5.12.15 Zoey -- just home from vet (again).. PM SHOT LATE?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
Hi!

Internet has not been my friend today. Down the road from home to get signal. Took Zoey to vet for enema. Just picking her up and we're almost an hour late. She's now cleaned out -- said it was definitely needed. And she's not eating very well. Gave the appy stimulant yesterday and vet said then not to give every day. Don't know what to do about her not eating. I'm assuming they put her under anesthesia to do the enema ???? DH picked her up and he didn't know. She seems out of it, but she wasn't doing very well this morning and I dont' know if it's a carryover from that.

Her BGs this morning are:
AMPS 320
+3 438 (had forced fed her some MC with crumbled fine dry food)
+8:15 318
PMBG236

She was shot at a dose of 4.0 this a.m.

This morning was her first dose to Trelestane and from every account I read, the BGs and insulin requirements start dropping pretty quickly. Several of the doses were reduced by half within a matter of a few weeks. Having said that, plus the enema, plus her not eating, plus it being so late ... should I shoot a half dose and reevaluate in the morning?

DH got her to eat a small piece of BBQ chicken but one bite was it.

I'm tagging @julie & punkin (ga) because I quickly saw her online and know she's been following, but please ... any of the advisors who read this, your experience/thoughts is appreciated.

Thanks!
 
(((((Rose)))) I'm not qualified to give dose advice but just want to pass along strong healing vines and prayers for Zoey and you and your wonderful DH! You've been through the wringer, I don't know of anyone else with a Cushing's kitty, but I know Wendy and Julie will be along to help soon! You might want to put the 911 icon up if you don't get a response soon?

I would think the vet anesthetized Zoey for that enema? That could be she's groggy from it, do you have any Fortaflora? I am concerned that you were given an appetite stimulant but nothing for nausea? If there is one little bit of nausea and an appy stimulant is given, the cat can develop an aversion to food. Were you given Cypro or mirtz?
 
It is so frustrating when Sammy isn't eating right also. Today was one of those days. The best advice I can give is to give Zoey just about anything that she will eat. I think I opened 4-5 cans of food today and finally found a flavor that Sammy was interested in. I even gave some 8% food even though he wasn't low, because if he would eat it, it is better he have a little higher BG than not eat at all.

As far as the other meds go I am not familiar with them so I can't be of any help there.
 
@Tiger and Ruth - thank you for the prayers. Everything we're trying at this point is on a wing and a prayer so the more, the better. :) we were given mirtz for the appy. And no, I don't believe I have anything here for nausea. Any suggestions? I dont' have FortaFlora (I can't find it on Amazon -- if anyone has a link, please share) I do have some parmesan cheese and she's not interested in it. She likes her kitty crack treats but even that she only eats one at a time.

@Tina & Sammy -- she's interested in nothing (small pieces of bbq chick and kitty crack treats - nibbles). The other cats have never had it so well 'cause they keep getting her rejects. :/
 
I always hesitate to put 911 but I did because I'm sitting down the road, waiting for some advice on shooting her tonight. This is the only place I have internet connection at the moment. Extremely frustrating. :/

ETA @Wendy&Neko .. just saw that she's online.
 
If she received anesthesia, that could also make her BGs drop, too. Is there a way to find out, or is the vet's office closed? Given Zoey's special set of circumstances, I have to say I'm inclined to advise calling the vet's office and ask them about whether or not you should shoot (my gut says "no" since she's not eating, but I don't want that to be the decided factor since I don't know everything about Zoey's situation). She may need something for nausea (cerenia or ondansetron - both require a script), or she may need time to bounce back from the events of today.

In the meantime, I too would offer her small bits of anything at all that might interest her appy.

Here's a like to FortiFlora...just ordered some today myself. This is the best price I've seen.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001650OE0/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Hi Rose, I give Tiger Cerenia(pancreatitis) but she tends to vomit. If there's no vomiting, Ondansetron(which I also have but don't use) may work better. Here is a link for Fortaflora, naturally, it's gone up in price but still cheaper than the vet! Does she like baby food? Tiger loves Beecch Nut Chicken and Broth. If you end up giving the shot, just give her what she will eat, FF, Tuna, whatever!!
 
Hi Rose - you did get her to eat high carb food and MC today. Any chance you think she'll do that again? If you shoot now, you can make up the time 1/2 hour once a day or 15 minutes a shot time.

They could have just sedated her instead of anesthesia. Good point of Amy's to find out what they used. Not all anesthesia drugs lower the BGs.
 
ETA: I think you could do at least a half dose. When kitties have to have anesthesia and go without food, then vets usually recommend a half dose. Some is better than none.
 
@Amy&TrixieCat Unknown what they used .. nothing on paperwork and they are closed. Paperwork only says Lactulose Solution and Enema Adminstration with the costs of both.
 
@Tiger and Ruth I don't have either of those nausea meds on hand tonight. :/ And if I can find the right food, I will hand feed it if it gets her to eat.

@Wendy&Neko - I was thinking something was better than nothing, along with better late than never. So I should at least shoot 2 units now and do what in the morning and at what time? (I'm hopefully going to be able to get back to internet when I get someone else's mifi connection. Mine is apparently on the fritz - and my phone's hotspot doesn't work in my home ... have to drive down the street to connect)
 
If she's high in the reds tomorrow, I think you could give her shot up to an hour early. And I'd go back to 4 units if she's eating. I don't imagine the effect of the Cushing's drug is instantaneous. It's a hormone (cortisol) you are impacting.
 
Thank you for the guidance. I've "phoned a friend" to borrow an internet source so hopefully I'll be connected at some point this evening. I really appreciate everyone's quick help. Going back to dose Zoe now and feeling a lot less anxious thanks to y'all. :D :bighug:
 
adding prayers for Zoey.
maybe tomorrow you can get some ondansetron....
I like cyproheptadine more than mirtzapine. the mirtz seems to be much harsher....
when mine won't eat, i break out one of the 12%-14% gravies, and she suddenly will eat....
 
When Skooter had both his enemas he was partially sedated, and as I recall, he was not too keen on food the night he came home, but the following day (after getting cleaned out), his appy started coming back.....the way they told me to think of it is if my bowel was plugged up, I would not feel like eating because I would feel bloated and icky and sick and that is the same for them.....I am guessing they did not put her completely out, but just enough to relax her so they could do what they needed to....You should be able to call in the morning to find out for sure.....

I will say, once he got cleaned out, it did take a few days before he pooped again....the vet also said that is normal as they pretty much clean out everything possible with the enema and then it takes a few days for their appy to come back completely....

Sending lots of vines to you and Zoey :)
 
Meat baby food (mine prefer chicken), chicken broth with nothing else in it, bits of roasted or boiled chicken or turkey, sliced deli turkey, tuna water (and the tuna if they want it - mine just like the water it's packed in) are all things that sometimes work for me. If the kitty is nauseated, though, there isn't much else you can do. Pepcid is really for acid stomach, but my vet has prescribed it for nausea before. You can buy the regular strength Pepcid, 10 mg size (or generic famotidine) in most drug stores. Starting dose is 2.5 mg, but Minka gets 5mg every day. It might help until you can get Ondansetron or Cerenia from your vet. BTW, most vets carry Forti Flora, too.

Sending lots of appy vines for Zoey and :bighug: for you.
 
Sorry I missed your urgent need earlier -it must've been just as I left the computer. Glad others were able to help. I hope her app picks up by morning.
 
Thank you @rhiannon and shadow and @Tricia & Cinco for all of the food ideas. Some of them I haven't tried yet. I did order the FortiFlora from Amazon - it will be here tomorrow. I don't know why it didn't come up before in my search -- but admittedly that was for a different sick kitty a couple of years back (based on Dr. Piersen's raw diet info) and my vet had never heard of it (old vet #1) and none of the health food stores carried it (ours have pet aisles) and it wasn't on Amazon then. I ended up using the Parmesan for him and it worked just fine. I should have checked myself this time around but I made assumptions. Thank you for posting the link :)

@MollynSkooter - thank you for the 411 on your enema experience. I read it earlier this morning so that little bit of affirmation settled the worry a bit this morning.

@julie & punkin (ga) -- it's okay... you were no longer online by the time I posted. Everyone here is amazing with their help and support so we were still in good hands.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top