5/13 Bagheera AMPS 245 PMPS 238

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
Much, much better readings today. I think Michelangelo's human may have been right. My human got me in the fur, not in the skin. Silly human. He looked at the needle and saw a drop of insulin, which he wouldn't have seen if he did manage to inject me properly. Sigh. What am I going to do with him?

I think he is going to stick me before he goes to bed tonight, but this is much better.

What do you humans think? Is it time to bump up the dose a little? Or wait until the end of the week?

Prior condition
 
I don't think the high number was due to a fur shot. I actually wonder if Bagheera went lower than you realize at night and bounced back up. You aren't getting any night tests at all. Without night tests, you are missing half your data.

I can't recommend a dose increase without some nighttime spot checks.
 
The reason I thought it was most likely a fur shot is because we haven't seen reds in a while and if he's been dropping too low for what his liver feels acceptable (not too low into hypo territory, necessarily), you haven't been catching him rebounding that high in a long while. Instead, it looked flat and rising every hour akin to how Mikey's numbers look after he's had a missed/skipped/fur shot.

Trust Marje; she knows Levemir where I'm only familiar with Lantus. ;-)
 
Wouldn't there be a similar pattern with the tests during the day and night? My human can get a test at +4 or +5 at night, but then he goes to bed and doesn't wake up until it's time to get the pre-shot test. That is actually the first thing he does in the morning. The alarm goes off, then he tests me and gives me my shot.

Marje and Gracie said:
I don't think the high number was due to a fur shot. I actually wonder if Bagheera went lower than you realize at night and bounced back up. You aren't getting any night tests at all. Without night tests, you are missing half your data.

I can't recommend a dose increase without some nighttime spot checks.
 
No...the patterns from day and night can be quite different. Cats often will go lower at night.

A +4/+5 at night would be perfect!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top