5/12 Lanky reset AMPS (+11) 430, PMPS 201, +10 350

Status
Not open for further replies.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Evening/Morning Lantus Land - with our Specialized Shooting Plan, we are approaching the big switch-a-roo when PM become AM - but not quite just yet. In any event, Lanky's spirits are high but some of the rest of us are feeling emotional. This is such an intense & consuming task, compounded by the sense of responsibility & stress associated with the decisions we make. And, throughout all of that is the excitement & disappointment of the inevitable roller coaster ride. Why Lanky was just asking me if the wise ones on the Board had magic wands. Seems he'd like to borrow one to help all of his furry friends in need. He said he just wants everyone to be well and to be happy. Sweet thought & intension, isn't it?

So, we soldier on, making progress bit by bit. Sometimes we have to stand up and look back from where we've come as opposed to where we are going. There is much celebration in that. And, there is much more work to do.

Enjoy your moments, even the little ones!
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341

There's definitely some movement on Lanky's SS. The early shooting is hard on the bean. D is great to walk you through.

You really do need to sleep!!
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341

Good morning.
Want to add some juice now. Raise dose to a skinny 6u and shoot a +11.
This is what I was talking about before -- he got a dosecrease, responded and then the body adjusted back to pink. Adjusted isn't the word but I am still asleep. Like poker, raise the ante, pinks meet you and raise one.
Your not kidding this is hard, I forgot some of how hard it is.
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341

Yea, skip +1, go for a +2.5, should have onset by then.
Twinkly dust was what was left out last time, not going to make that mistake again.
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430

My cat food shelf is now officially empty, I am going to the store.

There are tendencies for a high set of numbers to occur before a break in numbers. I don't think that is what is going on here but you never know. If that were to happen coupled with the increase and early shot you will feed it like you did 5/10. I feel like you understand the feeding to control numbers, would you agree? Remember you can feed not only low numbers but numbers going down fast.

If Lanky does what he did the last increase, it will be the next cycle that shows improvement. I hope he's changing and that improvement shows this cycle.
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430

I agree. I am conformable with feeding the curve - low numbers & rapidly declining ones. And I hope a hope a hope too.

I got a check for ketones this AM - negative. Lanky is napping w/ chin on paw. Miss Nubbins is trying to help type in Lanky's spreadsheet. She's so helpful. She and Lanky do a cute dance periodically. She'll be chasing him, mach 6, blasting through the house in one direction and the all of a sudden they come blasting back through the house in the opposite direction with Lanky in the chase position. Back and forth, back and fort, for about 4 or 5 laps.
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430

:-D I love Kitty Races!!! :lol:

Sounds as if you are prepared for lower numbers...this learning curve in the beginning is so tough. :YMSIGH: I remember the emotions of that start in the dance Susan. But, I was not prepared for the emotions when the umber got low....that's no barrel of laughs either!
You are doing a great job...keep u the good work....it's so great that D is here for you! Looking good! :thumbup
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430

Checking in on you guys Susan.
Amazing to read your condo!!
You have grabbed on so well. What a fantastic mama bean you are to your kitties.
Just remember to take care of yourself too. :-D
You deserve a whole entire chocolate cake.
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430

I see a yellow. :-D
I had a thought -- there's no way he could be sneaking dry food is there? You know they are pretty crafty about that.

Nothing better than a nice kitty race. My three (black and white) cowboys, born in the alley, often have camp outs at night. Sometimes I wake up and look out the back window and can see three little black and white blurs racing full throttle up the alley and then back down. I love that they have this private alley to be able to get full speed ahead in. I've never had a cat who learned how to run for long distances, they have a whole block before they have to stop. It is wonderful to watch.
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430, +6 234

Every morning they come in and do this until dusk.
after%20the%20campout.jpg
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430, +6 234

D-fun to hear about your herd. Great pic, I already love those guys!

Regarding sneaking food: The renal kibble is kept in a cupboard over the over. Even Dad has a hard time getting to it which was part of the problem in the beginning. I pretty much watch Lanky like a hawk & serve kibble to the others only under constant supervision. Some good news there though, both renal kitties (Otis & Miss Nubbins) like Fancy Feast tender beef feast. Transitioning to that has allowed me to cut back on their dry by about half, 1/4 (fat) cup/day for both. Hopefully in the near future the will be NO kibble in the house at all.

My thought on food: Lanky has never lost weight with FD & in fact has gained some. He was quite skinny & lived outside before moving in with us. It was nirvana for him to be exposed to dry kibble 24/7, all you can eat, & at least 3 or 4 to choose from. He plumped up from 8 or so pounds to around 12. I imagine that was a drastic diet change for him. Now he has the low-carb diet change to adjust to. Could it be all of this is just playing havoc on his system & it will just take time to work it all out? We went off dry for Lanky around March 15th & at that time he was only getting the Hills prescription w/d, but that had only been since he was dx'd in early March. I note in the SS whenever a successful sneak attack occurs, fortunately few & far between & soon to be impossible hopefully.

Funny Story: the other evening Dad reached for the kibble in the sky (above oven) & spilled about 6 morsels onto the floor. Both Lanky & I came running, Dad got all by 2, Mom got one & then won the wrestling contest for the 6th! Saved by a hair. Dad has agreed to leave the kibble alone from now on.
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430, +6 234

That is a funny story. :lol:
I didn't think he was getting any but thought I better ask.
I did want to ask about :roll: now that we are back on your 6/6 schedule -- do we stay here and shoot 12/12s?
I wasn't thinking of shooting early tonight, dose just got raised. More thinking about the near future.
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430, +6 234

I was wondering about that too. I am soooo happy to get back on 6AM/PM. BUT, I would rather do everything possible to help Lanky now. So if that means doing another walk around the clock, I'm good. It is a labor of love!
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430, +7 195

Drop the skinny on the 6u and go with the regular 6u, +12.

Dearest Lanky,
It has been brought to my attention that you might need a memo. We really don't want to have to send your mum around the clock again. Soooo, a nice run in the yellow/blue range, similar to what to your last six hours, would be greatly appreciated. However, if you desire to go blue/green and cruise that would perfectly fine too. What we do not want is, too many pinks -- please feel free to be creative keeping the pink away. A variation of your own desires would be perfectly acceptable.
Yours truly,
Gen. Noisy
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430, PMPS 201

Lanky is almost in the blue for PMPS. Wonder how he will do this evening...We are ready for whatever comes our way. Pizza for us, smorgie board for Lanky. He ate well at dinner Fancy Feast 3%. He also ate grass and threw-up about +11.25 (grass, spit, loose hair) but apparently that has not impacted BG. It was an "easy" job, no panting or crouching afterwards, just upchucked and moved on.

ETA: there is a big, beautiful rainbow shining in my family room coming in from the front door - it is gorgeous!
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430, PMPS 201

I saw that PMPS 201 from my phone and had to come to main computer so I could see it big. :mrgreen:
Please let this be what we have been working for.
What a nice day and number to work from. You aren't fighting any bounces or anything, just a nice set of numbers.
Have a great night.
 
Re: 5/12 Lanky AMPS (+11) 341; reset AMPS (+11) 430, PMPS 201

Sneak Attack Alert: Mom just caught Lanky tearing into a box of goodie set aside for our local kitty shelter. It includes 2 EMPTY kibble feeders (I bet he could smell something), treats & snacks that are now off limits or I can't tell what their content is, canned food rejects, litter pan linters*, etc, etc. The box is now in the trunk of my car. This was a completely foiled attempt.

Regarding litter box liners: One of my 1st retirement projects was to make a substantial liner that the kitties could not claw thru & that actually fits our 5 litter boxes. I bought heavy plastic painter's drop cloth at Walmart, made a pattern (I sew & do that sort of stuff), and used my FoodSaver machine to seal the seams. After a couple of trys, I got one that really works, lasts & lasts, fits well, and makes cleanup so easy. If anyone wants details I am happy to share. That sense of accomplishment (successfully making the liner) far outweighed any experiences in my last couple of years of working and I wasn't even intentionally trying to compare subject matter. Was it time for me to go or what?
 
Pinks are not the only sneaking thing around here.
Hold the course with +12, 6u.
To help combat the kibble caper, I would feed the lowest carb food you have today.
 
Food Choices:
0% Fancy Feast - Ocean Fish Feast or Fish & Shrimp Feast
2% Fancy Feast - Tender Beef & Liver Feast or Chopped Grill Feast

What do you think about above?

PS Lanky did not get any kibble yesterday (in case there is confusion regarding my attack story) & only ate 3% FF Tender Beef Feast.
 
I'm still sleepy. I thought there was a chance he had some kibble.
Still want to stay the course with 6u, +12 this cycle -- let's see where he goes today.
Either one of those foods is good --- let him pick.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top