suki & crystal (GA)
Member Since 2014
yesterday
Hi all,
Bit late posting today, out and about but some good news, Crystal breached the yellow log jam and slid gently into the blues at +4, and is still there at +10

Very pleased that at last we seem to have broken the spell of the dreaded yellows after 8 cycles. This morning's AMPS was 225 and, on Suzanne's suggested revised R scale, I gave her 2.5u R - which seems to have worked
(antijinx) I think she may even have gone lower after +6 but the little minx managed to scoff some HC food that I gave to Poppy. We were completely out of cat food so Poppy got Crystal's emergency HC rations, and left a little bit in the bowl and before I turned round, Crystal pounced and finished it off! My fault, just have to watch her more closely at feeding time.
So, now my dilemma is what to do at PMPS. If she is roughly in the same range perhaps just the 1.0 or 1.5u R - to be decided.
Thanks to everyone who posted yesterday, I am continually amazed and delighted at the strength of support and help available here - a heartfelt thanks from both of us.
Suki & Crystal
Sandy posted late on yesterday's condo and I haven't had time to answer, so I've copied it over to here:
Hi there
Crystal has not visited the 4th floor in 2 months !
That is some serious progress.
So many variables - with Acro comes pituitary tumor activity (or lack of) as well as a pancreas that may be fully functional. . .or maybe not. When it comes to IAA, how much insulin binds to antibodies and how much goes to metabolizing sugar at any given time is anybody's guess. And there is the potential for periods of prolonged duration due to release of bound insulin back into circulation. (If only there was a meter that measured how much unbound insulin is in circulation). These are responsible for the ups and downs.
Pressing the pause button on the Lev increases and continuing to methodically increase and fine tune the R doses is a strategy worth trying. You can always 'unpause' and increase the Lev if needed.
I too suspect Crystal is IAA . Being that IAA is self limiting, it will break one day and insulin sensitivity will return. That's important to remember.
FWIW at the time BKs IAA broke, his R doses added up to nearly half of his total combined daily insulin. At the first sign of change I just pulled the R. It was a huge reduction - and an easy one. No depot - no drama (that came later).
Let me make it clear the L to R ratio was not calculated - we were flying by the seat of our pants.
It was serendipitous.
With a high dose kitty using L you are guiding an oceanliner over waters containing dynamic undercurrents that cannot be measured or predicted but most certainly influence the picture, With study and observation and through trial and error your management of Crysals unique brand of FD will continue to evolve.
Hang in there!
@Sandy and Black Kitty - Very well put Sandy and thank you so much for explaining the ups and downs of IAA which we all suspect Crystal has. I like the idea of the pause button on the Levemir, for the reasons discussed yesterday, and it fits in with how I want to proceed with the R, at least for the next week or so. I think over the coming days I will be experimenting with different doses of R to see what works but it certainly seems that that 0.5u increase has made a difference. Am I right in assuming Sandy that your max dose of R was 6u? Has anyone given more than that (apart from Suzanne's DH by mistake!), I just want to know if there is a limit?
Hi all,
Bit late posting today, out and about but some good news, Crystal breached the yellow log jam and slid gently into the blues at +4, and is still there at +10
So, now my dilemma is what to do at PMPS. If she is roughly in the same range perhaps just the 1.0 or 1.5u R - to be decided.
Thanks to everyone who posted yesterday, I am continually amazed and delighted at the strength of support and help available here - a heartfelt thanks from both of us.

Suki & Crystal
Sandy posted late on yesterday's condo and I haven't had time to answer, so I've copied it over to here:
Hi there
Crystal has not visited the 4th floor in 2 months !
That is some serious progress.
So many variables - with Acro comes pituitary tumor activity (or lack of) as well as a pancreas that may be fully functional. . .or maybe not. When it comes to IAA, how much insulin binds to antibodies and how much goes to metabolizing sugar at any given time is anybody's guess. And there is the potential for periods of prolonged duration due to release of bound insulin back into circulation. (If only there was a meter that measured how much unbound insulin is in circulation). These are responsible for the ups and downs.
Pressing the pause button on the Lev increases and continuing to methodically increase and fine tune the R doses is a strategy worth trying. You can always 'unpause' and increase the Lev if needed.
I too suspect Crystal is IAA . Being that IAA is self limiting, it will break one day and insulin sensitivity will return. That's important to remember.
FWIW at the time BKs IAA broke, his R doses added up to nearly half of his total combined daily insulin. At the first sign of change I just pulled the R. It was a huge reduction - and an easy one. No depot - no drama (that came later).
Let me make it clear the L to R ratio was not calculated - we were flying by the seat of our pants.
It was serendipitous.
With a high dose kitty using L you are guiding an oceanliner over waters containing dynamic undercurrents that cannot be measured or predicted but most certainly influence the picture, With study and observation and through trial and error your management of Crysals unique brand of FD will continue to evolve.
Hang in there!
@Sandy and Black Kitty - Very well put Sandy and thank you so much for explaining the ups and downs of IAA which we all suspect Crystal has. I like the idea of the pause button on the Levemir, for the reasons discussed yesterday, and it fits in with how I want to proceed with the R, at least for the next week or so. I think over the coming days I will be experimenting with different doses of R to see what works but it certainly seems that that 0.5u increase has made a difference. Am I right in assuming Sandy that your max dose of R was 6u? Has anyone given more than that (apart from Suzanne's DH by mistake!), I just want to know if there is a limit?