5/12 KARAMELLE AMPS 452 +2 327 +4 259 +7 323 +10 306 PMPS 324 +2 355

JoM

Very Active Member
5/11 KARAMELLE AMPS 124 +2 259 +5 279 +9 284 PMPS 401 +2 377 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
This just never gets any less crazy. I could really tell she was high this morning. She was floppy and tired and hungry!
Since this morning was the start of the 6th cycle and the numbers had already gone down a bit and come back up, this doesnt seem like a bounce (not sure what it is), I decided to experiment and just raise the dose a tad to in between 1.5 and 1.75, so 1.625. Its not exact of course but I may raise it all the way up to 1.75 at some point. So we'll see how it goes.
Hope everyone has a great day.
 
It’s possible the bounce is ending and you have hit the high before it breaks.
For in between doses digital calipers make it quite precise. I found syringes to vary a lot in terms of the starting line and used digital calipers all the time. Have you seen this video?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/#post-862835
I thought about using calipers, but it just seems to be another time consuming step. Im pretty good at eyeballing, at least to get the same dose every time. If getting the right dose becomes problematic, then I may look into calipers again. Ive seen a few different ways of using them and it seems a bit confusing. The method shown in this video seems like you are just eyeballing it anyway. The other method involves using the small side of the caliper to push up against the plunger, which seems more accurate to me. But again, it is another step i just dont want to do at the moment. But thanks for the reminder.
I know this was a risk, raising it, if this is indeed a bounce, but you live and learn I guess. Im home most the time so I can monitor her.
 
I don’t think you risk a hypo. You do not eyeball it with calipers. You just ignore the syringe markings and use the caliper setting instead. I understand not wanting to add another step.
 
Because she went down to 28 on 5/9 you maybe should have hung on to the 1.5 a few more cycles. I'm sure @Wendy&Neko would be hollering at me to "put your patience pants back on!" lol ;)
 
Because she went down to 28 on 5/9 you maybe should have hung on to the 1.5 a few more cycles. I'm sure @Wendy&Neko would be hollering at me to "put your patience pants back on!" lol ;)
Haha maybe so. I have to experiment tho to see what works for her. I didnt want to go back up to 1.75 because its dropped into lime 3 times on this dose. but its wasnt doing anything much on 1.5,,,so I wanted to see what this would do.
 
At a minimum, you do want to wait for the bounce to clear, then see where the nadirs land, before increasing back up.
 
At a minimum, you do want to wait for the bounce to clear, then see where the nadirs land, before increasing back up.
It seemed like the bounced had cleared. It was 124 at AMPS yesterday. But then it went back up. Very confusing.
 
Back
Top