5/13 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130; +6 143; PMPS 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Well, not a bad start but still no lb action, and I'm afraid to give her any Miralax because of her bad reaction with stomach cramps on Saturday, unless I try again with just a very, very tiny amount. Maybe 1/4 tsp. was just too much for a 9 lb. cat. The last lb was Monday am when I emptied her box, and then it was loose stool. Any other home remedies?

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14332
 
Re: 5/13 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 - Question

Definitely could be too much-I split 1/8 tsp between 2 cats, but recommended dose here is 1/8 tsp per cat(of course there are circumstances).
Adding water to their food helps them move the food through their systems, also I have been giving mine omega 3 oil & olive oil since they were younger--Oil seems to lubricate their innard for hairballs & for pooping--You could try a little omega 3(good for the coat too)like a few drops.
Miralax is pretty mild, try 1/2 the dose=1/8 or maybe a little less for beginning-
My civvie gets pumpkin for constipation, but it has carbs so Moonie cant have it--
Hope it all moves along well
GREAT AMPS MAGGIE!!! Whoo Hooo!! :mrgreen: Have a good day!
 
Re: 5/13 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 - Question

Thanks Roni. I thought 1/4 tsp was too much when I measured it, but I followed Vet's instructions!!! I have Trader Joe's Omega-3 Fatty Acids Softgel, which I take every day. I could split it open and give her some over her food. I guess it's the antibiotics that block her up, as she's never had a problem with constipation.
 
Re: 5/13 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 - Question

Jill and Jojo will recommend 1/4 tsp for a cat that's constipated and once you get LB action, lower the dose. I was told 1/8 tsp by my vet. I would use a smaller amount or try other options -- pumpkin may work (just pureed pumpkin not the sweetened pie filling), someone mentioned using squash baby food.
 
Re: 5/13 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 - Question

Usually ab's give diarrhea, but Moonie is like Maggie, she does the opposite of the norm!!
Just a few drops of the omega 3 to start( dont want to make her little tummy upset)--like 2-3 drops from eye dropper--You can always increase-I give my two Vitacoat by foster& smith, & it has the oil in it..But the pure is better & helps with arthritis if she has any too!!
Hope this helps--Have a great day Ann & Maggie-- Maggie we are awaiting a poo prize from you!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/13 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 - Question

Thanks Roni and Sienna for all those tips. She seems happy, purring and wanting brushed and eating okay for Maggie, which means slurping any juice she can find and eating some of the bulk when she feels like it!
 
Re: 5/13 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 - Question

FWIW - I give 1/4 tsp to my 4 cats. I agree that trying the 1/8 tsp is good to try. ;-)
 
Re: 5/13 Ann & Maggie AMPS 130 - Question

FWIW - I give 1/4 tsp to my 4 cats. I agree that trying the 1/8 tsp is good to try.

Wow, 1/4 tsp divided among 4 cats. Definitely 1/4 tsp was too much for Maggie then!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top