5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +6 393, PMPS 464, +2 462(AT)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418 (AT)

Couldn't do a +2 today but just checked at +4 and will check again at +6 and 8. Looks like another high day.
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418, +6 393 (AT)

JInx Jinx Jinx.....it looks like you might be wanting another dosecrease soon.

We need to see what he does tonight, Joe. I'm almost thinking at this time that he may need a .5u increase but will definitely get back to you on that, ok? Let's see how he does tonight.

BTW, could you pls update your SS with today's numbers? Thanks, Joe!!
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418, +6 393, +8 431 (AT)

These numbers are so frustrating...

Per Marjorie's post yesterday, I'll give him a .25u dosecrease tonight.
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418, +6 393, +8 431 (AT)

Just saw your post, Marjorie. I updated his SS with today's numbers and will wait to hear back from you on the dosecrease. Thanks-
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418, +6 393, +8 431 (AT)

Joe- you might want to put the words "dose question" in your subject line so they know you're waiting.

and Jinx...my goodness-

COME DOWN!!

celi & binks
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418, +6 393, +8 431 (AT)

Joe:

How available are you to monitor him during the days if we take him up by .5u? According to the protocol:

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

On this dose, he's only had two nadirs under 300....one on a.m. cycle 5/11 and one on a.m. cycle 5/12. The one thing that concerns me about increasing him by .5u is we don't really have any
numbers past +6 for the nights; but we do have +4 numbers and they are pretty high...some of them higher than PS and he's getting the pred at 4pm so I'm thinking his night numbers are probably
not coming down.

Are you comfortable with raising him by .5u to 1.75u? Would you prefer to only raise him .25u knowing it might take longer to get him into better numbers?

I've also asked for others to take a look at his SS we might get some other input before you have to shoot. In a situation like this, I think it's good to have a couple different sets of eyes on it.
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418, +6 393, +8 431 (AT)

Marjorie, I'm totally comfortable increasing his dose to 1.75u. I know I'm missing some numbers at night, but based on what I do have for him, it seems to be the next step according to the protocol. Unless someone disagrees, I'll increase it to 1.75u tonight and will monitor at +2 and either +5 or +6 during the evening and more frequently during the day. I have a pretty flexible work schedule so there will be no issues keeping a close eye on him for as long as it takes to get him to where he needs to be.

If he does take a pretty big dip at +2, is it best to feed him his regular food or should I give him some food with a little bit more carbs in it, e.g. Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers?

Thanks again for all your help, Marjorie and to everyone else who is helping me out with Jinx. He's my best friend and I truly appreciate it.
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418, +6 393, +8 431 (AT)

Joe and Jinx said:
He's my best friend and I truly appreciate it.

Oh this makes me all teary eyed!. You're a great papabean, Joe!!

Ok...let's go with the increase to 1.75u tonight. Absolutely a +2 and anything you can get around +5/+6 is great or a before bed tonight. I don't have a crystal ball but he hasn't been doing alot at night, it doesn't seem, and he has
to fill his shed. But....yes...we need to see the +2 and that will help us decide if you need to stay up for a mid cycle or whether your normal +4 will be ok. If his +2 is much higher, he's probably not going to dip down tonight but if it's close to the PS or much lower, then we need to be on the ball. Let's see how much different it is before we decide on food, ok? He's got a long way to come down.

What is your shot time so I'll have an idea of when your +2 is tonight so I can be on the board? I know you are in CO so you are one hour ahead of me (I'm in AZ).

Thanks, Joe!!!
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418, +6 393, +8 431, PMPS 464 (AT

Ok, that was awful. I thought I got to the point where I'm able to get a very small drop of blood each time but this time he would not stop bleeding. I had to wrap him up in a blanket and hold his ear for about 5 min to stop the blood while he was freaking out.

Does this happen to anyone every now and then or is it unusual to keep bleeding from an ear prick?

Marjorie, I'm still taking a reading at +2 and +5. I just feel so bad for him right now.
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +4 418, +6 393, +8 431, PMPS 464 (AT

It sounds like you hit the vein. You are poking more to the edge right? I think we've all hit the vein by accident at one time or another and it bleeds like crazy. Once you get it stopped, rub it gently with Neosporin ointment with pain relief...not the cream..the ointment. Hopefully that will help.

I'll be watching for your +2, Joe. Thanks!
 
Re: 5/13 Jinx AMPS 417, +6 393, PMPS 464, +2 462(AT),

Ok, normally i wouldn't be happy with a 462 but hopefully this +2 means it will be a nice gradual curve tonight. Thank-you for sticking around for us tonight, Marjorie!
 
I am poking between the vein and the edge of the ear. I do have some Neosporin ointment so I'll put some on it right now. Thanks again Marjorie.
 
You're welcome, Joe. Sorry I was late....Missy G would rather watch outside critters than eat so it took me longer.

I also hope you'll see a nice lantus curve tonight. I'll be up a while longer but not sure I'll make it to your +5. If he gives you a number you're worried about, post because there might be some east coast members up by then, ok?

Great job! Have a good night. Btw I'll be on for a while longer so if you have a question, just click on the question button and I'll pop back on.
 
Thank-you, Marjorie. If his +5 seems too low, I'll definitely post. Have a good night and I'll talk to you soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top