5/13 Eddie AMPS 263, PMPS 216, +8/116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Today:
AMPS = 263
+2.5 = 254
+6.5 = 261
PMPS =216
+2 = 274
+4 = 188
+6 = 172
+8 = 116
+9 = 135

Good evening LL!

Today is Eddie's 5 month anniversary from diagnosis. I try the best I can not to get tied to the emotional roller coaster of this dance, but I'll admit, DH can sometimes guess whether Eddie's having a good cycle by my mood. I know there are kitties that have gone OTJ after the 6 month mark, and some have even gone OTJ after being on the juice for years, but I can't help feeling like the window is narrowing for us. I do think that since switching to Lantus, Eddie's patterns are more predictable, and overall, he is spending more time in better numbers, so I'm trying hard to focus on the fact that Eddie feels good, and I think we may be getting closer to regulated.

Eddie continued his bounce from the PM cycle yesterday through the AM cycle today. He was completely flat all day - didn't move up or down more than 9 points - 'till PMPS. His blue +4 at 188 and the almost 100 point drop from PM +2 makes me think he might be clearing out the bounce and might head down into a decent cycle yet tonight. As high as he is still at +4, I suspect that if he does have greens, they will be late in the cycle. He sometimes seems to have a slow onset, late nadir, and extended duration when he's bounce clearing.

Tonight was the 18th dose at 2.5u. He's getting pretty good nadirs and he is getting lower pre-shot numbers more frequently at this dose. It seems like his bouncing may even be improving just a little bit. I do wonder if we might increase again to 2.75u to see if that will improve those things even further. Maybe a larger depot will help keep those lower numbers from shooting up into a bounce at the end of the cycle before the onset of the next?

Marje - thanks for your visit to Eddie's condo late last night. :smile: You asked how I stay up late with Eddie and get up and work, and I have to credit DH for that. He takes care of the early morning AM routine, and lets me sleep a few extra hours, and I'm a frequent after work nap taker, so I can remain at least marginally functional. :-D That's so cool that you've provided expert testimony! Trust me when I say, you had it a lot rougher as an expert witness during a deposition than I had it representing an injured employee during a workers' compensation deposition. :-D Barring an unusually cranky defense attorney, or a client that testifies to something crazy that I'm not expecting, most workers' compensation depos are pretty uneventful. :smile:
 
Looks like a very slooooow slide to some nice numbers tonight. :-D A trick that some people do to try to even out the numbers is to give a little higher carb food and increase the dose. But Eddie doesn't really bounce that high, he just seems to really like the yellow floor. :roll:

I know what you mean about time slipping by, but it really is important to focus on how they are feeling and doing compared to when you started this dance. There is a night and day difference here.
 
Today is Eddie's 5 month anniversary from diagnosis. I try the best I can not to get tied to the emotional roller coaster of this dance, but I'll admit, DH can sometimes guess whether Eddie's having a good cycle by my mood. I know there are kitties that have gone OTJ after the 6 month mark, and some have even gone OTJ after being on the juice for years, but I can't help feeling like the window is narrowing for us. I do think that since switching to Lantus, Eddie's patterns are more predictable, and overall, he is spending more time in better numbers, so I'm trying hard to focus on the fact that Eddie feels good, and I think we may be getting closer to regulated.

(((Jen))))

We were extremely fortunate that we went into remission after just a relatively brief time on insulin. Still, I can completely understand how your mood fluctuates with the numbers, and I counted the days to the 6-month mark, too. (We were about two weeks shy of it when Lantus "clicked" with Jersey.)

Focusing on the positive is, of course, the best approach to take. I know that's easier said than done, though. I have complete faith that Eddie's window has not closed.

Lots of hugs to you!
Shelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top