? 5/12 Minnie vacation dose advice? PMPS 260 +4 336

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...4-ketone-0-2-2-238-5-255.247246/#post-2788958

Ground-cat day. Somebody is asking for mid-cycle R assuming she stays above 300. Should I stick with 0.25 since it's mid-cycle and not PS, or increase to 0.5 since the 0.25 doesn't appear to be making a difference?

In other news, I think I have found a sitter - not done BG testing before but has already looked up videos and willing to do it, sounds super experienced and recommended from a cat clinic. Meeting up tomorrow. My stress levels going down some...especially it doesn't look like there's a risk of greens in the next few days especially if the dose is decreased while I'm away.

Assuming things don't change, I am thinking 5u might be a safe dose when I'm away - does that sound right? Or would lower be better?


Once again, we have the same issue! ;-) My little pork chop Sadie will happily eat what she wants, and not leave any "leftovers" for Fred! So I'm looking into the microchip autofeeder. Did you see the link I posted last time?

Porkchop, love it! Sorry I didn't reply about the microchip feeder. My issue with that is there is no timer. I want the nirvana feeder that has timer AND microchip. If I had that without a timer, Minnie would go and finish all the food as soon as she figured it out. If I put food down for both of them at the same time, it's fine. If I sprinkle bonito flakes, Sam will eat and Minnie will scratch like it's a litter tray. I tried the catmate feeder last night, all the food was eaten - again no idea who though! It takes up less space than the petsafe, and has custom-shaped ice packs.
 
Good luck with the R. I hope the petsitter works out. When are you leaving again? Also, you'll want to come up with a no shoot number.
 
Good luck with the R. I hope the petsitter works out. When are you leaving again? Also, you'll want to come up with a no shoot number.
Thanks. I'm leaving Friday afternoon, back Sunday afternoon. 2 weeks stressing about organizing a sitter to be away for 2 days. :p

I'll need some suggestions on the no-shoot number too! Though with Minnie's history I imagine one of two things - either there's a no-shoot and she goes sky-high, back to normal dose for the next cycle or there's a number where sitter gives a reduced dose. My gut says no-shoot is not the right thing for her with the ketone situation (unless of course the PS is <100 LOL:woot::rolleyes: as if that's going to happen!!)

So - I leave Friday afternoon so 'exactly' 2 days from now. When should I post asking for suggestions on the dose?
 
I'm at work and can't really look at your SS right now. Go ahead and put vacation dose ? in your subject line to get some suggestions. I'll pop back in later when I get home.
 
I'm at work and can't really look at your SS right now. Go ahead and put vacation dose ? in your subject line to get some suggestions. I'll pop back in later when I get home.
Oh please don't fret, it is not urgent yet! I just wondered when I should ask - I never get the timing of my questions right. Either it's too early because we need to know what her numbers are like closer to the time, or it's too late and I don't get an answer in time!! Thanks.
 
My issue with that is there is no timer. I want the nirvana feeder that has a timer AND microchip.
Lol...yep...same again! I just realized that when looking into the microchip feeder more closely. We can send people to the moon...can they not figure this one out?? :)

Good luck with the vacation dose. I'll be following to see what is said, as I'll be coming up against the same thing soon as well. Minnie will be brilliant!
 
You need to start your vacation dose either tonight or tomorrow morning to drain the depot. I think 5 units will be okay. I'd say a no shoot number of 150 will probably work. Go ahead and ask in your subject line so you can get some other advice too.
 
Hi, looking for guidance on vacation dosing and instructions for the sitter. Lordy, this is only for 2 days. I don't think I can ever go on a real vacation.:banghead:

I am leaving Friday afternoon, sitter will come for PMPS/food Friday. 3 visits Saturday - AM/PM and one check-in during the day. AMPS visit Sunday and I'll be back mid-afternoon. I've asked a friend if they can drop in as well, just to make sure everyone is well though and maybe give a snack but they won't be checking BG. I'll set up the autofeeders too - I won't recognize them, they'll be like little furry white bowling balls.

Carla suggests 5u dose, no shoot of 150. What do others think? I'm not sure of no-shoot given the ketone history.

I'm thinking of food instructions too - LC if BG>200 (business as usual round here), MC if BG 15-200, HC if BG <150. Not sure about the HC though - my warring paranoias of hypo vs ketones.

Thank you!
 
5 units would be easier for the sitter to measure. Just in case, leave a sample syringe filled with coloured liquid to 5 units. I would not do the "no shoot" for exactly the reason you suggested. Given that she's on Lev so a later nadir, and she hasn't seen a preshot below 200 this month, it's not that likely to happen. You could suggest perhaps a one time only reduced dose if below a certain number. Having said that, 2 out of 3 of her last limes came with preshots above 200. :rolleyes: I like your idea of feeding higher carb food instead. Higher carbs aren't a part of the ketones issue.
 
5 units would be easier for the sitter to measure. Just in case, leave a sample syringe filled with coloured liquid to 5 units. I would not do the "no shoot" for exactly the reason you suggested. Given that she's on Lev so a later nadir, and she hasn't seen a preshot below 200 this month, it's not that likely to happen. You could suggest perhaps a one time only reduced dose if below a certain number. Having said that, 2 out of 3 of her last limes came with preshots above 200. :rolleyes: I like your idea of feeding higher carb food instead. Higher carbs aren't a part of the ketones issue.
Thanks! Do I need to reduce to 5u in advance, and when should I start doing that?
 
You could suggest perhaps a one time only reduced dose if below a certain number.

What would you suggest for these values of reduced dose and 'certain number'?

And do these ranges seem appropriate, or would you suggest something a bit different? LC if BG>200 (business as usual round here), MC if BG 15-200, HC if BG <150

thank you!!
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...4-ketone-0-2-2-238-5-255.247246/#post-2788958

Ground-cat day. Somebody is asking for mid-cycle R assuming she stays above 300. Should I stick with 0.25 since it's mid-cycle and not PS, or increase to 0.5 since the 0.25 doesn't appear to be making a difference?

In other news, I think I have found a sitter - not done BG testing before but has already looked up videos and willing to do it, sounds super experienced and recommended from a cat clinic. Meeting up tomorrow. My stress levels going down some...especially it doesn't look like there's a risk of greens in the next few days especially if the dose is decreased while I'm away.

Assuming things don't change, I am thinking 5u might be a safe dose when I'm away - does that sound right? Or would lower be better?




Porkchop, love it! Sorry I didn't reply about the microchip feeder. My issue with that is there is no timer. I want the nirvana feeder that has timer AND microchip. If I had that without a timer, Minnie would go and finish all the food as soon as she figured it out. If I put food down for both of them at the same time, it's fine. If I sprinkle bonito flakes, Sam will eat and Minnie will scratch like it's a litter tray. I tried the catmate feeder last night, all the food was eaten - again no idea who though! It takes up less space than the petsafe, and has custom-shaped ice packs.
My cats like Bonita flakes. Glad to know Sam likes them! Funny Minnie likes darcines and not bonita flakes??
 
Hi, looking for guidance on vacation dosing and instructions for the sitter. Lordy, this is only for 2 days. I don't think I can ever go on a real vacation.:banghead:

I am leaving Friday afternoon, sitter will come for PMPS/food Friday. 3 visits Saturday - AM/PM and one check-in during the day. AMPS visit Sunday and I'll be back mid-afternoon. I've asked a friend if they can drop in as well, just to make sure everyone is well though and maybe give a snack but they won't be checking BG. I'll set up the autofeeders too - I won't recognize them, they'll be like little furry white bowling balls.

Carla suggests 5u dose, no shoot of 150. What do others think? I'm not sure of no-shoot given the ketone history.

I'm thinking of food instructions too - LC if BG>200 (business as usual round here), MC if BG 15-200, HC if BG <150. Not sure about the HC though - my warring paranoias of hypo vs ketones.

Thank you!
Yes. As long as she eats, whatever the carb content it should help with ketones. Will you have the sitter test ketones?
 
Have you been training hard for this race? I’m surprised you can fit it all in. I hope you do enjoy the weekend!! You need it. You will have to keep us posted on how it goes. I’m a charter member of your fan club.
 
What would you suggest for these values of reduced dose and 'certain number'?

And do these ranges seem appropriate, or would you suggest something a bit different? LC if BG>200 (business as usual round here), MC if BG 15-200, HC if BG <150
First tell me what you'd be comfortable with, given your knowledge of Minnie and how she reacts to carbs.
 
I still don't have a good grasp on how she reacts. I've been fortunate not to need to test out her reaction to MC and HC frequently, and she gets regular small meals throughout the day since 'luckily' due to covid I have been around all the time since her diagnosis. I've made a point of tracking what I feed her but it's really beyond my 3 months experience to interpret it. The last time I needed to give HC was on her 2nd hospital discharge, when WD via feeding tube had little impact as she dropped to 35 so if I base on that, she doesn't react much.

I am not comfortable at all about leaving her. I'm about to go to bed at 1am - she has BG of 336 and I am too scared to give her R because I don't think I can wake up reliably in the next 4 hours, even though the last 2 doses of 0.25u had negligible impact. I am not comfortable with any of this from the time I had to start sticking her ears.
 
Back
Top