? 5/12 Eleanor AM 146

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-10-eleanor-amps-251.157537/#post-1673948

I didn't get back here on the 10th or at all yesterday. I'm really sick.
Last cycle I was thinking I need to increase Eleanor back to 5u, then here I am up to give her shot, desperately trying to get back to bed, and her PS is 146, re 150.

I am not shooting that low because I cannot stay up to watch her and her history is one of not "surfing" or whatever, but of dropping.
Obviously I will delay, yet again. I really need her on a set schedule!!

Can anyone give me some insight? Could this be part of her getting back on track and she will stop getting long duration?

I remember when we were here on FDMB 3 or 4 years ago, someone saying long duration often requires a dose reduction. I think they were talking about Lantus, but maybe not.

Maybe I should switch her to a shorter acting insulin?
I have got to find a way to take care of her properly and also take care of myself.
@julie & punkin (ga), @Wendy&Neko, @carfurby
 
Sorry Julie that you are sick and hope you get better. If you can, you could test her two hours after you fed her and if she is a number you can shoot (she probably will be since eating) you could shoot her then but your schedule will be off by 2 hours.

Or: You could do two 18 hours. You would shoot her at 6 hours after her normal AM time and then skip tonight's shot and then shoot her at her regular time tomorrow. This way she will get some insulin in and not get too high. Hopefully these two scenarios help you.

I'm not sure about the longer duration part of your question, I will let the more experienced peeps answer that. Hope you feel better.
 
Sorry Julie that you are sick and hope you get better. If you can, you could test her two hours after you fed her and if she is a number you can shoot (she probably will be since eating) you could shoot her then but your schedule will be off by 2 hours.

Or: You could do two 18 hours. You would shoot her at 6 hours after her normal AM time and then skip tonight's shot and then shoot her at her regular time tomorrow. This way she will get some insulin in and not get too high. Hopefully these two scenarios help you.

I'm not sure about the longer duration part of your question, I will let the more experienced peeps answer that. Hope you feel better.


Thank you Bobbie. I appreciate your input and support.
I went ahead and shot at 4 hours. It would have been more practical to do the two 18 hours, but I couldn't let her get any higher, I feel guilty enough already.
I will just work the time back again.
I have a doctor's appointment tomorrow morning at what will be +3. Ugh.
 
Thank you Bobbie. I appreciate your input and support.
I went ahead and shot at 4 hours. It would have been more practical to do the two 18 hours, but I couldn't let her get any higher, I feel guilty enough already.
I will just work the time back again.
I have a doctor's appointment tomorrow morning at what will be +3. Ugh.
What ever works for you Julie. Hope the +3 appt. doesn't interfere with her new shot time. Hope you feel better.
 
Don't feel guilty - you have to take care of yourself, too, and Eleanor will be fine.

With your spreadsheet - maybe note in the "units" box how much you shot, what her PS BG was, and that you shot at +16. You could write more detailed notes in the comments section as well.

I really don't have any experience with shorter-acting insulin, but from what I've seen here, they seem more aggressive to me. Just my opinion, but since you have your own health issues to address, I think a gentle insulin like Lantus is probably the better option for Eleanor. But again, I've never used a short-acting insulin, so hopefully someone with that sort of experience will also weigh in.

Feel better, Julie - sending many prayers!
 
I didn't get a notice you tagged me. Maybe next time, list each person on a separate line. Don't feel bad. You have to take care of yourself so you can take care of Eleanor. I'm at work, so I don't have time to type more.
 
Can anyone give me some insight? Could this be part of her getting back on track and she will stop getting long duration?

I remember when we were here on FDMB 3 or 4 years ago, someone saying long duration often requires a dose reduction. I think they were talking about Lantus, but maybe not.
On all my time here, I've never heard of that. Long duration with good overlap is what gives you those nice flat cycles that Lantus and Levemir are known for. In my experience, long duration means a good dose.

Sorry to hear you aren't feeling well. :bighug::bighug: I agree that holding off the increase is a good plan for now. You have to take care of you first.

When I've done a delay, I've used the +11 and AMPS column to indicate what I did. So in the +11 cell, put +12 146 +13 153 +14 149, then in the AMPS column, put 202 @+16. That shows the delay and what the tests were in between.

I wouldn't consider a short acting insulin, but maybe something like Prozinc or PZI might work where it's in and out each cycle. It's still a good insulin for cats, but you can decide to reduce any given cycle and not have to worry about the depot.
 
I also didn't get a tag, Julie. You even put in commas in between, so I have no idea why it didn't go through. Maybe putting them on the separate lines would help, I don't know.

If I were you, I think I'd carry on with the insulin that you know so well, and just skip when you feel like it's not shootable.

When I had to delay punkin's shot, I stacked the numbers like Wendy's described, but I put them all in the preshot number cell.
+11=123
+12=146
+13=153
+14=149
+16=202

Then I'd shrink the font so it didn't take too much space. I always figured people would know the last # in there was the one that I shot, although there were times I wrote pmps=+16=202.

You have to take care of yourself, so please don't feel guilty about what you need to do to keep Eleanor safe. Cats recover from skipped shots before long.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top