5/12 Alice +3.5 is 67, +5 51 gave syrup and 14%, +5.25 73, AMPS 136 delay 20 min 146, +2 100

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
I know I need to update the SS but I dont have the device to do that on for the moment.
Last night at +5 she was in the 200s then I slept, wish I'd tested again.

I'd like to be able to leave the house at some point. So far she has had friskies 4%.

Would appreciate test and feed recs for the day.

We have 3 moms to visit, in theory, all of which are at least 30 min away. It nerves me quite a bit leaving town when her numbers are lower, even though 100 is perfect.

I'm also working currently with freestyle lite meter and freestyle lite and freestyle regular strips that are both expired. In your experience, have expired strips typically been accurate enough at lower numbers? Since I started on the expired ones she hasn't had any reading I wouldn't possibly expect..... But her numbers bounce all over still. So that's not saying much. :b

Thanks! :)

Oh and she looks like she did not have a high sugar night for sure, can tell by her urine output and consistency in litter box.

Shot was 4.25u. Seems to be a good dose for her, except for the bouncing?
 
I have no experience with expired strips. You might want to put something in your subject line in order to get input.

I hate saying this but I have a hard time providing recommendations about testing and feeding recommendations without spreadsheet data. Most of the experienced members are wed to the spreadsheets so we don't just shoot from the hip and give you ill-informed information.
 
I'd make sure you get a test before you leave. If her numbers are still coming down try to leave some MC or HC food out for her. If she's still about the same try to leave some LC food out to keep her surfing. I don't know how accurate expired strips are. Will you be able to get some new ones soon?
 
I just canceled one thing which was just a little work.

Feed 14% friskies? If so how much? Her poops are less solid today too and she has already gone through about 5oz of friskies 4%....
 
If you don't have to leave soon, fed a teaspoon and test again in 20 minutes.
How long does the higher carb last them though?

I think I panicked for a minute at that number because I confused AT2 low with human meter low. Readjusting brain to remember she's not at 50 yet....
 
It looks like she may have been flat yellow last night. That can mean action in the next cycle, which is what you are seeing today.
 
I can't tell you because each cat reacts differently. I can leave HC food out for Furball and she will eat if she's dropping and be okay. How long before you need to leave?
No specific time. If I need to wait out another hour or two I can, and I can move some scheduled stuff around.

I guess I just want to be sure it's not a temporary elevation from food and not worry about her crashing if I'm away for a bit. As far as how long it lasts question goes.

Thanks for responding!
 
It could be a temporary elevation from food since it is early in the cycle. That's why it's good to test again in 20 min. and see what effect the HC had on her numbers. Then you'll probably need to get another test in to see if the food is wearing off. Will she eat if you leave food out for her and you're gone?
 
20 min after a big sloppy 14% friskies gravy, she's at 69... from 67.

I think she knows when mommy has plans and just wants me to stay home every time. Haha.

I also think she gets jealous hearing the civvies' cans being opened, and just wants an excuse for gravy. Lol!

Really though, she's still hungry, looking for food/hanging around water. And she is not used to these green numbers.
 
Hmm what else... fecal score around +3 was approximately 5.25.....
anyway fed another spoonful, she is searching the corners of the curve of the bowl for the earlier pate stuck in it, still quite keen on the possibility of food....
 
That's good. Test again in 30 minutes. Do you need to leave soon? What + time is the 73?
+5.25 precisely so easier to math for once!

Leaving the house is almost completely a luxury, given the circumstances, not a necessity, except in the case of taking my partner to see mom who just got out of hospital. I think that needs to happen.
 
Since you need to go out at some point today, I'd give another teaspoon of 14%. You need to get her to come up and stay up. Test again in 30 minutes from the +5.25.
Will do! Honestly she is getting easily more than a teaspoon. I'm sure I'm globbing it out a bit.
 
Be careful and don't give too much extra. You don't want her to get too full in case she needs more later.
She has already learned how to somehow pack away quite a bit at a time..... she was 2.44kg this AM, fasting, but she can still eat half a can of friskies with water like it's nothing....
Still, good advice!
 
It looks like the food is wearing off. I'd give another teaspoon of food and test again in 30 minutes. What time do you need to leave? You can always leave HC food out if you need to go.
 
Summary: AMPS 136 hold 20 retest 146
+2.33 100
+3.66 67
4% until this point, then fed 14%
ketones small-moderate
+4.18 69
1 spoonful 14%
+4.87 51
2 spoonfuls 14% + corn syrup drops
+5.25 73
1 spoonful 14%
+5.75 89
+6.25 74
1 spoonful 14%
ETA:
+7 72
1 spoonful 14%
then another 2 spoonfuls
+8 83
Fed last of 14% (friskies chicken and gravy 5.5oz)
 
Last edited:
It is coming to that point where it would be ideal if we could be gone for about 2.5 hours for a mom visit.

She has already gone through over half the can of gravy 14%.
 
She seems like she is surfing now and you are on the second half of the cycle. I think you can leave some HC food out for her and go out. If you are worried, you can also give her a couple of drops of karo.
 
She seems like she is surfing now and you are on the second half of the cycle. I think you can leave some HC food out for her and go out. If you are worried, you can also give her a couple of drops of karo.
Thank you. Will I be missing any particularly valuable data by leaving?
 
It's tricky because you've had to give higher carb food to keep her surfing all day. If you don't go out, you'd be able to tell when it wears off what her numbers do. If you leave you should leave HC food out for her.
 
You may want to reduce the dose tonight since she had the 51 and you've been having to feed higher carb food to keep her surfing. I'd try to get a +10 to give you an idea of if she's going up or down by PMPS.
 
You may want to reduce the dose tonight since she had the 51 and you've been having to feed higher carb food to keep her surfing. I'd try to get a +10 to give you an idea of if she's going up or down by PMPS.
Okay. Back down to 4u?

We aren't going anywhere after all. All plans scrapped. Which is fine because I am exhausted.
Will test at +8 and +10. She's nearly finished with the 14% can anyway, so will probably mix a bit more in.

I also was the one to measure the dose today and normally my human does that, perhaps there was a discrepancy between the two of us. :\
 
Back
Top