5/12 Oren amps=461; PMPS=428 continuing saga..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Well, I have felt more stressed since this last vet visit then anytime since the earliest days after diagnosis! just awful.

Ran into the vet today when i picked up the stuff; she tried again to offer "don't want to get off on the wrong foot" and I heartily agreed, but she still won't budge on the dosing protocol. When I asked what she did base her dose decisions on she stiffened and said "my medical training and education", sputtered something about 12 hr. curves weekly and only 2 or 3 tests a day otherwise. SIGH. I didn't mean it to sound rude, I simply asked if she didn't like the protocol I was following, how did she make her decisions about how to dose?! Anyway when i expressed concern about glucose toxicity, and what if his numbers continue to climb while on the 4U dose, she said I was not to change anything till i talked to her first! What is she going to do, fire me?! yell at me? She's already pissed at me I can tell. I pointed out that he hasn't gone below 300s in several days, and that would need to be figured into her calculation for the new dose effects, especially if he goes even higher... Again, a rather grumpy look and that's what prompted the "don't do anything w/o checking with me first".

Pretty sure I'm going to contact yet another vet in town, one I found that specializes in cats. Their website says regarding Diabetes, that they work to develop an individualized treatment plan... so I will contact them and start right off w/ asking if they know of or support the Roomp/Rand protocol. No point in switching completely again w/o some idea up front of whether it's another buzz saw/brick wall.

Anyway, tonight, to humor her (and me a little) I gave 4.5u (even tho she wanted 4) from the new vial. Gave him mostly FF w/ 1 tbp. of DM next to it in the bowl. Also 1/2 packet of Fortiflora. She also recommended that, 1 packet day. I ALWAYS add water to his food, and I also give him about 1 tbp. cooked skinless chicken breast w/ each meal.

He is also getting .2 ml Bupe 2x day for 5 days.

She does think he should be a 9.5 to 10 lb. cat, and he weighed in at 8.9 at the last visit. So she said 228 cal. /day was the target, which according to her, is 1.25 cans of the DM /day. I did negotiate to only buy 1 wk. worth of the food, in case he didn't like it (damn little bugger eats everything tho, and tho he did eat his ff first, he ate the DM w/ little hesitation... but who knows in a day or two...). She wanted him on it for 3 wks.

i have added the lab results for bloodwork to my spreadsheet, best I could. Some things were expressed a little differently in my printout from the spreadsheet.
She did the SNAP fPL test, and all it says on the form is ABNORMAL.

(jeez, as I write, Oren and his sister are chasing eachother up and down the hall... so far no ill effects from the Bupe?!)

I did get her email, and plan to send her the actual Roomp/Rand article, and maybe a few other things. She wants to talk Friday.

Is the Fortiflora something that has to be gotten at vet? is it really worthwhile? It was the most expensive item tonight. I vaguely recall some others referencing it, but would appreciate opinions...
 
Last edited:
Megan - first for you. :bighug::bighug: I remember this point in my journey with Neko. It is hard. I think I had several pity parties at my place. We get what you are going through. Make sure you take time for yourself - get out and take time to do whatever is fun for you.

You can get Fortiflora at Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001650OE0/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 There's a discussion going on about it on Zoey's condo too today.

Oren's labs look pretty decent. The spreadsheet values are just a template, you can change the normal numbers to what is on your lab reports. Have you had a urinalysis done lately?

For the bupe - the only ill effects you'd see is if the dose is too high, then he'd be wobbly (stoned). You might see big pupils too. My civie once had too high a dose (emergency vet gave higher concentration) and he walked like a drunken sailor.
 
Megan - first for you. :bighug::bighug: I remember this point in my journey with Neko. It is hard. I think I had several pity parties at my place. We get what you are going through. Make sure you take time for yourself - get out and take time to do whatever is fun for you.

You can get Fortiflora at Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001650OE0/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 There's a discussion going on about it on Zoey's condo too today.

Oren's labs look pretty decent. The spreadsheet values are just a template, you can change the normal numbers to what is on your lab reports. Have you had a urinalysis done lately?

For the bupe - the only ill effects you'd see is if the dose is too high, then he'd be wobbly (stoned). You might see big pupils too. My civie once had too high a dose (emergency vet gave higher concentration) and he walked like a drunken sailor.

Wendy; they did a urine culture this time, not an analysis, and it just said "no aerobic growth". I'm starting to come down a little from a peak of major anxiety today. I don't like confrontation and I definitely wasn't trying to be difficult with her. There was a urinalysis done at the last vet at time of diagnosis, and one back in March(?) i think, at this place; don't have the results, just that i recall them saying white blood cell count was elevated.

My out of town boyfriend arrives Thur through next Tue, so am looking forward to that. Sadly, he's allergic to cats and can't really help hands on very much! But he's supportive and very affirming so it will be nice to have some realtime hugs! Not that i don't appreciate all the support and virtual hugs here!! I'd never have made it this far w/o you all :bighug::bighug:. Sometimes, t's just hard to have to do all this completely on my own...
 
Sorry you are having so many issues with your vet. She sounds very defensive and in my opinion FWIW if she isn't willing to even look at the dosing protocol and maybe learn from it, she is not worth sticking with.

My vet doesn't always agree with me but he will always look at anything I suggest and read up on it.
He hadn't heard of levemir insulin when I asked to have Sheba swapped to it about 9 months ago. He researched it and then agreed to give me a script for it and has keenly watched her progress since then as he wants to learn from it so he can prescribe it to other cats. He asks me lots of questions about its effect and duration, also about home testing and he is now wanting to get more of his cat diabetics home testing.

You need someone who will work with you in a partnership to help Oren, not have a confrontation with every time.
I hope you can work it out. You don't need that stress. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top