5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +6 116 +10.5 84 PMPS 79 +2 87 +4 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95110&p=1018936#p1018936

Happy Mother's Day to sugar mommas everywhere :mrgreen:

Gobbles is in an exceptionally good mood today! It seems to me that he's most content, happy, purry, alert and hungry when his BG is between about 80 and 130 dancing_cat

Today is cycle 2 of his reduction. Hopefully, there will be no need for MC and his numbers stay in the normal range all day.

OT: Found my first 2 artifacts yesterday!!! And after only 2 hours of walking :-D I found a point (arrowhead) which appears to be from the Late Woodlands period, possibly a Madison point. And I found a very old, primitive partial spearhead--I'll have to leave that one for my daughter to date (she's an Anthropology/Archaeology major)....

Thanks everyone for yesterday's visits--if I didn't visit back, I'm sorry. I was very busy with my daughter as she moved back home from college and we did a little running around....
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122

Morning Kat, nice start for Gobbles this morning and hope he does well with this reducie, That is so neat on finding the two artifacts yesterday. Have a wonderful day. Scritches to Gobbles.
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121

Kat - Happy Mother's Day and hope you have a fabulous one!!! Hope Gobbles surfs safely for you dear!
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121

Happy Mother's Day Kat!!
It's so nice you have your two favorite babies to celebrate with you!! hugs to you all and scritches to Gobbles... oh.. give him a little hug from me!
Good luck with this dose ... Have a wonderful day.
mary and ollie
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121

I hope Gobbles likes the new dose. That's neat on the artifacts you found yesterday. Happy Mother's Day.
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

From the TRP sticky:

Reducing the dose:

...If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.


Q. How long should a reduced dose be held, and what constitutes failure?
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

No dosing advice from me. Your ss looks beautiful. I hope the reduction works for Gobbles.
Good luck.

Have a good day!
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

Happy Mother's day, Kat!

Hopefully the dose reduction holds. You can do it, Gobbles!
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

Hi Kat,
If he seems to be drifting back up, that is an indication that a reduction may have failed and that you should go back to the last good dose. Don't forget that the shed takes a few days to adjust to the new dose, so the numbers you see immediately after a dose reduction are "shed action" from the old dose. Gobbles is certainly getting those reductions very close together and the blues you see today may indicate that it is all catching up with him. I think that in the present situation I would wait another day or so and see what happens, then take him back to the last good dose. You don't want to wait too long, because you don't want to lose that downward momentum.

Happy Mother's Day and happy MamaBean's day!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Gobbles is certainly getting those reductions very close together and the blues you see today may indicate that it is all catching up with him. I think that in the present situation I would wait another day or so and see what happens, then take him back to the last good dose. You don't want to wait too long, because you don't want to lose that downward momentum.
Happy Mother's Day to you as well :-D I agree on the close reductions--I didn't want to give another one so soon, but did not know what to do (a lot of those numbers you see for the past few days are inflated due to feeding him carnage; that is, they would of been lower if I only fed him LC, instead of MC & treats). Thing is, I have been having to feed his numbers almost every day and it seems silly to continue to do so (plus I have had to put things off in order to stay home and keep him "fed up" and tested every 2 hours), to keep him safe PLUS his poo is beginning to soften up a bit from all the gravy-laden food....he had a bad month-long case of diarrhea last month and I'd hate to see that happen again. I have been giving him ReNew Ultimate so hopefully the soft poo doesn't turn into the squirts. So I will give him...how many more cycles on the reduced dose? PM cycle tonight will be dose #3 of the reduced (.25 U) dose--how long should I wait until? Thanks so much....
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

I can look at your spreadsheet and I understand most of your reductions, but sometimes when you start reducing really quickly I get confused. I don't have a chance to read every post, so I don't know all the circumstances. I am looking at your spreadsheet now and I wonder why you reduced to 0.50 when I don't see a BG number below 50 on the 0.75, and why you only stayed at that dose for 4 cycles and then reduced some more, as I don't see a below 50 on that 0.50 dose. I do understand that the BG tests in the 50s are pretty close, but you are lucky in that you are home to monitor, so I would think you would wait for BG numbers below 50 to do reductions. Those are just my observations.
Now, after I've said all that, he'll probably get a below 50 tonight just to add more questions in my head :lol:
Have you gotten any more tests today?
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

Dyana said:
I can look at your spreadsheet and I understand most of your reductions, but sometimes when you start reducing really quickly I get confused. I don't have a chance to read every post, so I don't know all the circumstances. I am looking at your spreadsheet now and I wonder why you reduced to 0.50 when I don't see a BG number below 50 on the 0.75, and why you only stayed at that dose for 4 cycles and then reduced some more, as I don't see a below 50 on that 0.50 dose. I do understand that the BG tests in the 50s are pretty close, but you are lucky in that you are home to monitor, so I would think you would wait for BG numbers below 50 to do reductions. Those are just my observations.
Now, after I've said all that, he'll probably get a below 50 tonight just to add more questions in my head :lol:
Have you gotten any more tests today?
Hi Dyana, here's a copy & paste from yesterday's condo that kinda explains the rapid reductions:

Reduction from .50 to .25:

"...his poo is getting soft, however, I am pretty sure it is due to all the MC I have had to give him these past few days and few weeks. Poor thing would have dipped low again today, but I fed him MC at +2, 4 & 6. I will not kick the gift horse in the mouth as his SS looks great and his numbers are green, but all this excessive testing and unhealthy carbs has led me to give him another reduction this evening (technically, he would have earned it three times in the past few days had I not given him the carnage). Sure, today's numbers are healthy ones, but that's only because I gave him MC. And his ears look sore..."


and from 5/9 condo--Reduction from .75 to .50:

"Fed 1.5 T. of MC(14%) at +2 since it is so early in his cycle. This seems to be a pattern with him. I am considering a reduction because:

*I'm convinced that if I haven't been steering his numbers with MC, he would have easily have earned a reduction.

*His last reduction was on his AM cycle of 5/6 therefore, today is the 7th cycle of said decrease.

*I've had to steer his numbers a total of 3 times on said decrease.

*He's had his shot time moved by a total of 8 hours (forward) since the decrease and his numbers are not being affected.

It should not be necessary to keep steering his numbers...."[
/color]
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

One other thing, Dyana:

I am going to test him at +11. If he is over, say 120, what is your opinion of shooting early?
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

I have a couple of thoughts. First, I agree with Dyana.

I wouldn't necessarily worry if you're feeding numbers that are in the 50s and above. Several of us do that routinely and it can be a good strategy to slow a drop. If you are working really hard to get the numbers up, then a dose reduction may be warranted.

Gobbles is at a point where you want to keep him on insulin for as long as possible in order to allow his pancreas to get the maximum amount of support. Rather than dropping his dose in 0.25u increments, I'd think about shaving the dose unless you see numbers below 40 (in which case you'll need to think about a 0.25u reduction).

If Gobbles is having problems with diarrhea when you feed HC, he may have a gluten sensitivity. Gabby has the same issue. I very rarely use a gravy-based food. Instead, I add a drop or two or three of Karo or honey to LC, gluten-free food.
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

How early? 15 minutes?
I would not shoot an hour early unless he is in the 300s.
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

Dyana said:
How early? 15 minutes?
I would not shoot an hour early unless he is in the 300s.
I just tested him: 84 @+10.5 :-D Wow, what a brat he can be!!!
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 ? dosing ?

Sienne and Gabby said:
...Gobbles is at a point where you want to keep him on insulin for as long as possible in order to allow his pancreas to get the maximum amount of support. Rather than dropping his dose in 0.25u increments, I'd think about shaving the dose unless you see numbers below 40 (in which case you'll need to think about a 0.25u reduction).

If Gobbles is having problems with diarrhea when you feed HC, he may have a gluten sensitivity. Gabby has the same issue. I very rarely use a gravy-based food. Instead, I add a drop or two or three of Karo or honey to LC, gluten-free food.
I do want to keep him on insulin as long as possible and understand your reasoning; I almost did shave the .50 dose yesterday nd call it ".40". When I say "MC" that I have been using to "feed him up", I mean food anywhere from 14-17%--would that be considered HC? I will try the karo idea; if he refuses that, then I guess I would have to resort to the higher carb food. Can a cat suddenly develop a gluten sensitivity problem? The higher carb food I've been feeding him has been brands he had in the past (pre-dx). Also, just tested him -- 84 at +10.5--so in all probability, he's dropped today confused_cat
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 +10.5 84

HI Kat.....Gobbles is keeping you on your toes. What a lovely day, he had today.
I hope you get his dose figured out. :smile:
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 +10.5 84

It could be a matter of the amount of gluten. If you've been giving gravy fairly often, it may have just been more than what Gobbles could handle.
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 +10.5 84

Gobbles is lookin' good once again....keep up those gorgeous surfs, Gobby!!!

Very cool on the artifacts, too...that must have been exciting!
 
Re: 5/12 Gobbles AMPS 122 +3 121 +6 116 +10.5 84

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Very cool on the artifacts, too...that must have been exciting!
It is extremely exciting and yesterday's finds were the first of the season and the first since we've moved. I pray about it--really. We moved, so I don't really "know the land" as far as artifacts go (whereas at our previous home, I somewhat "knew" areas to go, soil conditions, plow schedules, etc....) And I have acres and acres of new ground to explore. Then I prayed about it, hand a hunch, or whatever ya wanna call it, (I tell my daughter that "I can smell 'em" LOL) and 5 minutes later--there was a near perfect arrowhead; literally brought tears to my eyes. Then about 15 minutes later--a gorgeous midnight blue spearhead was looking up at me--literally laying on top of the dirt!!! What's really awesome is that the arrowhead and spearhead are thousands of years apart and made up of different kinds of flint. The arrowhead is more of a local chert whereas the spearhead is most likely Flint Ridge flint. The arrowhead is a Madison point (Late Prehistoric/Fort Ancient Period, 1300 -1500AD) and the spearhead, upon daughter's inspection, is actually an end or side scraper; hafted (Archaic Period, 8000 - 1000BC)!!! And Angelia & I spent part of Mother's day in the field where we found many pieces of flint/potential artifacts which are soaking and will be examined tomorrow :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top