5/13/24 Mazi AMPS 79A/83L +4 86A/91L +6 70L +8 94L PMPS 93A/124L + 1 111L

@Wendy&Neko

I'm feeling kinda friskay today! Should I try to switch to TR. I'm not going to be back to working till sometime in June. So if I want to try TR this would be the best time when I'm still home all day. I prolly would be extremely nervous to move or try TR when I'm back at work.

What do you think?

I feel comfortable on how to respond to his low blood sugars. Im not as anxious anymore when he drops into the 60s, i just grab him a tablespoon or two of medium/high carb pate and retest in 20 mins instead of running for the Karo syrup, like I have In the past if he drops to 79..lol

And since he has the Libre sensor on him and I dont have to poke him every hour, im thinking this might be a good time. I'd continue to test with with the Alphatrak at preshots, nadirs, and any Libre numbers below, say 70 mg/dl.

I have spoons, many cans of medium/high carb food, and Karo syrup with syringes on board. I'm feeling frisky today. Lol

His 1 pm +4 BG was just 91L, he's due for a low carb snack right now. And im going to check him against the Alpha track as soon as I send the message.Ive also got hourly BGs on my SS from this morning.

What do you think? Do you think me and Mazi are ready to try TR?
 
The reduction point on the AT if following TR is below 68. If you are giving all low carb wet or raw, you can follow TR. The decision has to be up to you as it can mean more monitoring. And it's perfectly fine to try it for a few weeks to see if it works for you. TR does have a better record for remission, though some kitties on SLGS go OTJ too.
 
@Wendy&Neko

I think of I am interested in trying TR, this would be the best time due to me being home and having all day with him to monitor.

I normally test a minimum of 4 times a day. I check Mazis BG's at AMPS, anywhere between AM +3 to +5, PMPS, and PM +4.

I feed 1/2 can of low carb wet pate at AM and PM preshots and AM/PM + 4 I feed 1/4 can of low carb wet pate. So 2 meals and 2 snacks.

I would obviously only give snacks the first 1/2 of each cycle when insulin is the strongest in the blood. If he needed a little boost in the 2nd half of a cycle, I would stick to low carb pate and only a teaspoon and recheck. And never give food two hours before preshots.

How often should I be testing while following TR? Do members on TR feed more often than 2 meals and 2 snacks a day?

Also, the only part about TR that makes me nervous is nights when I have to sleep. Any advice for nights and how to keep Mazi safe till I wake up?

As of now I stay up till PM +4. So I feed Mazi at 845pm, give him his shot at 9 pm and then I check his +4 at 1 am then I go to sleep.
 
People don't feed any differently on TR vs SLGS. You feed as often as your cat needs. You want to avoid big drops early on in the cycle, and you want to keep them safe towards nadir. What that means for food varies by cat, not dosing method. To keep cats safe while working or sleeping, many people use autofeeders to dispense extra meals. If kitty is a grazer, then just leave some extra food out to munch on and stay safe.

As far as how often to test, 4 times, 2 per cycle is the minimum. Many people get an earlire +2 or +3 cycle to see if that indicates an active cycle needing more monitoring or food later during the cycle. If possible, you try to figure out your cats blood sugar patterns - where those patterns go over several cycles. I spent quite a bit of time before bed looking at Neko's spreadsheet, and seeing if the cycle so far and the previous couple looked like any series in the past - to try to predict if I needed to get up again or could sleep through the night. If you can't get up again for some reason, maybe you leave some higher carb food out for snacks.

Lots of ideas in this post, that also work for sleep: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!
 
@Wendy&Neko Okay that all makes sense. I can't thank you enough for taking time out of your day, away from your family, friends, free time, to devote your time/life to helping complete strangers help their fur babies.

So far Mazi and I are doing good, Mazi's lowest BG this AM cycle was 70. He spent most of his day in the 90's. I'm going to give him extra attention tonight for behaving and following the Lantus Low Number rules.

Hopefully this PM will go as well as the AM.

I hope you have a wonderful rest of your day!
 
Back
Top