5/13 Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +3 88, +5 96, +7 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahzryn

Member Since 2012
Hold off dinner and shot 30 minutes and check him again? Skip tonight's shot all together? Lower the dose? I've read the handling low numbers sticky, but he's just so crazy it's difficult to apply that advice in his case.

Insulin resistance is obviously NOT our problem here...
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +9 68, +12 70... advice?

WHOA THERE, CORWYN!!!!!!!!!!

giving your post a bump up the line for more experienced eyes, but I would DEFINITELY stall his shot
and not feed him until you get some input!!

celi
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +9 68, +12 70... advice?

I think stalling sounds like a good plan right now. Post at +12.5 and let's see where Corwyn is going. Are you OK with being off schedule in the AM?

During the week, is someone home to monitor?
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +9 68, +12 70... advice?

No one is home during the week, I had to take vacation to try to get a handle on things Friday and that was obviously a dismal failure. We're already badly off schedule from the previous preshot low numbers... As it was I was going to be late tomorrow morning so I could give him his shot before I went in to work. Right now I am just in tears, I feel like we're goin to have to put this cat down because I can't risk him hyping and dying a horrible death when no one is home.

DH is going to check him in 10, I am in line at Walmart buying more strips. :(
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +9 68, +12 70... advice?

No worries. Many of us work. It can be a nail biter to walk out the door. That's what medium and high carb food are for. Let's see what the next test tells you. Corwyn has been surfing in good numbers. The first few times you have to deal with low numbers it's very scary. There is usually someone around here 24/7 (or close to) to lend a hand.

I'll be back in a couple of minutes. It's time for me to get a test and give my guys a snack.
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +9 68, +12 70... advice?

Corwyn is surfing.

You have a choice. You can continue to stall but it sounds like that is making a mess of your schedule.

You can shoot. The rationale is that it will take approximately 2 hours for Lantus onset, over which time it is likely that numbers will rise. In addition, you will be feeding which will also bump up the numbers. Personally, I think this is a good option. However, you sound really nervous -- which we all understand. It would be your first time shooting low numbers and that makes everyone nervous. As long as you can monitor and have strips and HC food, you're prepared. I'm around for the early part of the evening and I know Marje is around. (Marje's on Pacific time so she's around until the later hours.) We're here to support you.

You could also reduce the dose for tonight. However, I do think Corwyn is making really good progress and I think you will lose momentum if you do this.
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +9 68, +12 70, +12.5 68... advice?

Nervous, yes, but what you said makes sense, and no, I don't want to lose any progress we've eeked out.

We'll be up for at least the next 2-4 hours, and I can set an alarm and dh and I can switch off through the night if things look dicey. We can keep a much closer eye tonight than we can tomorrow, that's for sure.

He ate ok for him, his appetite is always lower at night, and we gave him a skinny 1u. I'll check back in in 2 hours.
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +9 68, +12 70, +12.5 68... advice?

Nice shooting!!

Whatever that number was when you shot is your PMPS. Your AM shot is 12 hours from when you shot.

I wold suggest that you edit your subject line and post the PMPS and all of your subsequent tests when you get them. Marje and I will keep our eyes out for you. There are others who will be up until late, as well. If you need help you can always ask in your subject line. People know that you're new at this and will be happy to lend a hand.
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +9 68, PMPS 68

Done on the subject update, and will do on the posting. *hugs* to all of you, I really appreciate it.
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +2 329, +5 133, +9 68, PMPS 68

Hi Tammy..great job shooting!!

As Sienne said, I'm watching as well and we may tag team you until Sienne has to get to bed. Can you tell me please at what time you shot and where you are so I can equate that to my time zone and know exactly when to check back on you?

Please be sure and get a +1 and post it. We want to see if he gets a food spike at +1.

If you are at all nervous about the number you shot, it's ok to get a +.5 and then a +1.

Just remember, you aren't alone and if you have questions in between tests, put the question mark up. I'll continue to check in and will be here for your tests. Ok?
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +9 68, PMPS 68

Tammy, you're doing great! You are already testing and Corwyn's numbers are already coming down. And you've found this message board, where you can get lots of excellent advice and support. FD is tough and we all know how hard it is.
Liz
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +2 329, +5 133, +9 68, PMPS 68

We shot at 10pm EDT (about 45 minutes ago), so +1 is coming up shortly. Evenings so far we've had a food spike, mornings not so much for whatever reason. Not many days to go on though.
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +2 329, +5 133, +9 68, PMPS 68

Ok...you will be testing him the same time I'm testing Grace so if theres just a bit of lag time for me to get back..don't worry ok? I will get back ASAP and have my DH to help with testing.

Standing by for your +1
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +2 329, +5 133, +9 68, PMPS 68

Tammy --

I'd suggest deleting your AM numbers from your subject line. You'll then have room to post the PM cycle data. It saves us a bit of time to be able to just scan for numbers rather than having to open your condo and hunt down the last test number. I know it's a bit of a pain but it really is helpful if there are several people who are needing us to keep an eye out for them. (Sorry to nag about housekeeping.)
 
Re: Corwyn AMPS 378, +2 329, +5 133, +9 68, PMPS 68

I'm glad Sienne caught that as it will help us keep track tonight.

Great on the +1. See you in an hour okay? I like that food spike! :-D
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104

Surfing .....but I believe it would be good to get a +3. Ok? I'll be here for your number. Pls let me know if you have any questions.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88

+3 was 88.

If I can get him to eat a little bit, I'll probably wait and check again in two hours.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88

I think because you don't have much data and he's dropping, you should test him in an hour. If he continues to drop at the current rate, he'll be in the 50s in two hours.

I recommend you give him two tsp of LC food and test at +4. If he's still coming down but is above 50, repeat.

We want to encourage him to surf by giving him a little food but you don't want to have him drop too low.

If you can set an alarm and get back up to test in at +4, that works.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88

Could only tempt him into eating a tsp or so, so one hour it is.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88

Ok...you could try another tsp in 30 and then test 30 after that. I'll be here.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88, +4 84

+4 84. He was completely uninterested in more food, then and now.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88, +4 84

Much better that he is flattening out now. I'm looking at his SS again. BRB ok?

ETA: There's not enough data on a regular cycle to really indicate where his nadir is. He's either starting a bounce or clearing a bounce on most daytime cycles. There is one where he nadired at +4.

Typically, we would not quit testing for the night without two rising numbers. I know you are tired but my preference would be that you get a +5 and if he's rising, then sleep and test in an hour and a half or two hours just to make sure he is still coming up before you totally call it a night. Once you have a little more data, you might not need to test every hour although you can never absolutely count on the fact that his nadir will always be the same.

That's my suggestion to keep him safe. And I'll be happy to stay up until your +5.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88, +4 84

No sense in both of us losing sleep. :p

I'll keep checking him every hour until he starts back up then. Thanks for all the help tonight.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88, +4 84

Ok...I don't mind if you need the company :-D

My guess is that you will see him start back up. If he gives you a low number and no one is up, there is a link to handling low numbers in my signature block.

I'll hang out just a few more minutes in case you decide you want me to stay up.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88, +4 84, +5 96

+5 96, looks like you were right. Next number will be a +7, for anyone still up.
 
Re: Corwyn PMPS 68, +1 111, +2 104, +3 88, +4 84, +5 96, +7

+7 100, going to leave him alone finally!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top