5/13 Callie Mae amps & +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Active Member
Well, Callie Mae's amps was 171 so I shot .2 (I think. I HOPE!) and her +3 was 127.
I remember someone told me yesterday that when micro dosing, give her small little meals throughout the day, so after her +3 I gave her a couple bites.
Also, I made sure to get her amps before any food.

I say I hope I gave her .2 only because I am not used to using the U100 syringes. According to the conversion chart, for .2u I needed to fill the syringe to the .5 mark. Please, please, please tell me that is the first line on the syringe. (first line past the 0 mark) The package showed a picture that stated whole units were on the right and half nits were on the left, so that's what I went by.

She's doing good.
 
One of the other mini dossers will have to tell you about the U100 syringes.

I can say it sounds like a good dose. You can use the food to influence her numbers. Since food brings her down, not up, you can feed her lower carb food if the numbers are rising and be less generous if the numbers are falling. You have some higher carb food around in case you need her to come up?

I will be around today and will check in on you two.
 
Yes, dry can throw a wrench into things and mess up your good numbers. Great in an emergency, but not as good for just bringing her up a bit. Maybe look for something around 15% carbs?
 
Yea, I kinda figured that was the case.
Something with gravy is probably a good idea?
I don't know how to figure out the % of carbs . To much math involved!.....lol :lol:

Thanks, Lori. I thought so, but wasn't 100% sure.
 
hey you DON'T figure it out. we have it all figured out for you! let me get the link.
 
I have that saved in my favorites.
Didn't realize it said %kcal above the column. I thought it was telling me how many carbs were in the food. :lol:

I love that list.
 
:?: but it is telling you how many carbs in the food, that's what you want right?
 
I'm not explaining properly what I thought that list says.
I was looking at it and in the carbs section, I thought, this one has x carbs.
I didn't realize it meant x% of carbs per calorie.
Or maybe I'm still reading it wrong............ :lol:
I don't know.
I do know that what I am feeding her is low in the carbs list, and some of the gravies and sauces variety are higher. I'll get those!
 
just surfing along.
+6 was 117.
Gave her another helping of her spread out meal.
she's possibly in the green with that one, but, I'm leaving her alone until +9!
 
Still just surfin'
Easy-peasy
+9 128
Her pmps is due in 3 hours, her #'s may be on the way up due to the duration wearing off. Still gave her a little bite to eat. I've been doing her little meals at spot check time. Getting her #'s first, of course. ;-)
If she stays below 150, I was planning on not shooting anything at all, but if she goes over 150, maybe shoot the same dose as this morning (.2).
Is that a good plan?
 
I was kinda nervous at shot time. Her pmps was 156. Pretty darn close to 150 and with it being dinner, I knew her numbers were going to drop. I debated whether or not I should give her a dose, but decided to go ahead with .2
She's been surfing along in the blue for a couple days and it was such a small dose, I figured I can just keep an eye or her, get some spot checks in and if she starts to drop to low, giver her a some saucy snack. I'm waiting till around +2 or +3 before I check her to give the insulin a little time to get in her system so I can see where I think she's going to go.
Do you think it was wise to give her that little dose, or should I have held off.
Guess it's to late now, but would be nice to know for the future should the problem arise again.
 
I would stay with the 0.2u as well. I'd really like to see her get into the greens a little more than she is doing right now. A dip to 80 and back up would be perfect! I would stay shooting the 0.2u at numbers around 150.
 
If you don't see any greens tonight or in the AM, I would go up to 0.4u. I really don't think there's much hypo risk here, and I do think greens will help her along. I would not be really worried about her going too low or anything. Of course it's good to be prepared, but the doses are tiny and she got good #s on 1u, so we are still talking a big reduction here.
 
Joanna don't forget this is a kitty just newly on the wet only diet.
 
Yeah, but she didn't get much drop on the 0.2, the doses are tiny, and she has come down from 1u. I think we maybe had her come down too fast on the doses. I'm thinking one or two more good shots may be all she needs. But in any case the #s are good overall so no worries, there is room to experiment. I don't have a lot of patience some days :mrgreen: . Generally when I have seen kitties do well it's when their beans shoot more rather than less, and let their pancreas get a little more rest time in.
 
I would be on board with a little more insulin tomorrow morning if you are in the same 150 area, if you will be around to test and can keep track. I would like to see some greens too. Seems like she has stalled a little. The 100s are great, but she has the chance to go OTJ.
 
ok, i'll board that boat and go with the .4
either way you are in good shape really.
and joanna i was'nt sure if you knew about the diet change...wanted you to know in case you did'nt.
 
You can also get some medium carb food, 8 to 10% to gently bring up a lowish number. Someone here suggested writing the carb % on the top of each can with a sharpie so you don't get mixed up when feeding or if you're nervous from seeing a lowish number you don't have to go searching around to figure it out.

That helped me out alot when Harley got a 41 at a +3, I panicked a little and went to the pantry and since I had written the carbs on the tops of the cans I just grabbed the 8% can and fed him and brought him up gently, testing to make sure it was enough. Without having done that I might have pulled out the big guns (high carb/Karo) and thrown his whole cycle off.
 
lori and tom said:
and joanna i was'nt sure if you knew about the diet change...wanted you to know in case you did'nt.

Oh yep, I was on board the "night of 9 units" :o :shock: :o which was amazingly a pretty low-key event (yay!) - nothing like w/d to make a whopper dose seem ho-hum :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top