5/13 - Buddy - AMPS 136 +6 76 PMPS 148

Hi, we can't see you spreadsheet because you have not shared it. Would you make sure in the settings that anyone with a link can open it?
 
Welcome. You need to give us permission to see your spreadsheet. It sounds like you are getting an excellent response to Lantus. At what point in the cycle did he drop to double digits and what was the reading?
 
Hello and welcome. You need to change the permissions on the spreadsheet so we can access it.

When you have the time, take a look at this post: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! to help set up your signature to give us information we need to help you. And take a look at the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum.
 
The spreadsheet is fixed. What are you feeding Buddy? Do you have high carb food and honey or Karo syrup? On anAT meter you would reduce the dose if he drops under 68.
 
The spreadsheet is fixed. What are you feeding Buddy? Do you have high carb food and honey or Karo syrup? On anAT meter you would reduce the dose if he drops under 68.

Almost exclusively low carb wet foods like Tiki. Also some low carb pattes. I do have some high carb kibble in the house in case of emergency and honey.

I don't know how folks do a dose less than 0.5 units. I find that very difficult, I dont know how you go between the half unit lines seeems daunting.
 
This Sticky Note has some pictures of how to draw 0.25 units. Some cats only need little bits of insulin:
Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing

Any chance you can get a test before you go to bed tonight? Many cats go lower at night and we determine how to change the dose based on how low it takes the cat. I'm a little worried you got a 76 and the Lantus depot isn't even build up yet. Might be safer to go to 0.25 units for a bit.
 
Morning all. Tested Buddy this morning he's at 121. Unfortunately he moved on testing and ended up with a pretty blood ear :( may have to take a break from testing. Now debating his 9AM shot being at 121.
 
Hi, we start a new thread (condo) for our cats each day and link the previous day's one. Can you start a new one for Buddy today?

That said, I know you are stalling so will answer you here:

Would you be able to use the other ear to test? With Buddy being in good numbers and so new to insulin, I would not encourage you to shoot unless you are willing/able to test him throughout the cycle and you have plenty of strips, karo/syrup/honey and higher carb foods.@Bandit's Mom may be able to give an opinion as well if she is still around.
 
Hi, we start a new thread (condo) for our cats each day and link the previous day's one. Can you start a new one for Buddy today?

That said, I know you are stalling so will answer you here:

Would you be able to use the other ear to test? With Buddy being in good numbers and so new to insulin, I would not encourage you to shoot unless you are willing/able to test him throughout the cycle and you have plenty of strips, karo/syrup/honey and higher carb foods.@Bandit's Mom may be able to give an opinion as well if she is still around.

Thank you. I did end up giving him the shot and will watch him closely. I submitted his numbers this week to the Vet, hopefully she calls me back this morning. I just don't know if we can poke him anymore today, that was rough this morning.
 
Have a look at this post on hometesting tips and tricks
You probably just hit his vein and that's why it bled so much. We've all done it before:bighug:
Are you giving a treat every time you poke him, even if the test isn't successful? Even if that treat is pets or brushing, it tends to go a long way with compliance. Also, warming up the ear beforehand really helps with getting it to bleed more.

How much did you feed him at AMPS? With so little testing data for him, I'd normally recommend you get a +1 to start but if not that then definitely get a +2 and you can always post the number (ideally in a 05/14 condo) for help on when to test next and what to feed. Please don't think that just watching him closely will be good enough.
 
Thanks for all the links and inputs I will try to digest all this. Dumb question. Since buddy has responded so quickly to such a small insulin dose, is it safe to say his pancreases must be working already on some level and producing insulin on its own?

Interesting tidbit, this all started after buddy had a bout of Giardia from drinking some dirty water on our back patio. That was this past October. The giardia turned into a URI which turrned into execs urination for a couple weeeks. Then he just got better, totally normal. Normal eating, normal urination and driking. Then mid-April the URI came back, then he started peeing excessively again, bloodwork showed the orginal 440 glucose number and got us to where we are now. I just have to wonder if his pancreas was just trying to heal from Giardi infection back in November
 
It’s possible his pancreas is kicking in. If his bg drops 3-4 hours after eating , that’s a sign it’s working. The only dumb question is the one not asked! Was he ever given a steroid for any reason in the last 6 months?
 
It’s possible his pancreas is kicking in. If his bg drops 3-4 hours after eating , that’s a sign it’s working. The only dumb question is the one not asked! Was he ever given a steroid for any reason in the last 6 months?

Thanks you. No steroids, only antibiotics for potential secondary infections from the Giardia infection.
 
Back
Top