nckitties3
Member Since 2013
Yeah, I know, he's bouncing from the 38 last night. Wish I could stop it.
I agree with BJ... and I'm not conservative when it comes to dosing. :mrgreen:nckitties3 said:I understand, but Lucian's HIGH and other cat's high are nowhere near the same.
Yes, it is difficult to know what to do when you're receiving differing opinions.nckitties3 said:Sienne feels I should take him back to 1.75 tonight and that I didn't hold it long enough. It's hard to know what to do when you get differing opinions.
Lucian is a very bouncy kitty. When the "normal" guidelines don't work for bouncy kitties, we have to look for solutions that will work for the individual cat.nckitties3 said:I agree, with both of you, I think I should drop him to 1.75 also, my concern is that it didn't work last time in 5 cycles....should I have waited another couple cycles? Normally I do, but was told to take him back since it didn't seem to be holding. I am so dammmmmed confused and don't know what to do. I want to do what's best for him and 600+ is NOT it.
Yep. Whatever works for the individual cat.BJM said:When I was working with Spitzer, I did use R, very cautiously, to hold down the cycle ends a bit. I'd give 0.25 units about +10 to cross the last 2 hours of 1 cycle and the 1st 2 hours of the next. This did seem to help. Due to his variable appetite, I needed a non-depot insulin so that if he didn't eat, I could skip the R, and not worry about carryover from too much Lantus.
Sheesh! He's not fooling around. I'm still typing a reply to your other post.nckitties3 said:Now what do I do? He's dropped to a 106 @ +4.Which means I'll be up most of the night and that's ok, but dang!
Haha! Guess we know who's the boss! I can identify. I have the distinguished honor of being the "timed feeder" for one of my civvies! :lol:nckitties3 said:I think I understand using food, although he is ready to eat at shot time and if I only give him a tiny bit, from dividing up his meals, he'll throw a fit until he gets more. I mean WHEN he's ready to eat, he's hungry. The last couple nights, he hasn't eaten at shot time, but 2 hrs later.
nckitties3 said:I know how to use food to get him to coast thru the nadir, have done that before in hopes that he wouldn't bounce so high later, but it didn't help then. I don't understand why you wouldn't want them to get their reduction. I thought the whole idea was to get them OTJ entirely or down to a very small dose that keeps them in a safe area, in numbers. I'm sure there is a reason to not want them to earn a reduction, I just don't understand what it is. I thought you 'steered' them to prevent hypo or to try to keep them from the extreme bounces that some cats do, like Lucian, whenever they get low. I'm feeling really dense.
The higher the dose, the bigger the depot. The bigger the depot, the longer it takes to diminish. The number of days is also specific to an individual cat. I've seen the residual effects of a micro-dose last as long as 5 cycles with Alex. All I do is watch the numbers. If they start to trend upwards I declare a failed reduction.nckitties3 said:So, after a reduction, they still have residual effect for...........2 cycles? 3? After those residual cycles he should go back to 50? how long do I wait and what am I looking for, to know if I need to take him back? There are things that 'you', those with experienced eyes, are seeing that I do not see. When I saw the 97, I thought the lowered dose was working and the numbers would get better with it. Should that 97 have been lower to show that it was a good reduction? Should I have taken him back up at that PM? Am I understanding it right?. I thought I was supposed to wait, so I inquired and was told to take him back to 2.0. and in the 5th cycle, he dropped to 38 and went sky high in a couple hrs. I really didn't know how to handle that this morning, hold or reduce, but the fact that he DOES go so high is the reason I held and waited to see what others thought.
The "typical Lantus curve" depicted in the sticky in the TR group is misleading. I have to figure out some way to change that so it makes more sense. The only time you'll see a "typical" curve as described is when kitty is at a point where the insulin is working well, isn't bouncing, and the bounce isn't breaking.nckitties3 said:Trying to preload before nadir with him is damned near impossible. I don't think he has ever nadir 'ed at the same time twice in a row, ever. I'd be happy if it was anywhere between +5 - +7, but that's not the case, he's all over the place. Thinks he's a Lev kitty half the time.
Please don't feel badly about that. Stuff happens. Life happens. Heck, just tonight Alex surprised me with a 49 at +11. I had her with me today, but got busy and minutes turned into hours before I knew it.nckitties3 said:5/11 PM cycle. Normally, he is tested at +3 or +4. It just was a stroke of bad luck, I was very sick and didn't test him at his normal time. I feel bad for that, because I would have had a hold on it and he would have never gotten that low. I would never allow him to get that low. I knew there was a chance of him dropping because of his PMPS, but I was unable to take care of it at the time. You can see on his SS, I WILL stay up half the night and care for him, done it before. I just wasn't able last night and I hate that, it could have been a disaster. I'm just glad I caught it when I did.
I wish I could give you a definitive answer. If you feel the bounce has cleared (evidenced by some lower numbers) and the numbers begin to trend upwards (higher nadirs and/or higher numbers across the board)... take the dose back up.nckitties3 said:I need definitive, how long do I hold a reduced dose (how many cycles are residual)? We'll use 2 for sake of argument:
Reduced dose for 2 cycles. If nadir is above ##, increase him back in 3rd cycle. If nadir is below ## hold dose for (how many cycles?) X cycles.
Take the dose back up any time you see numbers trending higher after a reduction.nckitties3 said:Do you understand what I mean? It would be like this:
Reduce dose for 2 cycles. If nadir in the 2nd cycle, is above 90, increase him back in 3rd cycle. If nadir is below 60, hold dose for min 3-5 cycles.
I understand. Sometimes there just isn't a single answer...nckitties3 said:If I had a time frame and number to go by, then I'd know what to do and wouldn't have to keep asking and getting varying information, ya know? It is so frustrating.
I just hope I'm helping rather than adding to your confusion. :mrgreen:nckitties3 said:Bless you for being so patient with me! :YMHUG: