5/12 Max PM277+2=216+4.75=55+5=40/39+6.5=58+7=70/83+8=76+10=

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237

Time to break that bounce, Max! Looks like he's starting to work on it. Have a great day, Elise!
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+3=268

How long do I wait before I increase and call this a failed reduction? I ask because this is the first time I think he really didn't get his insulin along with a likely bounce. Thanks.
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+3=268+4.5=270

On a reduction, you normally wait until the bounce from the low has cleared, and if the numbers aren't where you want them to be (green), you go back up. However, the complicating factor is the possible fur shot the other night. I'd count 6 cycles after the fur shot to fill the depot and if you don't see good numbers by then, up he goes.

From Jill's post on Counting Cycles
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir... stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose.
Paws crossed these flat yellows mean better numbers tonight.
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+3=268+4.5=270

Thanks, Wendy. I was just double checking. I hope today's yellow means he is clearing the bounce.
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+3=268+4.5=270

i think it does look like he had a fur shot saturday night, as you suspected. hopefully he's recovering from it today.
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+3=268+4.5=270

Come on down Max, time for some blues and (safe) greens! :smile:
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+3=268+4.5=270PMPS 277

I hope Max listens, Jen. A flat yellow day must mean he is building up his depot I would assume. Now let's see what he does tonight. He always keeps me guessing.
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+3=268+4.5=270PMPS 277

Hi Elise,
I hope Max will be done with the bounce, and you'll see blue tonight!
You can do it, Max.
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+3=268+4.5=270PMPS277+2=216

i think he is clearing the bounce and will get into blue numbers tonight. Please not too fast, Max. Thanks for stopping by Mariko. I'm glad Lucy's appetite is improving.
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+3=268+4.5=270PMPS277+2=216

Elise

I'm so glad to see Max has been getting into some green numbers! Sorry about the fur shot but it usually only takes a few cycles to get past the fur shot. You are also dealing with bouncing from the lows.

I sae the lIght Shelly linked and that would be a big help. I also find light from beneath helps so I also use a light tracer box. It's a big help.

Can I answer any questions for you on using the calipers? I was unsure how you came up with 1.88u for a dose. Is it just in between the 2u and 1.75u doses since you shaved? Just wondering. I found it easier to dose in 0.1u increments in terms of the caliper measurements being equated to a dose. Hope that makes sense. It's still easy to calculate the caliper measurement if you need to reduce 0.25u. For example, if 1u is 1.52mm then each 0.1u is approx 15mm. If I want to reduce the dose by 0.25u, I decrease the measurement on my calipers by 37mm (15mm + 15mm + 7 mm).

Hope I didn't make it more confusing.

Come on down Max!
 
Re: 5/12 Max AMPS 237+4.5=270PMPS277+2=216+4.75=55

Hi Marje. I will PM you tomorrow about the calipers because I think I am using them wrong. Thanks.

As for Mr. Max, darn it. I meant to test him at +4 but I dosed off so I tested him 45 minutes later and he is already down to 55. Even if I am able to keep him above 50 I fear he will bounce again after just clearing one tonight. This is so hard to get him at a good point. I was watching The Voice that I recorded and Max was in my bedroom. He's been so quiet all night since I got back from my condo meeting that I haven't even seen him.

Update: I should have give him higher carb food at the 4.75 mark. He fell to 40 eating the low carb. I just fed him a little gravy lovers with karo.

i am beyond frustrated. Maybe my dosing is off. All I know is he cleared the bounce only to bounce immediately to the point of earning another decrease. I will have to test and feed for the next several hours and then will need dosing advice. Why is this so difficult???? I feel like I am failing him.
 
Re: 5/12 Max PMPS277+2=216+4.75=55+5.5=40/39

He dropped to 39 after getting gravy lovers with karo. I gave him more. He didn't eat it. I just opened a pouch of Soulistic Triple Harmony and put some with it. If he doesn't eat that I am in real trouble. It used to be my go to food if he wasn't eating and is high carb. Why does this happen and at night when there isn't anyone to talk to?

Update: He ate the food. I'll test again in 20 minutes from now. I'm talking to myself I know. I've been feeding high carb and karo.

This isn't working for Max. I wonder if I need to change his food. I've read that cat do better with moderate carb, low fat high fiber food.

Now that he is up to 70 I won't feed and test again in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 5/12 Max PMPS277+2=216+4.75=55+5=40+ 5.5=39+6.5=58+7=70

Hi Elise:

I don't see that you are online, so hopefully Max has come back up without food and you have gone to bed. I'm sorry you are so frustrated. I understand completely. You are NOT failing Max! This is HARD, and you are doing so much for him. Just hang in there. Marje is a wonderful resource, and I know she will be a big help to you. I am no dosing expert, so I can't help you other than just to say hang in there - you can do this! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/12 Max PMPS277+2=216+4.75=55+5=40+ 5.5=39+6.5=58+7=70

Thanks, Tricia. I am on line. I've been feeding him high carb and karo and finally got him up to 70. So I didn't feed him and will test at 30 minutes and if ok then again in another 30. I'm really sad because I don't like how he is acting and I don't think he is feeling well.

Update 7.5=83 and I didn't feed him at +7. I'll test again at +8 or +8.5 to make sure the dive is over. At +8 he dipped from 83 to 76. I'm going to put out some lc.

+10.5=176
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top