5/12 Honey AMPS 226 +4 43, +4.5 115, +5.25 194 ,+6 154, +7 156 , +9.5 172, PMPS 315, +3 280

images
 
She’s at 43 on AT meter, acting normal. Just gave her 1 0z high carb FF 23% carb, she is not liking too much, have a different gravy lovers only 15% may try that is not eating the first one.

She gobbled up the 23 carb after I put a little freeze fried salmon on top.
 
She’s at 43 on AT meter, acting normal. Just gave her 1 0z high carb FF 23% carb, she is not liking too much, have a different gravy lovers only 15% may try that is not eating the first one.

She gobbled up the 23 carb after I put a little freeze fried salmon on top.
You've got this Julie! You know the drill. Deep breath, don't forget to breathe.

Test again in 10 mins and if need be another teaspoon of HC food. Don't forget to test every 20 minutes until you see it go up. I'm not too experienced overall but have had a couple of these and I'll be here following along. Post the next BG when you get it.
 
Well when I told her to show us what she could do, I was NOT expecting her to go shark hunting!

Since that 43 is on a pet meter, we need to get those numbers up. Do you have any honey, Karo syrup, maple syrup that you can give her? If so, I would definitely give her some!
 
How much?
I'll be honest and say I don't really measure, more in terms of drops. I would give a drop or two, which would probably equate to an 1/8th up to a 1/2 tsp? You don't need to give her a full serving, but no need to be shy right now. I usually just smear some on my finger and try to get it in their mouth.
 
Gave her little less than 1/8 tsp karo in a tiny more hc food. Should I test now, it’s been 30 min, or wait a few to see if syrup kicks in, she is acting nirmal
 
The syrup is suppose to work really fast so I would go ahead and test her and see where she's at. Hopefully with the HC food and syrup her BG has gone up.
 
My Max seems not to be very carb responsive. When he dropped to 40 (human meter) the other day i gave him some gravy MC (14%) with a drop of honey. He gobbled it up, and I think it was the honey that pulled him up out of the weeds. He didn’t drop any more and managed to come up to the 60s over the next hour or so. An hour after that he was still holding in the 60s so I gave some LC so I could go to bed.

You’ve got this Julie, and got some good advice. Honey, it’s time to quit scaring the humans and come back up to surf!
 
Days of nothing, then this, little drama queen, happy Mother’s Day. Testing now, would have had no clue acting like normal, just very hungry.
 
Yep Jerry gets like that when he's low as well. I think their bodies know that they need carbs. Com'on little Honey bee, time to stop scaring Mom.
 
I will check her every 30-45 minutes until we get over the mid cycle hump. If she is hanging above 100, will just give a little low carb over next several hours?

Not sure what to do tonight, lower or skip shot completely?
 
Scary there is no sign of hypo (not acting drunk or anything) , I checked 2x and both were in low 40’s, so know that was a good read.
 
Now you can take a deep breath and try to relax. I know how nerve wracking it is, even if you know what to do. Can't help on the dosage for tonight I'm definitely not experienced enough. Well done, you can pat yourself on the back. Good catch.
 
I will check her every 30-45 minutes until we get over the mid cycle hump. If she is hanging above 100, will just give a little low carb over next several hours?

Not sure what to do tonight, lower or skip shot completely?
That works for me! As long as she's above 68 (on the pet meter), I would only give LC. So that 43 means Honey has earned a reduction! As long as she's at a good number tonight (not too low), I'd reduce to 0.5u for PMPS.
 
Good job getting Honey's numbers to come up. I'd keep testing for at least a couple of hours to make sure her numbers don't come back down once the food and karo wear off. You may want to get a +10 to see where she is at. That will help you decide what to do about tonight's shot. If she is dropping form +10 to PMPS it will be good to know. It's hard to say whether to skip tonight until you see what her numbers are and if you can monitor tonight. You definitely want to take the reduction to 0.5 units.
 
Congrats on the reduction. With SLGS, no shooting below 90.
Don’t think I would be comfortable shooting under 130 at night especially after today. Don’t want to mess up progress though, i’ll see what she looks like a little before PMPS, probably higher anyway, last time she was low, shot back up at PMPS..
 
I’m glad that everything worked out with Honey today! Geeze I hope you actually did treat yourself to a bevvie (or two) :p
 
Back
Top