5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +11 136 PMPS 173 +2 139 +4 83 +6 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone!
Yesterday was another exciting day! Not only did Junior have beautiful blues and greens last night, our new Contour meter is working well and we're officially making the switch! I've noted it on his SS.

Junior has never tested this low so I want to make sure I'm prepared:
1. If he tests <50 later today (whether it's before or at PMPS), should I be worried and give him a little karo syrup? I see lower condos at Raja's pm cycle and Curry's am cycle on 5/8 and 5/9 and things seem to be ok.
2. In yesterday's thread, Sienne thought there might be room to increase his dosage depending on how last night went. At the bottom of yesterday's thread, I also give the back story as to why dosage stayed at 1.5u for 2-1/2 weeks. I'd rather do increases in the daytime while I'm around and awake if there should be an increase, I'm not sure what I should do for tomorrow.

Sorry for constantly asking questions. Not that I wish for reds and pinks but it was so much easier when Junior was testing at higher numbers!

Thanks!
Bonnie
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 & Question on lower #s & dosage

Asking questions is good!

What you saw last night and this morning is why I suggested not changing the dose until you saw the way the numbers played out. It looks to me like Junior is angling for earning a dose reduction.

I would suggest reading and/or printing out this post on handling low numbers.

Most folks here would have been nervous shooting as low as you did. It's OK -- you generally want to have more data on shooting gradually lower numbers. That said, any time you shoot lower than you previously have, you want to get a +1 and a +2 -- sometimes even a more frequent test depending on what the numbers tell you.

If Junior tests at less than 50, it depends on how low the numbers are in terms of what you do. If the numbers are in the 40s, I'd suggest trying some HC canned food (mostly the gravy that's in the food since that's where the carbs are), test in 20 min. and see if numbers are coming up. If the numbers are in the 30s, I'd probably add a couple of drops of Karo to some canned food. You do not want to over feed. Give only small amounts since you could be using HC to keep the numbers up for a while.

Also, do you have plenty of strips and HC food in the house?
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 & Question on lower #s & dosage

Good morning Bonnie and Junior!

We use a Contour meter. I never knew that it tests lower. Which is the truer number? If I need to add about 20 or 30 to my Contour numbers, then I am depressed. I do like the meter though. The strips seem a little pricey, but I have never priced any other meter strips.

I feel like I ask a question every day and freak out about every little thing he does. There is so much to learn. It is wearing me out, but at least there are people here who understand what we are going through. Our kitties mean so much to all of us. I have a 7 year old labrador retriever, Charlie, who is my other baby. Last year, he tore his ACL and has had two surgeries and 3 months of physical therapy to fix it. He still limps when he overdoes it and I hold my breath every time he runs. I spent a lot of time on the ortho dog support website to get through that. One month after Charlie's physical therapy ended, Tarragon was diagnosed with FDB. It feels like my animals are falling apart! :o Really they are just getting old, but it breaks my heart.

We hope you both have a great day!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 & Question on lower #s & dosage

Oh Sienne, thank you for being so patient with me. You always bring such clarity! I hadn't really thought Junior was ready for a decrease because he's been so, well so sugary over the last few months. You're absolutely right. And I was definitely nervous about shooting but felt reassured when I saw other spreadsheets in similar BG ranges. Just wanted to give Junior his juice on time. I'll test him at his +2, which is in about 1/2 hour at 8:30am CST.

And yes, I have 2 flavors of HC Fancy Feast (in case he doesn't like one of the flavors) and karo syrup on standby. And plenty of strips!

@Melissa, no need to be depressed! Human meters like Contour are normal whereas AlphaTrak tends to run 20-30 higher. Both are accurate, it's just that one is calibrated for humans and is ok for pets and the other one is calibrated for pets. Don't get AlphaTrak and if you want one, you can have mine. The strips are expensive ($1/strip) and are available only online or through your vet. Not convenient at all.

You can get Contour strips online for ~$.50/strip or less online at Amazon, Hocks, and Ebay. I saw one Ebay auction at $.36/strip. Not a bad score for that winner.

Poor Charlie! I can imagine you're just overloaded with info. And really...7 years is not that old. So heartbreaking!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75

A little low carb to keep the surf going.

You will probably be seeing Lantus onset soon. You might want to get a test at +2.5 just to know where things are going.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75

Yikes! I just saw both messages and was freaked out about what I should've done! Trying not to panic!

He just ate 1/8 can of Fancy Feast. He didn't seem that hungry and I don't want him to eat more if he's going to vomit later. I'll feed him another 1/8 in 1/2 hr and will definitely be testing more frequently today.

I'll keep a closer eye on the board today!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75

wow, bonnie, you're handling it just like an old pro. so you're planning to keep testing, right? every hour (or more often if he's heading into 50's or lower) til he passes nadir and you see 2 rising numbers.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3 42 Trying not to panic

Yes, definitely testing him more frequently today!

His nadir is usually at +4 thru +6 so I'm trying not to panic that he's at 42 at +3. I just gave him some gravy Fancy Feast and will test in 15 min (9:50am CST).

I still have dry food leftover from his dry food days. Can I give a little bit to him and a little gravy at +4 so that it kicks in later today?

Sienne, I know you're traveling today so I really appreciate your help! And thank you for the extra encouragement Julie!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3 42 Trying not to panic

Breathe...no panicking, ok? You're doing fine. :-D You've got a good plan. If he is lower, or not coming up, add a drop or two of karo to the HC after the next test, ok?

ETA: I wouldn't use the dry food....it takes too long to work and sticks around too long afterwards. HC wet or karo is the best way to handle low numbers.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3 42 Trying not to panic

You're doing great!! And Laurie's right... stay away from the dry. Junior will come up on his own after the nadir, and he will likely bounce off these low numbers. You don't want the carbs of the dry food kicking in at that point as well as it could send him much higher than he would go otherwise.

I've not been around much lately... so a belated welcome to you!! :)
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3 42 Trying not to panic

I just wanted to say you're doing great, Bonnie! Just keep on testing - you're in control!!!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3.3 48 I'm breathing better!

Sooooo happy to see he's at a 48 now! And definitely no more dry food for Junior.

OMG thank you all so much for your encouragement. I can't remember the last time I was so panicky! These last 2 hours was a good run through for what I need to do today and a lesson for future shots!

I'm hoping that his nadir will be before my phone interview this afternoon. Crossing all fingers, toes, and paws!

THANK YOU!!!!!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3.3 48 I'm breathing better!

btw, 48 is still a little low - you did add a little karo with the food after the last test, right? what is ideal is in the 50's - but sometimes they "wobble" back and forth with the food/karo addition so just keep on testing to keep him above 50 if possible.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3.3 48

I agree with Julie, you want to get him up out of the 40s. If you didn't feed the 48, I would at least give him another tsp of HC, you can add the karo if you want to. Keep retesting every 15-20 minutes and feeding small amounts of HC until he rises into the 50s. You're doing great!

BTW, he earned a dose reduction with the 42, congrats! Your new dose is 1.25u.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3.3 48 +3.6 52

Thanks for hanging with me guys! I read about the karo syrup after I fed him gravy. I just tested him and he's at 52 (btw, can I just say that 20 min goes by really fast?).

I'm going to give him another tsp with a few drops of karo and will post again.

And thanks for letting me know his new dose! Great to know for tonight!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3.3 48 +3.6 52

You're doing a fabulous job!

Yep, all of a sudden 20 minutes goes by like lighting AND stands still - at the same time!

Amy
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3.3 48 +3.6 52

that is SO true. you feel like you just did it and now you're doing it again! :lol:

if he comes up with the gravy you don't have to add the karo - you just want to keep him up with whatever works - some cats get full and the karo is concentrated and does the trick well.

good luck on your interview! i assume it's for a new job?
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3.3 48 +3.6 52

It's ok that you didn't add the karo, you really only needed to do that if he was in the 30s or low 40s, IMO. The 52 is good, a little HC is fine. If you already gave the karo, it's ok, don't worry about it....it will boost him up more but will likely wear off pretty quickly.

Now that he is in the 50s, you can test every 30 minutes. After you test him the next time, please don't give him any food right away, post the number first, ok?
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.6 60

Bah! Time passed so fast I missed the +4 but got the +4.6 test. Looks like that Karo kicked in pretty quickly. You're so right Amy!

@Laurie Yes that sequence makes sense. I'll post and then feed if necessary. Next time will be at 11:30 CST, which will be his +5 on the dot.

@Julie Yes it's for a new job! I got laid off last year and got an offer for a 3-6 month gig last week that has a good chance of going full time. The phone interview this afternoon is for a full time. Both jobs sound cool and if both work out, it'll be nice to have options! If anything, I'm so glad I got to spend time with my kitty this past year, especially when he got diagnosed with diabetes!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +2 75 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.6 60

Time does fly by when you are testing frequently...except when they are in the 20s or 30s, then 15 minutes takes forever! :lol:

Now that he is up above 50, you can try giving him a tsp of LC, see if he will get on the surfboard. Then test in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.3 60 +5 83

Laurie, you mean it gets more "fun" when they're in their 20's and 30's? Can I join that club? :roll:

He's at 83 now. Should I still give him a tsp of LC? Is the LC supposed to stabilize and prevent him from going higher? Or will it reduce his BG?
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.3 60 +5 83

i don't know the answer to that, maybe it's to keep him about the same level til the nadir, just in case he was going to drop back into the cellar and give you the wish you wanted! no, seriously, i don't think he'd drop that low at this point.

i'm sure laurie will get back and explain it to you and me both!

welcome to the "I survived the 40's" club. now you'll be ready to help someone else through it. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.3 60 +5 83

LOL Julie!

I fed 1 tsp of LC at +5.25. Five minutes till test time!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.3 60 +5 83

Sorry Bonnie....had to take care of a scarf and barf. ohmygod_smile

I was thinking that he might try to drop back down after the karo wore off, so I suggested the LC to try to keep him in the 50s-60s. Now that he's in the 80s, he didn't need it, but it's fine that you gave it. This may be the start of a bounce from the pretty numbers, so I would not feed any more and get another test at +6 or so to see where he's heading.

Well, 20s and 30s are not my idea of fun....but it certainly gets your blood pumping, especially if you wake up to that number! You definitely want the karo for those numbers! ;-)
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.3 60 +5 83 +5.5 5

No worries Laurie! I just appreciate you walking me through this! Sorry to hear you had to deal with a scarf and barf. What is it with our kitties? Don't they know that when they scarf they barf?

You were on the money on the drop. I'll hold off on the food and see what +6 will bring.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.3 60 +5 83 +5.5 5

No, I wouldn't hold off on food, give him a tsp of LC now and see if he will stay in the 50s. Test in 30 minutes.

That 83 was the karo talking...good job getting the +5.5, I thought you were past that already for some reason. Now you can see that the karo spiked his numbers, but didn't stick around long.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.3 60 +5 83 +5.5 5

well how about that? so the karo and gravy wore off and he went back into the 50's. vivid lesson on why we keep checking til past the nadir.

you're a good mama bean, bonnie! hopefully there's a treat in the house for you too, after this morning's drama! chocolate maybe? it's a little early for a glass of wine, but none of us will look at you if that's what you choose! :lol:
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +4.3 60 +5 83 +5.5 56 +6 47

Wow, when that karo and high carb stuff wears off, it really wears off quick!

Now that he's at 47, I gave him 1 tsp of HC + a little drop of karo (there's more meat than gravy now). Will test in 20 min cycles until he goes back up.

Here we go again! But this time with much less panic and tears and more confidence. :-D
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +4.3 60 +5 83 +5.5 56 +6 47

Doh! Need to remember. Test, post, feed!

I will be choosing wine, thank you. :-D
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +3.3 48 +3.6 52 +4.3 60 +5 83 +5.5 5

You did fine, it's ok that you added the karo. :smile: You're doing great, no worries. He has nothing to prove, he already earned the reduction, so if he surfs a little higher, it's ok.

Julie made a good point....I would just add that you can't count on him rising after his usual nadir. Nadirs do move around, so he could have a later nadir than he usually does. The best way to approach low numbers is to test and respond to what the numbers tell you.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +5.5 56 +6 47 +6.3 63 PM Dose Questi

Today has been such a huge lesson on all fronts!

With the higher number I'll test him in 25 min at his +7.

Regarding tonight's shot, will there be residual insulin from this morning's shot? I think it's called shed right? If so, should I shoot at 1u instead of 1.25u?
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +5.5 56 +6 47 +6.3 63 PM Dose Questi

You are doing great, testing at +7 is fine.

I would suggest that you put notes on his SS when you get a chance about what you did with this cycle, it will help you the next time. (I bet you already thought of that though...I see the food notes on your SS. :smile: )

Regarding dose.....you would reduce 0.25u based on the protocol, to 1.25u. I'm glad to see you mention the shed, you have been doing your homework! :-D You will likely see residual action from the shed for a cycle (maybe two), but Junior will most likely bounce from these pretty numbers too, so shed action likely will not be an issue. However, we all know how much these kitties like to keep us guessing....so let's see what happens later.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +5.5 56 +6 47 +6.3 63 +7 73

I think I'm getting the hang of this. I'll test at +7.5. Hopefully that'll be higher so we can start testing at an hourly basis so I can squeeze in a phone interview.

And I'll DEFINITELY be watching out for his PMPS result for his PM shot. Will not be wanting to go through this again!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +5.5 56 +6 47 +6.3 63 +7 73

Great job Bonnie!!!! BOS for shooting that 76....you learned some good lessons quickly today but stayed nice and calm. Great that you had Laurie and Julie on board....it's good that you could see how the numbers can turn around on you so if you get a rising number after karo or HC, don't get complacent. ECID but once I get a rising or stable number, I cut the carbs and food (except regular snacks) and keep testing. Had to learn this the hard way. I'd get Gracie up to a 63 and then think "I better give her a few more carbs and bump her up some more"....well that little extra carbs would send her skyrocketing. Now I just try to get her drops stopped and let her surf. You'll find out how Junior reacts and what you need to do to help him surf.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +6.3 63 +7 73 +7.5 72

LOL! Most certainly not BOS, more like a dum dum move. I might've sounded nice and calm but it was through alot of self censorship. Had I typed what I was really saying, I would've been banned from the board. :lol:

Good advice on the food. I'm also afraid to see what his litter box will look like tomorrow!

I'm so lucky to have Laurie, Julie, and Sienne hold my hand through this as well as everyone stopping by for support! Hope I can pay it forward one day.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +5.5 56 +6 47 +6.3 63 +7 73

That's fine, just be aware that he may drop back down again when the karo wears off. I wouldn't go more than hourly unless he continues to rise after the karo wears off. I would also make sure you get a +11 and post it so we can see where he is heading close to shot time.

Now that you are seeing lower preshot numbers....you should read and print out the Data Ready Sticky and Libby's post on Dealing with Low Preshots The 76 you shot this morning was the lowest you have ever shot, and we usually would suggest that you stall at least for a test or two to make sure Junior was rising before shooting, and then start out with at least a +1 and +2. It turned out fine, but we always want to put safety first. I know you were looking at Raja's and Curry's condo, and they shot low numbers and weren't testing so much, but the difference is that they already have a lot of data about how their kitties react to shooting low numbers. You didn't have that data yet, although you did gather some today! :-D So, please take a look at that info, and be sure to ask any questions you might have, ok?

You did a great job today, please don't think I'm giving you a hard time....that's not my intent!....but I do want to make sure you keep Junior safe, ok? I am going to have to leave now, I'll be back on in an hour or so and I'll check in with you.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +6.3 63 +7 73 +7.5 72 +8 83

Laurie,

I don't think you're giving me a hard time at all. Really, thank you so much for spending your entire day with me. I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your kindness.

I'll check out the links -- thank you for posting them for me!

Junior will continue to be tested once an hour, if not more (depending on if he drops back down again). We've worked too hard today for something to mess up now!

Bonnie
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +6.3 63 +7 73 +7.5 72 +8 83

Nice surf going for him. I'm so glad you took Laurie's post in the great spirit it was intended. I think most newbies gradually work their way down to shooting a number like 76...especially if it was a dropping number. You really have to watch out for shooting a dropping number with data much less without data...you can get into some major trouble esp if they aren't coming back up before they onset. So we're all just looking out for cat safety here. There are many of us who routinely shoot 50s but like Laurie said, that is with a LOT of data and knowing exactly what our cat is going to do and how he/she is going to respond to carbs, karo, etc.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +6.3 63 +7 73 +7.5 72 +8 83

Don't you love the way we tag team? Sorry I couldn't hang with you. I had to get on an airplane.

I wouldn't be worried about the shed at this point. What will be instructive is to see what Junior does between now and PMPS. Don't be alarmed if he bounces. His numbers could go way high. That would not be unexpected. If you can test at around +11.5 and post, someone may be around to help guide you if Junior does, in fact, bounce.

You did a great job today. I would take a look at the link I posted early this morning. Once the excitement has died down, that post and the "Data Ready" sticky may make more sense now that you've walked through lower numbers. Ditto re. Libby's post on low pre-shots.

Congrats on the dose reduction.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +7 73 +7.5 72 +8 83 +9 84

Hi Sienne! OMG I missed you! If you were here I'd scramble up to you and give you a big ole hug. Thank you for your kind words about how I did today but I was just doing what you were telling me to do! The responsiveness, sense of community and expertise here is simply amazing. It's really touching to know how much everyone cares for me and the safety of my kitty cat Junior.

I checked out the Dealing With Low Preshots link and funny, that's the link I had a question on in my original post (had linked to it in my first question asking if I should be worried about hitting a low number). I had read it as <50 was considered low and his 76 AMPS seemed ok, but not entirely sure. Obviously no bueno! But that link and the Data Ready link makes much more sense now!

Yes, I'll definitely test at +11.5. His last meal was 1 tsp LC at +6.3 so I'm hoping he won't be bouncing too much!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +7 73 +7.5 72 +8 83 +9 84

ok professor bonnie, now the next new person is scheduled to have low numbers on your shift! ;-) :lol: just kidding of course. ya did fine today - it's a "STEEP LEARNING CURVE" at the beginning for everybody. baptism by fire, learning by experience, and all that jazz!

now you know how junior responds to low numbers and you'll feel so much more empowered with whatever comes up.

hope you're getting in that phone interview! i had an in-person interview a couple of weeks ago and tried to schedule it around the cat - the woman was so nice that after she hired me i did admit that i was working around a diabetic cat. not too many new employers that i would want to tell that to, but she is unusually human.

sending good interview vibes your way!
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +7 73 +8 83 +9 84 +10 111

I wanted to drop in and just tell you I also thing you have an amazing control over things right now. Taking in all the info and doing all the right stuff.. I'm glad to see the numbers coming up a little.. You're in excellent hands with the wonderful ladies who have been helping out today ;-)
Very nicely done!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +7 73 +7.5 72 +8 83 +9 84

Looking very nice, Bonnie! I know it was a little nervewracking, but you will get used to the lower numbers. Sienne's post on handling low numbers is also linked in my signature...it's well worth printing that one out too!

I'll be in and out, how long til PMPS?
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +7 73 +8 83 +9 84 +10 111

Hahaha! I just about keeled over when I read your first sentence! I think it was around 2pm today when I couldn't remember what hour I was on. +6? +7? +5.6?

And as luck would have it, I just got off the phone with the recruiter and my interview got rescheduled for Monday afternoon! Junior is at 111, a rescheduled interview...this day could not end any more perfectly.

Oh rat farts...hope I didn't just jinx myself.
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +7 73 +8 83 +9 84 +10 111

Bonnie,
Just dropping by to say hi and that you did a great job today!! You'll be a pro in no time. Good luck with the job interviews. :-D
 
Re: 5/12 Junior AMPS 76 +6 47 +10 111 +11 136 +11.5 138 PM D

Thank you Sara! We've never had so many visitors stop by our condo before. It's nice to know you stopped by!

So PMPS is in about 15 minutes and I think it'll be in the blue range. Any thoughts on dosage for tonight?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top