5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61, 7.5 71

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/13/14- Zack AMPS 465

I'm glad you're testing for ketones, and that his appetite is good.

Depending upon how today goes, it looks like you have room to raise his dose tonight if you will be home to monitor and have all the supplies you need.

Have a good day.

Oh, and you have 4 condos up (duplicates). You can Delete the other 3, so people don't start posting on all 4 and things get confusing ;-)
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack AMPS 465

I agree with Dyana....if you don't get some much better numbers in this cycle (like low to mid blues) I'd go up to 1.75 tonight

Hope you can get the syringes you need! Having the ones with half unit markings make those doses easier!
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack AMPS 465

Hi guys .. I don't think I've had the chance to stop by and welcome you, so welcome from us! Fingers crossed that zack works his way down today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack +10 260, PMPS 432

Good for you!

Now you're going to keep giving the 1.75 for at least 3 days (6 cycles) unless Zack drops below 50

Hopefully, the increase will get his attention!
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS 432, +2 298, +4 112 increase to 1.75

Look at that BLUtiful color!!

That's a big drop from PMPS to +2 and then +4, so I'd want to get a +5 next Holly...and don't be surprised if you get a high number at AMPS either...those quick drops like that usually set them up to bounce

Did you find the syringes with half unit markings? That's a big difference between 1.5 and 1.75 in Zack's numbers so soon after an increase, but it's also possible that the little extra is making that big a difference

Here are some pictures of some of those microdoses for you to compare to
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS 432, +2 298, +4 112 increase to 1.75

No. My husband has better eyesight than me. He measured the insulin tonight. I believe he got the 1.75, by my using a magnifying glass to review his measure. His hands are steadier than mine, too.
I am a little nervous.
Going to put horses to bed. be right back.
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS 432, +2 298, +4 112 increase to 1.75

can you give a little low carb food to slow down his drop? I would give an ounce or so if he's willing to eat it. does he usually have a good appetite?

just so you don't get taken unawares, the speed he's dropping is enough by itself to set up a bounce. so he's very likely to bounce from this drop. There's a more thorough description of a bounce here.
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS 432, +2 298, +4 112 increase to 1.75

by the way, you don't need to be nervous. you'll be able to steer his numbers with carbs. the first time you do it is a little nerve-wracking, but you'll be surprised how he'll respond when you give him some carbs.

i'm just thinking you can slow him down by giving the food. he's not in any danger at all.

if he goes below 50, you're going to pop the top off of a can of gravy high carb cat food, put the lid back on and squeeze out the gravy. give a teaspoon of the gravy and then post here. you'll wait 20ish minutes and retest again.

If you don't have the "Low numbers" sticky printed out so you can refer to it, now would be an awesome time to do that! :-D

i'd get a +4.5.
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS 432, +2 298, +4 112 increase to 1.75

I think she was already past +4.5 when I posted Julie..Hopefully she'll be back from feeding the horses soon and can get the +5 (or close)

And Julie is totally correct Holly....one of the reasons we're so big on home testing is because it does put you in better control....if they go low, you can steer with food. (that's why I had asked the other night if you had your "hypo kit" stocked)

It's people who shoot without testing that have the big problems with hypoglycemic episodes that run into big trouble

You're doing great in getting tests in, and Zack is looking pretty good so far!
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS 432, +2 298, +4 112, +5 75

Don't panic Holly!

That's a great number at this point in the cycle! It is a big drop though, so will probably trigger a bounce.

Just give him a teaspoon of his regular low carb food and retest in 20-30 minutes. You don't want to feed too much in case he continue to drop and you want him to still be willing to eat.

It's probably best for you and your husband to get together and use an old syringe and some colored water of some sort and decide on what 1.75 is going to be. It's important it's consistent and that way you have something to compare to.
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS 432, +2 298, +4 112, +5 75

Started to panic little.
read the posts, mis-read. gave him teaspoon carb food. then re-read post, and gave him teaspoon low carb.
I am not a great nurse. :(
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS 432, +2 298, +4 112, +5 75

No worries Holly!

The first time China went low, I gave her 1/2 cup of maple syrup!! We all panic the first few times we see those lower numbers!!
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS 432, +2 298, +4 112, +5 75

A tip for you on bookkeeping too.. The cells will expand vertically but not horizontally, so if you need to post several test numbers in the same cell, post the #, hit the space key and then you can post the next # and the cell will expand to fit. If you look at China's SS on 5/5, on the PM cycle, at +3 she tested at 46 and at +3.5 was at 50.

To do that I posted the 46....then when I got the +3.5, I added a "space" between the 46 and the 50....and when I entered the 50, I entered it 50 (space) @ (space) 3.5

You have to color code the cell yourself though by clicking on the little icon along the top that looks like a small paint can that's tipping over (to the right of the capitol A that says "text color")..it's the "fill color"
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56

Don't erase the PMPS numbers if they'll all fit Holly...if at all possible, start with the PMPS numbers and list them all in the subject line. If you have to take some out, delete some of the "in between" numbers, but it's important for us to be able to see where he started and the major numbers after that

Another teaspoon of low carb!

Come on Zack....time to jump on that surfboard!
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56

Hi Holly

I haven't had a chance to welcome you and Zack to LL as I was on vacation. So we are glad you all are here. Looks like Zack has decided to tip his toes in green tonight :mrgreen:

Chris is going to bed soon so I'll be up to help you, it looks like Zack is slowing down a bit. Here is a recap:

PMPS: 432
+2 298
+4 112
+5 75
+5.5 65

If you didn't feed him after the +5.5, I'd give him a little more LC and retest at +6. Sound good?

Edited to add (eta): looks like you might already be around +6.5 since the +5.5 was an hour ago. How is he doing?
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61

Thank you Marje!!

Let me be the first to welcome you to your first PJ party Holly! ~O) ~O)

Coming up a little! Yeah Zack!

You're doing GREAT Holly!
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61

Since we don't know much about Zack, if he's still hungry, let's give one more tsp and test in 30.

PMPS: 432
+2 298
+4 112
+5 75
+5.5 65
+6.5 61
 
Re: 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61

test at the +7 now or 30 minutes after the food?
And thank you Marje, for being there. Here with me.
 
We like to get two rising, non food influenced tests. Can you set an alarm for an hour and be sure he is coming up still?

If he starts back down, you know the drill to feed him but he's past nadir and you've on,y been giving LC so he's likely not going to come back down.
 
Re: ? 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61, 7.5 71

We increased to 1.75 u shot this evening.
What do we shoot in the morning?
We were at 1.5 before the increase.
 
Re: ? 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61, 7.5 71

I'd leave the dose for now and try to dose as consistently as you can. It's very hard to do even with 1/2u marked syringes because they are so inaccurate. So it's even harder since you only have the whole unit marked ones.

You did great tonight. I imagine he will bounce.
 
Re: ? 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61, 7.5 71

As tired as I am, let me just verify- we will shoot tomorrow morning at 1.75?
No one will be home during the day. Should I take him to the vet tomorrow?
Most we can do is lunch time. We both work.
Holly
 
Re: ? 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61, 7.5 71

He didn't earn a reduction and he was getting nowhere on the 1.5u.n is there any chance he got more than 1.75u tonight?

You can always post in the morning before you shoot. Dyana is usually on early and could help you if you are worried.
 
Re: ? 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61, 7.5 71

Holly?

Still awake? Just wanted to be sure you saw my note to post and Dyana can let you know if it is safe to shoot. I'll send her a message to look out for you.

And, pls be sure you get one more test and make sure he's still rising before totally calling it at night. I remembered you gave 1 tsp HC and it takes HC about two hours to wear off.
 
Re: ? 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61, 7.5 71

I was very confidant in what Paul drew up. It really looked like 1.75. But we are humans, so I am not sure.
Have to go with those syringes tomorrow morning.
Will get new 1/2 dose needles tomorrow if I have to make them myself (just kidding), but will be in touch with vet tomorrow or transfer script to Walmart
Sounds like it will still be tricky with the measure of the 1.75 though.

Will post pre shot # in morning as usual.
Will test before I leave for work,, and decide on vet then.

Thank you very much.

Holly
 
Re: ? 5/13/14- Zack PMPS +6 56, +6.5 61, 7.5 71

If you are worried, you can shoot a reduced dose but a reduced dose does not always affect the current cycle due to the depot. I hope you don't have to take him to the vet.

You're welcome. Night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top