5/13 Gracie PMPS 317 +2 304

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 310 15th cycle sk .75u
+2: 294
+4: 307
+10: 295
PMPS: 221 16th cycle sk .75u
+2: 200
+4: 128
+5: 144
+7: 243

Good morning LL. Sending healing vines and snowflakes to Jill's DGS and Sienne's DS and all kitties who need them.

Gracie is happy and well rested this morning despite a few late night pokes. After last night's unproductive cycle, I was going to take her up a drop to .75u this morning and when I told her she was going to get a dosecrease, a little voice in my head said "not ready yet". Well....I don't know if that was Gracie talking to me or just my imagination but when I got a mid yellow number instead of the normal pink, Mike and I decided to let her see what she would do this cycle. Unfortunately, even though I gave her the shot as I always do where I insert the syringe, depress the plunger firmly and hold for ten seconds and then pull the syringe out without moving the plunger, there was a drop of insulin on the tip of the syringe. So....looks like she got a "short shot" by a drop so I went from the original draw of .75u which then took down to sk .75u to her probably getting a f.5u ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile I scrounged around everywhere for my happy face and couldn't find it!!! :lol: :lol: I told Mike that now I won't know what to shoot tonight....if she has another disappointing cycle today...is it because I gave her a short shot or because the sk .75u isn't enough. Any thoughts?

Mike goes back to work today. :cry: :cry: :cry: We have had so much fun being together 24/7 the last two weeks and the ups and downs of FD are so much easier to take with your partner in crime present. I won't be around much today to post in condos....I have to get my act in gear and get all the rest of my garage sale stuff together and labelled today and take it over to my friend's house tonight...luckily it is pretty close so it will be easy to keep Gracie monitored tonight. Have a great day.
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244

A yellow start is a much better way to get the day rolling. I occasionally get a small drop left after shooting(much smaller than the drops I count out though and yes i do keep the plunger depressed until it is removed.) I just reinsert the needle again.

It is such a blessing to have a "partner in crime" when doing the sugar dance, we are both lucky. I know how much you will miss Mike when he's back at work. John has been great while I've been running back and forth to the studio this last week. Just shows to go how much I've been around lately, i didn't realize you were having a garage sale. Good luck and have fun.
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244

Hi guys .. sorry to hear about the short shot .. I don't want to give advice on dosing but my guess would be wait and see what her numbers look like tonight and maybe post a +11? I also agree that it is nice to have a partner when dealing with FD .. I couldn't have done it without peter that's for certain .. hope your garage sale goes well, our neighborhood is doing one right now as well .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244

Hi Marjorie,
I think I did the very same thing to Tessie Lou yesterday morning. Her PMPS was in the 300s, so bummer. That one little drop can make a lot of difference in their little bodies. Oh well, it happens and we just have to move on. I don't know what I would do--probably just keep it the same to control the variables. But, let's see what the experts think...

Garage sales are so much work, and so much fun! Especially with a friend. My DH hates them, and says you don't make any money considering the time you spend, but I don't care. It's funny money you didn't have before, and you get rid of stuff you don't want. Works for me! Have fun...
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303

Bummer about the shot, but not a thing you can do about it now. Just keep looking forward!
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303

Geez, yucky numbers are everywhere!! And I can tell you, from someone who has had to do this FD dance alone, it's awful. There's no one to talk things over with, worry with you, or help you make decisions. Friends and family have no idea what it's like and tend to make light of it and you can see them tune out when you're talking about it. I've already decided that I'll probably never get another pet because I don't want to take the chance of going through this again. Of course, I'm sure I'll change my mind. Maybe I'll just get a husband. They're like having a pet, right? :-D
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303

Bummer about the short shot.... I wish I had some advice to offer you!

Your DH is going off to work, and I am just getting mine back! We're both really lucky to have someone that we WANT and LIKE to be around as much as possible!

GL with the garage sale!!

Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321

So sorry to read about the short shot...man that stuff happens. Not much can be done. The other day I fed Attie, tested Attie, drew the syringe....and 4 hours later realized I never gave him the shot! ohmygod_smile I had a few benefits going for me in the choices I made....#1 being home to monitor the next 24 hours...for how I opted to handle the situation.

Garage sales are the order of the day this weekend... I just dropped off a bunch of stuff for the Berea Animal Rescue Fund's rummage sale too! Plus it is the city-wide rummage sale!!! Lots of fun to be had this weekend!

Hey...maybe all the kitties could get together and do a rummage sale for diabetic kitties? All the kitties could coordinate a day in July and do a yard sale/rummage sale with proceeds to FD or DCIN?~~Attie
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321

Wow Marjorie, it never occurred to me to look at the tip of the syringe. I do it as quickly as possibe, before Checks tried to get away.
I'm with Patty, it sukz to be alone in this. No one to commiserate with, or dance with happiness with.
On the other hand, I can eat corn flakes for supper if I want to. :lol:
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321

I haven't been in a laughing mood for a couple of days, but Barb made me lol, loudly. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321

Marjorie and Gracie said:
if she has another disappointing cycle today...is it because I gave her a short shot or because the sk .75u isn't enough. Any thoughts?

My thought is that it hasn't been 72 hours since her last green. ;-)

Gracie seems to need the full 72 hours (if not more) to clear the bounce before you consider increasing. If you increase earlier than that, then she ends up dropping too fast and bouncing even more. I would put the patience pants back on. Sorry!
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321

Gracie, this is Auntie Roni, please come down this minute!!! Or at least tomorrow!!
Sorry for the short shot--but she is just having an adjustment right now, believe me she will come back down, sometimes you must raise the dose, in order to lower it in a short while!
If you press on the syringe right after a shot, there is almost always a drop left in it--I dont think that's it here, just Gracie needie a little more, so you can reduce again when her numbers go lower-
Dont worry! She will be fine...Happens a lot here in LL..You are doing such a great job..Dont get disappointed!
Hugs from us!
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321

Hi guys - bummer on the shot - but don't worry - it's only one, and she'll recover soon.

I think I am with Libby - it seems that Gracie is changing, and that she is beginning to need the 72 hours after the last green. I know.... but patience pants back on. Mannie has changed too - there have been a few cycles where I have had to wait 8 for him to get back to the pattern he has going before he headed on up. He never used to do that - alwasy clear within a day. not any more... of course there are exceptions for him, but new pattern. anyways.... She will come down. oh!! here it is -----> :-D :-D

good luck with the garage sale! sell lots!

have a nice night guys - :razz: :razz:
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321

Hi Marjorie, Sometimes I get a drop left on the end of the needle, too. Usually I just ignore it. I'm not sure that it makes that much difference, and Rusty hates his shots. In any event, those "exit drops" are small (usually). It looks like the expert advice (from Libby) is to hold the dose and see what happens.

Even though Edward can't shoot or test (because of his eyesight), he's very good at holding Rusty at test time (although Rusty really doesn't need to be held any longer; he's good with tests). And Edward is excellent at smelling for that insulin smell when I'm in doubt about whether or not I gave a fur shot. He also does all the grooming. He and Rusty have a strong bond.

Have a good weekend and enjoy the garage sale. How long will Mike be gone?

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321 +10.5 334

Evening all....I'll try to get back in a bit and answer everyone's posts...thanks for the moral support and dropping in.

Libby: thank you...I was just posting that I needed dose help when I saw your post. I don't understand when to increase them. If I wait 72 hours and then she clears, I can't take her up while she's clearing but her cycles when she's cleared are not that good. Yes...we get a little green but a lot of times we don't get any green or she pops back up quickly. So, aside from the needing to wait for this bounce to clear, with you looking at her SS, do you think this is a good dose for her? She's not getting ANY back to back cycles like she was and she's spending way too much time bouncing....which she hasn't done in the past (look back before we started taking her down and then having to go back up); I agree that a couple times she has taken 72 hours to clear but more normally it's 4 cycles at the most. I know you all don't like to look too far ahead and I understand but looking back at this dose...I just don't see that it's doing it for her. But I don't look at her SS with objective eyes either. (And I look at Lucy's SS....you were pretty aggressive taking her back up :-D :-D ).
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321 +10.5 334

I think if you are going to look at Lucy's spreadsheet, the part that is most applicable right now is the part around September 08. She had been on 3.75 for a while, getting some green but not too often. Finally I increased to 4 and she promptly went too low, so I went to 3.75f and stayed there for a long time - over 3 weeks. Her cycles then looked quite a bit like Gracie's, green followed by several cycles of bouncing. Because she was still getting good green, I just waited. Eventually she went under 40 and I reduced, and then she wanted reduction after reduction (too many in a row, but oh well!). When I got aggressive on the way back up, she wasn't bouncing then, she was just plain high.

Some cats do benefit from adding a drop to the dose every now and then, but Gracie hit 40s on this dose just a few days ago, so I don't see room to increase right now. I know waiting is hard, but sometimes it's what you have to do.
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321 +10.5 334

Just here to give hugs, but yeah, I hope you didn't take the patience pants to the garage sale. You're still gonna need them :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321 +10.5 334

Ann & Tess said:
Just here to give hugs, but yeah, I hope you didn't take the patience pants to the garage sale. You're still gonna need them :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ann, you are too funny girl.

Patience Pants.....Make sure you put them on the right way too. Easier said than done....at least for me.

doctor_patient_pants_backwards_259905.jpg
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie AMPS 244 +2 303 +4 321 +10.5 334

Hang in there - Gracie will come down. You have some good advice from everyone. Have a good night.
Belly rubs to Gracie.
 
Re: 5/13 Gracie PMPS 317

Ya'll are so awesome. Seems like I've been wearing PPs for quite some time now.... :smile: Furiously trying to get ready for garage sale...got sidetracked somewhat today. Almost there. Be back soon. Guess Gracie just trying to give me time to do this so I can make extra $$$ to buy test strips for when she decides to be in green all the time. :lol:
 
Hi Marjorie! Hi Gracie! Just wanted to give you the point of view from someone who is not here all the time - I'm thrilled to see Gracie under 1u! When Muffin and I were here full time she never had that low of a dose, so this IS progress!

Hi Gwacie! O M G I miss you so much! My bestest girlfriend! - Lubs, Muffin
 
Sorry I've been AWOL all day. I didn't think I had so much stuff to put in the garage sale and after working on it a while, we decided to go get lunch which took about two hours and then back to work, give civvies squids, feed cats, work on it, and then take care of Gracie. THEN I had to haul it all over to my friend's house...what a PITA but it's done now. Finally got to eat dinner at 9 pm. Thanks for visiting today!!

Libby: thanks for both of your posts. I guess I just can't tell the difference between high numbers and bounces. I suppose since Gracie is getting green, then you assume the high numbers after are a bounce. Well...holding the dose; will hold through Saturday and see where we are. Thanks for the info on Lucy....I will look at that time again.

Ann: It doesn't look I did too much damage with that short shot today. Yes, you and I are so blessed to have the DHs do so much with Tess and Gracie. And I do miss Mike horribly!!! Thanks for the hugs...really needed them!! Uhh....I was trying to talk some other LL folks into buying my patience pants :lol:

Devon: I know you and Peter were in that together too....it does make a difference. Thanks on the garage sale. At least I won't have to haul it all to Goodwill!

Sandy: yes, it is amazing how much one little drop can matter. I'm not that crazy about garage sales either but I have only done two or three...well, only one at our house about 20 years ago but it is so much work.

Amy: thank you! I'm trying :-D :-D

Patty: I know I should not complain because there are SO many of you doing it on your own.....you are my heros and I admire you all. I think it wouldn't be so hard when Mike is gone if I didn't also have the two elder civvies with things going on but it is really great to have someone to discuss the options with. Too funny about getting a husband cuz it's like having a pet!!

Stephanie: Lucky you that yours will be around for the weekend!!! I have friends who can't wait for their hubbys to go back to work...not me....we have so much fun together that I really feel down when he leaves.

Beth: wow....I think Libby said she did that once with Jazzy's shot. I'm assuming you gave it to him late? It's that time of year for garage sales!!

Barb: you're too funny!!! But there's been plenty of nights Mike and I will look at each other and say "soup for Mike, cereal for Marje" :lol: :lol:

Celi: YUCK on the spaghettios!!! That's like eating Soylent Red :lol: :lol: :lol:

Roni: thank you because you are such an awesome cheering section for us all!!

Michelle: thanks for the happy face!!! I knew you would have it!! I look at Mannie's SS alot; you are a paragon of patience but look at him lately!!

Ella: I've never had any on the tip of the syringe and esp the drop today was BIG....bigger than what I count out when I'm counting dose drops. It doesn't seem to have had too bad of a result..yet. I'm so glad Edward and Rusty have such a great bond!!

Tena: maybe that's my problem. My patience pants are on backwards!!

Ann: paws crossed. Hope Maggie is doing better.

Well guys....I'm going to hit the sack pretty soon. I have to be up at 5 to get the civvies fed and then run over to my friend's house to get everything set up for the onslaught and then back to take care of Gracie. Not much sleep last night so hope I get some tonight. Sleep tight. And thanks again for all the great support.
 
sounds like you've had a stressful day, marjorie. it is hard to know the perfect thing to do, isn't it? i think the stressful part is figuring that out, more than doing what needs to be done. it's the decision-making. i trust you're doing the right thing. hopefully tomorrow will bring gracie down into greens. and lots of bucks of garage sale profits for you! hugs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top