5/12 Misty AMPS 212 ,+2 155, +4 68, +5 63, +6 75, +7 202, +9 200 PMPS 355, +2 250 , +5 74, +6 90

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Hi folks,
Well that was quite the night in tornado weather with flash flooding. It’s good to be home safe and sound. Misty is a happy soul this morning. Apparently she doesn’t mind storms. I will be attempting a curve today. She is also going to see my friend “the Vet”. We talked last night and since she hasn’t responded to clavamox and the covenia shots have helped other problems but not cured her UTI she thinks orbax will help. Getting another check up and some blood work is a good idea I think. @Wendy&Neko
I will update later.
Thank you!
Linda
+6 update I did hourly testing once the green numbers started showing up. I was a little scared she was going to far down.
 
Last edited:
Good day for a curve. :D If following SLGS, this would mean a reduction down to 0.1 units. However, she's still seeing a lot of really high numbers. Maybe as a result of infection? Did she ever get a urine culture and sensitivity done? Figuring out what is causing the infection is the best way to know how to treat it.

How are you feeding Misty? That seems like quite a jump to +7.
 
I just got back from the Vet. She gets a can of fancy feast whenever she wants really. She needs to put on weight. Today she weighs 5.5 pounds. It’s funny you should ask about the urine culture. Her Vet said if the orbax doesn’t work we will do that next and send it to the U. Just a reminder I live in a rural setting. I also forgot her blood work at the clinic. I just asked her tech to send it to me. Also I am going on 28 hrs of no sleep. I really wanted to know what was going on when I left her.
 
What carb % is the FF you are feeding? A couple of us were looking at her SS, and wondering if a slightly higher carb food, but still LC might let you stay with this dose a little longer and keep her safe. Something maybe in the 8-9% range?

I remembered you weren't in the big city. I just worry about her being a long time in UTI if the treatment isn't right. Paws crossed for the Orbax.

Looks like you could get a couple hours snooze before PMPS.
 
What carb % is the FF you are feeding? A couple of us were looking at her SS, and wondering if a slightly higher carb food, but still LC might let you stay with this dose a little longer and keep her safe. Something maybe in the 8-9% range?

I remembered you weren't in the big city. I just worry about her being a long time in UTI if the treatment isn't right. Paws crossed for the Orbax.

Looks like you could get a couple hours snooze before PMPS.
We are in super storm warnings and have been without power most of the day. A cell of 85 mph winds is heading for us and will be here in the next 30 minutes. So sleep is tough to get. It does look like the final storm though.
Her UTI was just diagnosed officially today. Even though we are great friends my Vet insists on seeing her patients first. When we first got her 4/16 I think, she had many concerns Clavamox was given for respiratory issues that are gone now. Then covenia was given for a huge abscess on her back that was open. It’s gone now. So that is why we are trying the orbax.
Later tonight I will try and look up the carbs on her fancy feast. To be truthful I just order what pate flavors she likes.
I did get a red number at Pmps and gave her a .1 dose with the orbax.
Ok have to go.
 
Hi Linda - I really like Wendy's suggestion on trying out some higher LC food, that may help to tamp down the bouncing a little, although sometimes the food experiments take a little time to work through to see what is working, both in terms of best % carbs and when to feed. I often find with my kitty Mav who is on Levemir too, that he can sometimes get later nadirs, often around next preshot, maybe something to watch out for with Misty. I have found too the FF pates are generally 1-3% carb, depending on the flavour, so you might want to try and experiment with some higher LC when you are seeing Misty onsetting, and see if that helps flatten her out a wee bit.

Hope the storms pass you by and that Misty isn't too fussed- my fella hides in the basement when there are bad storms.
 
Hi Linda - I really like Wendy's suggestion on trying out some higher LC food, that may help to tamp down the bouncing a little, although sometimes the food experiments take a little time to work through to see what is working, both in terms of best % carbs and when to feed. I often find with my kitty Mav who is on Levemir too, that he can sometimes get later nadirs, often around next preshot, maybe something to watch out for with Misty. I have found too the FF pates are generally 1-3% carb, depending on the flavour, so you might want to try and experiment with some higher LC when you are seeing Misty onsetting, and see if that helps flatten her out a wee bit.

Hope the storms pass you by and that Misty isn't too fussed- my fella hides in the basement when there are bad storms.
Hi Christie,
Well we were in our storm cellar (sounds awful but safe and comfy). Only one of our 10 kitties refused to come in. He is not the smartest one. :joyful: We have round 4 leaving Sioux City and will be here around 11 pm. Our storm spotters are amazing.
I will be checking into food ideas. I am wondering if the orbax will help as well. Tonight I have to put my energy into this horrible round of storms and charting when I can. Its really nice to meet you.
 
Hi Linda, so nice to meet you too :). I'm up in Canada, and we've had only a few tornadoes, and likely much smaller than the ones you have to deal with. Now, if you want to talk about snow storms, well I have a few stories to tell :D. So glad to hear you are safe and comfy, hoping Misty isn't up for any shenanigans tonight, and you can get some solid sleep.
 
Hi Linda, so nice to meet you too :). I'm up in Canada, and we've had only a few tornadoes, and likely much smaller than the ones you have to deal with. Now, if you want to talk about snow storms, well I have a few stories to tell :D. So glad to hear you are safe and comfy, hoping Misty isn't up for any shenanigans tonight, and you can get some solid sleep.
Christie I am a Canadian living in the US. Raised in ON and spent most of my adult life in Vancouver. I live in MN 5 hour drive from Winnipeg. However I type like I am American now.
Well her Nadir has arrived and I just don’t feel safe going to bed. She is crying less tonight and enjoying Sleep time. She is also grooming which she has had to have me help her with for 2 weeks. Small steps.
 
What carb % is the FF you are feeding? A couple of us were looking at her SS, and wondering if a slightly higher carb food, but still LC might let you stay with this dose a little longer and keep her safe. Something maybe in the 8-9% range?

I remembered you weren't in the big city. I just worry about her being a long time in UTI if the treatment isn't right. Paws crossed for the Orbax.

Looks like you could get a couple hours snooze before PMPS.
Hi Wendy,
I am still up because she shot that green at me. I was just looking at Dr Lisa’s list. There are a couple different brands I should have access to that are 8-9 %. Right now she is getting 2-4% with FF. In fact I have 120 cans being delivered in the morning of the 2-4% . I will order some 7-9% tomorrow and pick them up on way to work.
 
Back
Top