5/12 Orange AMBG 112, +4 82, PMBG 86 - OTJ Trial Day 1 !!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - Dose Advice Please!

Wow, your DH did a great job of bringing Orange back up last night. That 39 earns a dosecrease, but I'm not an advisor. Usually Dyana is on early. If you can hold on, she or one of the other early birds should be here shortly. Orange is doing great!
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - Dose Advice Please!

Thanks Ann! Yes, I sure am proud of DH!

If I am shooting today it will be a late shot at this point, but that's ok - I can manage his schedule.
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - Dose Advice Please!

Hi Julie. I think it's time.

brb.
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - Dose Advice Please!

Time for an OTJ trial you mean? :-D (or did you mean time to shoot - just want to make sure)

I'm so nervous and excited about this and proud of him and want him to do good all at once.

All I can say is eeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - Dose Advice Please!

I was just looking for the instructions, which I found and am ready to paste.
I see Sienne and Gabby are on, lets see if she agrees :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - Dose Advice Please!

Okay, are you ready :mrgreen:

I talked to Sienne.


Here are the instructions:

•Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

•If Orange is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

•If, after 2 weeks Orange has stayed in normal numbers, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Congratulations and Good Luck!!!!!!
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - Dose Advice Please!

What I said to Dyana is I would have loved to see Orange at his 0.1 dose a bit longer but that 39 last night can't be ignored. (And DH did great!!) Orange seems like he is tired of that dose and I don't know if waving the Lantus pen past him would do any good so it's trial time!

Good luck.
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - Dose Advice Please!

THANK YOU!!!!! We're soooo excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What numbers would we need to start insulin again at? I know 40-120 is normal, but there's a meter variance as well, right? So, 120 plus 20% = 144. Anything above 120 start again or 144, or would I be looking for a pattern of higher numbers?
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112

I think what you're looking for is an overall pattern, and to see if his pancreas is working well enough.

Sienne can probably explain this better.

I have seen a lot of blues at first when an OTJ trial begins, and "don't worrys". What you want to see is if his pancreas is bringing him down after eating.. a few hours after eating.

Don't forget, he's still diabetic, and still needs the same very low carb food.

You can go ahead and add "OTJ Trial Day One" to your first Subject Line, if you like :-D
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112

Julie and Orange, I LOVE what I'm hearing!!!!
Ella and I want to wish you a Happy Day 1 :-D
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - OTJ Trial Day 1 !!!!!

Wahooooo! I don't think I have visited an Orange condo before, but today seems like an awesome day to visit!

Congrats Orange! Lucy is just finishing her OTJ trial (party tomorrow!) and I know how excited you must be!

Keep up the great work you have obviously been doing!
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112 - OTJ Trial Day 1 !!!!!

Have a successful start! I am so happpy for you Julie!
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112, +4 82 - OTJ Trial Day 1 !!!!!

woot.gif
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112, +4 82 - OTJ Trial Day 1 !!!!!

Congratulations! This is so exciting for you and Orange. And he picked a weekend so you can actually do something for yourself. Good cat!
 
Re: 5/12 Orange AMBG 112, +4 82, PMBG 86 - OTJ Trial Day 1 !

Congratulations Julie and Orange! Happy Day 1 even if it's technically Day 2 now! :lol:

Hugs,

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top