? 5/12 Mrs. Jones AMPS 165 First Dose

MissyCat6

Member Since 2024
Good Day! Mrs. Jones had a sensor change on Tuesday and then a dental on Wednesday. Despite the fact we brush her teeth and get dentals as requested, she had her third dental since December with extractions. Pain management with Buphrenophine also seemed to help. We've had way better numbers since the dental and pain management. Today, she started at 9.2 with the arrow going down on the Libre. We gave her a 0.5 instead of 1.0 as she was lower to start the day. She also had her pain med 3.5 hours after her shoot. We see her gluc going up now but hope it will drop as the pain med kicks it. Was it wrong to half the dose this morning with her starting number? Spreadsheet has now been updated. Thanks!
 
Given you haven't shot many blue preshots, a blue preshot was the cautious approach. However, she didn't earn a reduction so back to 1.0 units tonight. As you get more data and experience with lower preshots, you'll be able to lower the number you shoot, eventually all to way down to 90 as allowed by SLGS when you have that data.

Her numbers are going up due to a couple things. First, you reduced the dose and 0.5 units isn't enough insulin. Two - she might be bouncing a bit from the blues overnight.
 
Given you haven't shot many blue preshots, a blue preshot was the cautious approach. However, she didn't earn a reduction so back to 1.0 units tonight. As you get more data and experience with lower preshots, you'll be able to lower the number you shoot, eventually all to way down to 90 as allowed by SLGS when you have that data.

Her numbers are going up due to a couple things. First, you reduced the dose and 0.5 units isn't enough insulin. Two - she might be bouncing a bit from the blues overnight.
Thanks Wendy&Neko. We just shot 1.0 iu tonight. We'll see how she is tomorrow morning. It all makes sense what you are saying. Thanks again, most appreciated!
 
Back
Top