I am so happy Aria is doing so well. Prudence and Aria seem to be on the same page. I wonder if their age plays a roll in any of this? It's funny how you'll get a few days of greens then all of a sudden there's the low blues back down to greens again. At least that''s what Pru is doing. DH keeps telling me to just leave her be. He thinks all the attention plus when I am frustrated trying to figure out why certain things are happening... he thinks she's picking up on my energy. :roll: I dunno, maybe he's right to a certain point, haha Kind of makes you wonder if humans are always in the greens. :lol: You're doing an AWESOME job Hope! Big hugs to both of you. BTW - Isn't it nice to finally be able to get some sleep ;-)
IMO - I'd stay at 0.1U, but that's just me. I found that if I gave too much (0.2) it takes a few days to work through Pru's system. That's just Pru though? Anyway, Just wanted to mention that, ok? :YMHUG:
I've also been using the Mid-point deal from time to time. I figured Aria's mid-point from 5/11 930am to 5/12 930am Her highest was 145 and lowest was 75 giving a mid-point of 110
http://www.felinediabetes.com/bg-curves.htm
To determine the dose of insulin or if dysregulation is a problem, evaluate the nadir and range midpoint.
If the nadir is < 100 mg/dl, decrease the insulin dose.
The ideal range midpoint is 200 mg/dI, and 150-250 mg/dl is acceptable. If the range midpoint is:
The ideal midpoint of the range is 200 mg/deciliter. However, the midpoint is satisfactory if it is from 150 to 250 mg/deciliter. If the midpoint is less than 150 mg/dI, the dose of insulin is too high and should be reduced.
1.150 mg/dl: reduce the dose of Insulin.
2.150-250 mg/dl: don't change the dose.
3.250 mg/dI: several possibilities exist:
The cat may have been stressed when the blood glucose curve was performed.
The Insulin dose may be too low.
There may be an insulin problem (inactive insulin, insulin not mixed property, poor injection technique, poor absorption).
Insulin resistance may be occurring due to concurrent disease (systemic Illness, hyperthyroidism, hyperadrenocorticism, acromegaly) or insulin antibodies