Okay so... Dane opened the refrigerator and somehow the vial of lantus came flying out of the fridge, flew out of the box, and rolled underneath the stove. Under the stove there was a ton of dust, so when he finally got the vial out it was like completely covered in dust. I am scared to use it because the part where you stick the needle in is very nasty looking now from the dust. Is there a way to clean it off? Or should I throw the vial of Lantus away????
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

I think the rubber part is self-healing, so the under-the-stove gunk should not have been able to get in. Not sure what effect the collision with the floor would have, as I've read that lantus needs to be handled gently. Is it still clear, with no particles floating in it?

Wait for confirmation on this, but I think you could clean the rubber part with alcohol on a cotton ball. Long term exposure to alcohol might degrade the rubber, but I think a quick wipe is ok.
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

I have had this vial for almost 2 months now. Infact tomorrow will be 2 months since Jupiters diagnosis. It still looks clear with no particles. The top rubber part where the needle goes into just had a ton of dust on it. I pulled off some of the dust but it still looks kind of dirty and dusty. I was just worried about sticking a needle into that, then the end of the needle would get dirty from it and then I would be sticking that into Jupiter... Yikes... I dont know... I was just thinking that I wouldnt want to inject myself like that because I would be worried about the syringe getting dusty and then sticking it into my skin... so....
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

I can state the lantus survives a few falls....
I must have dropped my vial 4 times total :oops: ... and left it out on the counter for a couple of hours... and it never showed any ill effects.... I used mine for 100 days ( and then we were otj)

I think you are also fine with cleaning the rubber top like Carl said.

Maybe find a special coffee cup or something on the top shelve to keep it in.... I made mine a little nest that way... and told everyone here to not move it....

And I do think you'll know better when you see your numbers that day as you prepare to go the dr....


if you happen to be at 60 and dropping... you can give your medium carb and a drop or two of honey even to boost the numbers for the next 1 hour or two...
and have your person do the same....

I bet you will be in decent numbers and not be so worried....
I know it's hard to leave. But it's a short outing....
I think you'll be okay.....
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

Its been dropped before but it stayed in the box so I was not worried about it being dirty or dusty. I have also left it out for a few hours quite a few times now =[
And just a few days ago I realized I was drawing the insulin the wrong way. I kept the needle in the vial and adjusted the plunger until it was correct. I pushed the insulin back into the vial when there were airbubbles too. I heard it was still okay to use as long as there were no particles in it - so I have still been using it.
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

i did the pushing the insulin back into the vial for a while too ...
I stopped when I heard that I shouldn't....and then just squirted the excess in the air....
I think the stuff is a lot heartier than we are told it is.... but all the same, it's best to be as careful as one can.....
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

I think I just recently read to hold the vial up to the sunlight and use a magnifying glass to check for floaties as they are really thin.
I have dropped my insulin many times. Way back when I was using a vial, I also pushed insulin back into the vial. Now I use cartridges and pens. I actually broke a cartridge once or twice by dropping them. One on the hard cement floor at work completely shattered, another at home just cracked and I threw it out. When they survive my dropping them, I have used an alcohol wipe gently on the rubber stopper, but mine never looked dusty I just wanted to be sure it was clean. I understand your concerns.
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

Hmm I will have to get a magnifying glass and check...

Dyana, if it were you... since it looks dusty on the top.... would you still use it for your kitty?
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

I do have a Lantus Solostar pen here unopened. I was just hoping to not have to use it yet, but of course if I need to I will.
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

I agree with Dyana.....just use a little alcohol pad on the rubber stopper part this once to clean it up.

I'd also recommend you keep your vial in a drawer. That way it's not constantly being moved around as the door opens and the temperature in the drawers are usually a little more stable. I keep mine in the small cheese drawer.
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

It sits on the top shelf. I do not know how it managed to fly out of the fridge and Dane said hes not really sure either. Its never got knocked out of the fridge before...
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

In addition to what Dyana and Marje suggested, you could wash off the bottle in cold water.
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

The problem with it being on a shelf and not in a drawer is that every time you open the frig door, it is more subject to the temp change then if it is in a drawer. I keep mine in a drawer with a refrigerator thermometer next to it to make sure the temp varies very little.
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter AMPS/308 +2/346 Is this Lantus still ok to

Okay sounds like a plan.. I will rinse the bottle off in cold water and wipe the top with an alcohol pad. thanks for all of your replies
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter PMPS/319

Well I wonder if he will clear his bounce tonight... I would love that... rather then him wait til tomorrow to clear his bounce... when I wont be here for a few hours.

tomorrow is 2 months after diagnosis, and 2 months since joining FDMB. I must say I feel lucky to have found this board and all the wonderful people here who have helped me and Jupiter through the past 2 months. Thank you all so much :-D
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter PMPS/319

Well, it sounds like your Lantus had the adventures today instead of Jupiter! :lol: I hope he clears the bounce tonight too since I think it would make you feel better about tomorrow. You've gotten a lot of good suggestions about what to do tomorrow. I'd tell you not to worry, but I know you better than that. ;-)
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter PMPS/319

Wow, I never realized so many people have had the "dropsies" with their insulin! I'm guessing some of it is due to being sleep deprived after all-nighter PJ parties. :lol:
 
Re: 5/13 Jupiter PMPS/319

This is the first bad dropsy we have had. The other times it was in the box and stayed in the box as it fell.. and fell off the table onto carpeting... I think I have done that twice... both times in the morning... both times I was very tired! So I think you are right Carl!


Doesnt look like Jupiter will clear his bounce tonight...still hoping though...

If in the morning his AMPS is high (over 250) I think I will shoot the full dose. I will test at +2 and if he is starting to head downwards I will feed the 9% instead of his regular 4%. If his numbers keep continuing downwards I will feed him 15% - and if I think they will go too low, whenever I leave I will leave out 20% food and also have someone stop by to check on him and feed him more HC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top