5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +2/55...+11/271

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristin and Abby (GA)

Member Since 2010
Most recent condo

The mystery kitty is back. Nice AMPS yesterday, not-so-good PMPS last night, ok +3 last night and then best AMPS so far this morning. She was high enough at +3 last night that I didn't think it was necessary to check her again before I hit the sack. Of course now I'm curious what she did last night given this morning she was only 30 points higher! But like I've said before, she seems happy so I'm trying to not sweat it too much. Reduced dose this morning since it was the lowest I've shot (by 2 points but still) and I can't be there to monitor. I'm sure the mystery will continue tonight....

Nanners should arrive today. Let the fun begin!!
 
Re: 5/12 Abby AMPS 186

What a beautiful AMPS....love all the blue and greens showing up on Ms. Abby's SS......keep it little girl!! :smile:
 
Re: 5/12 Abby AMPS 186

Ohhhhh nanners. I just ordered some yesterday and can't wait! I've heard they are magical. I hope Abby enjoys hers. Great numbers! I hope you have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby AMPS 186

What a great AMPS for Abby today, Kristin!!! Good kitty!!!! If she's going to be higher, better she do it at night so you can sleep :lol: Have a great day.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby AMPS 186, +12/150

The mystery continues....guess I'm going to try and stall. Gosh...and I reduced her dose this morning for the 186!
 
Re: 5/12 Abby AMPS 186, +12/150

LOOK AT Abby go!! Glad to see much progress here :smile: Great job Kristin! Hugs from us! ;-)
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG 141 - stalling

Kristin......So do you think her shed was emptying this morning helping to keep her numbers "pretty"......Curry will do that for a few days sometimes when I decrease the dose and going kinda low for a few cycles......

Abby is looking really good.
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG 141 - stalling - advice?

Tena - I wouldn't think so since I had just this morning reduced...and that was only because of a lower than normal pre-shot that I couldn't be home to monitor through. I didn't want to skip so I gave .5 instead of .75. Then again, I have no idea since I'm relatively new at this. I'm stalling and not feeding, is this what I should be doing? Or should I feed? I can probably only stall another 45 minutes before I get to a point where I can't shoot 12 hours later.
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG 141 - stalling - advice?

Kristin....you are doing great.

Yeah...no food if stalling.....What number are you comfortable shooting?

Sometimes when you give them less insulin....their shed will empty to adjust to the decrease in insulin.....

So you can test in 15/20 minutes and see what Abby is doing.
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG 141 - stalling - advice?

SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We even encourage newbies to shoot over 150, and you're not a newbie and you usually can test a lot at night. ;-) Now is your chance to see if Abby can flatten out in a nice range. Remember, the lower you shoot, the flatter the cycle usually is. Get the data at night when you can test, so when this happens some time when you have to leave you'll know what she'll do so you can make a good decision then.

You have high carb food and test strips on hand?
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG 141 - stalling - advice?

The lowest I've shot was in the 180s and last time I went with .75u with a PS in in the 180s she was at 62 at +3 already...though surfed pretty well after that with just a smidge LC.
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG 141 - stalling - advice?

Libby and Lucy said:
SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We even encourage newbies to shoot over 150, and you're not a newbie and you usually can test a lot at night. ;-) Now is your chance to see if Abby can flatten out in a nice range. Remember, the lower you shoot, the flatter the cycle usually is. Get the data at night when you can test, so when this happens some time when you have to leave you'll know what she'll do so you can make a good decision then.

You have high carb food and test strips on hand?


I'd go w/Mom's (I mean Libby's) advice. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG 141 - stalling - advice?

Alright - just saw Libby's post...ok...going to check her. If she's higher than 141 I'll shoot a full .75u and cross my fingers.
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG (+12) 141, +12.5/120 stalling - advice?

that's why I don't like stalling. It's confusing because often the cat keeps dropping because they're hungry!

Let's look at your spreadsheet - you don't have very many +1's, but the ones you do have show that Abby has at least a 20-30 point food spike. That means if you shoot and feed now at 120, then in one hour she'll probably be about 150. She'll probably keep rising for at least another hour after that before the insulin kicks in (the old shot has worn off and her shed is emptying).

If you would rather wait, that's fine. Keep testing and we'll use that data next time.
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG (+12) 141, +12.5/120 stalling - advice?

forgot to add, if you *had* shot the 141 and fed, then she would probably be around 170 now instead of still dropping. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG (+12) 141, +12.5/120 stalling - advice?

Nuts. Ok. Well, I guess I'll bite the bullet here and go for it. I was going to work out tonight but that's obviously in the can.

Hopefully peeps will be around tonite!
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG (+12) 141, +12.5/120 stalling - advice?

Well...it sounds like you might be more comfortable w/a higher number.....if so.....retest in 30 and see what number she will throw at you......Or, as Libby sd...if you are home tonight and can test/monitor it could be a good opportunity to see what Abby will do.....but you have to be comfortable....you've got hc and and lots of strips if you do decide to shoot?
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG (+12) 141, +12.5/120 stalling - advice?

Good for you.

I'll be here.

And it sounds like Libby is helping out tonight too.

You've got lots of support.
 
Re: 5/12 PMBG (+12) 141, +12.5/120 stalling - advice?

I can't believe I just shot that #. I tested her again and she was 112 at +12.75. *sigh*

Yes, I have HC and all that. I must say I'm terribly uncomfortable with what I just did.
 
Re: 5/12 PMPS(+12.75) 112

awww, it's ok. It's normal to be worried, but it will be fine. To start, get a +1. As long as you have higher carb food, you can stay in control. If she keeps dropping and you get uncomfortable, just give some carbs and she'll pop right up.
 
Re: 5/12 PMPS(+12.75) 112

if you're that worried, you can get a +0.5. I wouldn't test any earlier than that, because you do want to give the food a chance to kick in.
 
Re: 5/12 PMPS(+12.75) 112

I hear what you're saying about this being what happens when you stall, but there is also advice to not shoot a dropping number. How do you reconcile the two?
 
Re: 5/12 PMPS(+12.75) 112

the advice to stall seems to be taking on a life of its own in Lantus Land these days, but really what seems to work best for most cats in most cases is to shoot at +12. Have you read my Dealing With Low Preshots post? It might answer some of your questions.

Stalling is advice that we will often give to someone the first time they get a lower than normal preshot, to help make them more comfortable. Usually we will do that when the cat has their first green preshot number. Stalling is rarely necessary in blue or higher. How, if Abby had dropped from say 400 at AMPS to 112 at PMPS, then waiting might be a good idea because if she is going down that fast, you do want to be sure the drop has slowed before shooting.
 
Re: 5/12 PMPS 112, +1/106

I see your +1~106 (if you post in your own condo, that will bump it up so others can see that you have made an update).

You can feed a tsp of low carb food here to help her surf, if you want. Then get a +2, please.
 
Re: 5/12 PMPS 112, +1/106

OK. I just quickly ran out to get some Temptations and some ice cream. I will hand feed her some LC since she doesn't appear to be hungry enough to eat it on her own right now.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55

sure, how about a couple of tsp of gravy from the HC, then test in 20-30 minutes. Good job!
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55

I just got a +2.25 and after some HC and 2 Temptations she's 73. At this point though we're just approaching onset so I'm going to have a tougher time keeping her surfing. I hate to ask - but I want to ask now before we get too far - at what point do I consider the ER?
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55

Repeat after me, "I am in control!" For the record, how much HC and temptations did she have? In 15 minutes, that gave her almost a 20 point bump. I would test again in another 30 minutes to see if she needs more food to keep her up.

If she starts showing hypo symptoms and you can't get her number up, then you would consider ER. As long as the food is working, you're in control. FYI, we've seen cats here in the 20s with no symptoms and who came up easily with food. That's not to make light of low numbers, of course, but just to point out that in most cases it is very easy to maintain control of the cycle. If you had accidentally shot a big overdose or something, then we would suggest ER just because that can become a prolonged situation.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55

actually, for data collection purposes, a test 15 minutes after the last one wouldn't hurt. That will help you see how much of a bump she got from that food when it has all kicked in.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55

Kristen - you are doing great. keep with the testing, keep with the gravy as long as you need too. If it gets too low you can always add a drop of karo syrup.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55

Kristin and Abby said:
I just got a +2.25 and after some HC and 2 Temptations she's 73. At this point though we're just approaching onset so I'm going to have a tougher time keeping her surfing. I hate to ask - but I want to ask now before we get too far - at what point do I consider the ER?

With the 73 you can see that Abby responded well to the HC. Perhaps if she hadn't responded to the HC. Or if you started see symptoms of a hypo. But giving her a teaspoon of the HC frequently can help her stay up.

After all this is over you deserve a glass of wine or a pint of Haagen-Dazs. Who knows....maybe Abby will share her ice cream with ya.

You are doing great.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55, +2.5/70

You have all been so wonderful...I'm still freaking out...but you're all wonderful!

For the record here's the skinny:

+2 55, ~1tsp HC + 2 temptations
+2.25 73, lil gravy
+2.5 70
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55, +2.5/70

Kristin, you are doing great. Take a big BREATH. First series of lower number is hard but it happens to all of us. Hang in there.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55, +2.5/70

Oh yea - I'm going every 15 minutes and boy is she irritated about it! I just got a +2.75 and she's at 64 so I'm giving her one more Temptation.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55, +2.5/70

Abby knows how to surf it. Very nice numbers. Keep up the good work Kristen.

cat_surfing.gif
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55, +3/67

Hehehe... at +3 she's 67 (after a Temptation at +2.75).

I've already left a message for my boss that I'm going to be late tomorrow. At this point I don't see me even trying to sleep until nearly 2am ET.
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55, +3/67

it looks like Abby wants to go for a night surf. :smile:

At this point I would hold off on Temptations and maybe give her a bite or two of LC. Not much, just enough to keep her surfing. Then test in 30.

When is Abby's nadir usually?
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55, +3/67

just cheering you on! you're doing great - the first time is nerve-wracking but you'll be an old pro after tonight!

Bonnie (mauiguppy) went through this earlier today - if you have time to kill in those 15 minutes and are interested you can read hers.

ETA: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43192

on second thought, you might want to read hers tomorrow when you're not so busy!
 
Re: 5/12 Abby PMPS 112, +1/106, +2/55, +3/67

Kristen, you're doing terrific! I know EXACTLY how you feel. Just went through it this morning myself, tears and all (I shot 1.5u at AMPS of 76). You're in good hands with Libby. What she's telling you is the same as what Laurie, Julie and Sienne told me. Junior is sleeping like a baby tonight, thanks to the guidance here.

Libby, thanks for explaining why some people say to stall and others don't. I was wondering the same thing myself.

Hang in there!
Bonnie

ps. I just saw Julie's response. It might take you more than 15 minutes! All the going back and forth...that's how freaked out I was!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top