5/12 Corwyn AMPS 119, PMPS 245, +2 315, +4 309

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahzryn

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70766

I ended up giving him a tbsp of food last night after the +4 and heading to bed. I set my alarm for +11 and overslept (so not used to this getting up on weekends thing), so I only have the +12 AMPS = 110. I have him his thyroid pill for a treat from the stick and my plan is to check it again in 30 mins and go from there.
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMPS 110

It looks like you're stalling. Please don't feed. I'd get another test in 20 - 30 min. You want to see that the numbers are rising.

Just an FYI, since you didn't shoot, this isn't an AMPS number. You can report it as an AMBG or as your +12. When you shoot, whatever number that is becomes your AMPS.

Is the thyroid med chewable? If so, you may want to check the ingredients. Many chewable forms or meds, or treats for that matter, contain corn syrup or some other sweetener. Thyroid meds do come in a transdermal form so you don't have to "pill" your cat.
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMBG 110

Doh, sorry! I updated the title. :oops:

I have not fed. 30 minute check was 114. Thyroid med is not chewable, but I gave it to him in a pill pocket. I did some searching on the boards earlier in the week and it seems like reviews are mixed as to whether they impact BG or not. First ingredient is chicken, but there are at least some potential carbs after that.

Check it again in 30? I will be home all day to monitor.
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMBG 110

Re-checks in 15 or 30 min. are fine. You want to catch when numbers seem flat or rise. So far, it looks pretty flat. I don't know if you've seen Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shots.

The regular pill pockets are not FD friendly -- corn syrup. If you look for allergy formula (duck and pea) in the dog area of the pet store, you should find them. That formula doesn't contain corn syrup. The did make a version for cats but it's been discontinued. The contents are the same with the dog version; the size of the pill pocket is bigger but you just don't use the entire pill pocket.
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMBG 110

DH has been reading as much as I have, and it's his cat, so his decision was to reduce the dose by .5, feed and shoot him, and check in 1 hour. So, that's what we'll do.

Edit: Oh, pill pockets, figures, I just ordered a 6 pack from Amazon before he was diagnosed. On more expense, whee. :(
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMPS 119

That's a fine decision. It's what we call a "BCS" (or big chicken sh*t) dose. It's a temporary dose reduction and you should go back to your 1.5u dose tonight.

Please get early tests today since this is the lowest you've shot.

Just as an FYI: When you stall, you end up shooting late. A late shot actually has the same effect as a dose reduction since you lose some of the overlap between Lantus doses. (And early shot acts like a dose increase since there's more overlap.) So, if you stall AND take a dose reduction, you are doubling the impact on the shed. Under most circumstances, you don't want to do both.
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMPS 119, +1 78

+1 78, so far so good. Appetite is still going strong this morning, so I gave him a tsp of food as a reward.

Thanks for hanging in here with me this morning!
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMPS 119, +1 78, +2 75

+3 58, guess we won't be leaving his poor ears alone any time soon. That +3 was probably closer to +3.5.

Edit: correcting the correction, dh reminded me the +2 was actually +2.5, and the latest was almost a +4. Glad one of us is still sane. This cat is going to be the death of me.
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMPS 119, +4 58

+5 94, +6 127. I didn't give anything at either check. Think it's safe to leave him alone for 2-3 hours now?
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMPS 119, +4 58, +6 127

Wow...Corwyn is gorgeous!

We just stopped by to say welcome to Lantus Land!

celi & binks
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMPS 119, +4 58, +6 127

Hi Tammy!

I don't think I've had a chance yet to be on your condo and welcome you to Lantus Land. What a nice day for Corwyn!

I was wondering if you could please help us out when you get a chance and do a profile for him? It gives us a lot of info that is quickly accessible for us when we are making dosing and other suggestions. Here is the link: Creating a Profile.

I know it seems to have a lot of steps but that's just to break it down. It should go fairly fast. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Hope Corwyn continues his lovely day!
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMPS 119, +4 58, +6 127

Looking like another bounce now, but we'll see how +4 looks. I'll get a profile up tomorrow. :)

And we think he's kinda cute. My avatar is one of my favorite pics, he loves to supervise while DH is on the computer.
 
Re: 5/12 Corwyn AMPS 119, +4 58, +6 127

Thanks, Tammy. He is very cute.

Could you please update your subject line with your PM info please when you get a chance? Thank you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top