5/12 Doodles PMPS 444 +1 346

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidi and doodles

Member Since 2010
I am hoping that her number is high because she just ate and was due for her shot. I gave her shot and will test again, should I be worried? >"<



I just tested and she is +11 351, since this is our first day and she is due to get her shot in an hour can I feed and shoot now or wait the hour? Or do I have to shoot exactly at 6?
And I think I tested at the wrong times :( her first amps was at six and her shot was at 6:30, I counted from 6:30 is that right or off by 30 minutes?
Also, here come the newbie ?'s...feeding and testing can you shoot me in the right direction please? I'm confused if you're to test on empty bellies and if so for how long?
thanks >"<
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

On this protocol we start at 1.00U for lantus--That is the starting dose for all cats usually.
You did a great job, you got his bg & gave his shot first time!! Excellent!
Will you be home to bg test today? we usually get a +3, +6, pmps,+3, and pre going to bed test..That is a minimum curve.
Many of us test several times a day, as we are collecting data for our Spreadsheets..
From that we get much info on how our cat is doing on a dose..
Please read the stickys-I'm including how to do a curve so you can see how testing goes during a day-OK?
You dont have to do all these tests, but +3 & +5 or +6 are pretty important..Will be wathcing for update
example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! I have rearranged my shcedule to be home today for her first day. I will make sure to take the tests as
suggested. I will also work on her spreadsheet! again thanks heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

See after they eat breakfast, there is a food spike from eating, then by + 3 insulin starts to take effect-+6 usually the nadir(midpoint of the cycle-lowest bg) then goes back up from there till next shot. Of course, there are variations on this, but you are a newbie, so let's keep it simple-OK?
You are doing great!
Also, you may want to get an auto timed feeder for the future, if you work all day & many of us do, or if you must leave cat alone for long periods. It will be helpful in the future-Cat mate makes a decent one.
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

Yesterdays post
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14263

Hi Heidi....welcome to Lantus Land.
We like to add the previous days post to the new one so that it makes it easier to see what went on the day before. I posted the link above.

I see that you are going to set up a spreadsheet. If you have a problem with that there is always someone here to help.
Good luck on your first day. :smile:
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

Got the spread sheet done hoo hoo! My husband called from Dehli and helped! Perfect timing :)
I did not add yesterday's numbers as doodles was still on N. I can add with a notation. Waiting for the next test :-D heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

Oh you can add the numbers from past used insulins to Doodles ss because it will tell alot to others!
If you look at Shadoe's ss, you will see that we started out on Caninsulin, then switched to Lantus, and finally switched to Levemir!

All the numbers tell a story of Doodles journey, so you can add whatever you like onto Doodles' ss, even add columns, and record foods, and any stuff!

And by adding numbers from past insulins, it tells others that you and Doodles are not that new and also that you are a pro at switching from one insulin over to another. That knowledge will come in handy for others that come after you and ask about switching - YOU will be able to tell them all about it!
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

Welcome Heidi and Doodles.
This is a great place with lots of helpful eyes whenever you need them. And I see you are already off to a good start.
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

I have been keeping a detailed journal of doodles doings :) she was diagnosed on 4/19/10 and has only been on N. I now have two journals, one for food and one for numbers. I'm a newbie for sure I just had the awesome help from lori and tom and you GREAT BEANS :razz: think that was the lingo haha!
I am getting ready to do a +3 in about 45 minutes.
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

Hi, I just wanted to clarify for my own worry.
Heidi is using U100 syringes and on Pzi anyway it's 2.5 that equals 1U. Pzi is a U40 insulin. Has anyone addressed this with Heidi?
It looked to me like it's possible she was giving .4U on the first line.
I get confused with the different syringes and like to double check.
Thank you.
And wow the support here is I must say....outstanding.
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles amps 362 help on first shot please

Heidi & Doodles said:
She weighs 8.9lbs and from I remember the conversion came out to 1u but please could some help again with the conversion.thanks heidi and doodles

If approx. 9 lbs is Doodles' ideal weight the conversion is: dose = 0.25 x kilograms ideal weight or dose = 0.25 x 4.08kg. So, Doodles' initial dose of Lantus would be, in round numbers, 1.0u. Most cats' dose usually ends up in this neighborhood. What was Doodles' dose of N? If you read the info in the Tight Regulation Protocol, you'll note that the starting dose may need to be adjusted based on prior insulin dose.

Lori/Tom: Lantus is a U100 insulin so using a U100 syringe is what you want to do and there is no conversion involved. Thanks for raising that point since we did have someone overdose her cat due to a confusion between syringes and insulin concentration
 
Re: 5/12 Doodles PMPS 444 1U freakout moment

soooooo...what's your pmps? and how are YOU doing? did they mention to you that lantus takes awhile to show results but boy when it does, it really does.
thought i'd see more posts from you today since you stayed home with your doodle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top