5/11 Tommy PMPS 204, +3.5 367

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good Morning LL Fam, enjoying a good cup of ~O) ~O) ..

Tommy's starting today a whooooooooooole lot better than yesterday a.m. time... :-D He did not care for those colors at the beginning of the cycle one bit.. Breffis consumed, a bit of playing and then some loves makes for a good morning for the boy and me happy too..
I received my Nanner stash yesterday ( i purchased a pack of 3), with 6 cats i did not want to show favoritism :smile:.
The girls took a liking to them immediately, wet spots all over the counter from Phoebe loving on one of them. I took some video and a few photos, I hope to have them uploaded some time today so you can see the sheer joy that they have brought.
I will be introducing the 3rd one to Tommy after his food settles a bit.. From what i've seen so far, i do believe there might be "Kitty Crack" inside them :lol: :lol:

I hope everyone has a wonderful Day ;-)

Mannie, I finally can see first hand why you love your Nanner Pile!!. Thanks for telling our bean about them~~~ Phoebe, Abbey, Belle, Emma, Tommy & Teddy Bear!!
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148

awesome! i've been thinking we need some new nanners and i might go and pick up a couple today.

tommy looks great! and wow, i didn't realize you had so many kitters. that's a lotta little cans of fancy feast to open! :lol:
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148

Great starting number!!! Like Sienne said, maybe a bounce later, but no freaking out!! That, too, will pass. :lol:
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158

I Had a voice mail from my Vet this morning.. Test result for IAA came back Negative.. :-D :-D Some good news at least.. I probably won't get the other one for a couple of days. I think i remember reading that the results for the Acro test can take a bit longer..
Just wanted to pass along some good news for a change :razz: I know it's only one test, but i can't help but be happy for that.. Some times It's the little things that bring the biggest smiles :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158 (IAA~ NEG!)

w00t! all righty then! one test down. one to go!
you might have to make a nuisance of yourself with your vet's office on friday in order to get the results from the acro test before the weekend. from what i've seen here, the result of the acro test is available on friday, but oftentimes the information doesn't trickle down to the caregiver until after the weekend has passed. i don't know about you, but i'm not a very patient person when it comes to test results. i'd be on pins and needles if i had to wait til next week! i'm sure others who have had the test will chime in...
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158 (IAA~ NEG!)

Great Numbers today!! What great news about neg. IAA!!
We are praying for non acro test news for you too!!--Paws & Fingers crossed for Tommy--
have a good day--Hugs from us! ;-)
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158 (IAA~ NEG!)

Squirrel:

The IAA test result is usually given in a percentage. (> 20% is IAA positive). Did the vet give you the percent?
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158 (IAA~ NEG!)

Sienne, no he didn't. I'll find out today, thank you for letting me know that..Is there a number that should worry me like Tommy would be on the border of IAA if it's a certain number?

Roni, thank you for the support and the prayers. I'm a bit nervous about that too..
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158 (IAA~ NEG!)

Hi Squirrel and Tommy too,

What exactly are nanners? Kitty crack you say?

Leo and i will also keep our fingers and paws crossed that the acro test comes back negative.

And YAY for the IAA negative test!!!
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158 (IAA~ NEG!)

Sienne, I called my vet and he is at lunch right now, Jenny pulled the information from the tests. She couldn't tell how to read if there was a percentage or not. She said she would let the Vet know that i want the percentage and either he would call back or tell her how to read it and she would call back!! ohmygod_smile
Did i read that right that if the percentage is Less than 20% that Tommy has IAA..?
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158 (IAA~ NEG!)

Is that ">" greater or lesser than..? I don't use it much, sorry for sounding so dumb.. Would my vet really tell me it was negative if indeed it wasn't..
Surely he would know how to read the results.. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158 (IAA~ NEG!)

> means greater than.
if the numerical value the vet received is greater than 20%, it would indicate a positive IAA result.
i can't imagine telling you it was negative if it wasn't. however, it might be good to know if the result is borderline or definitive.
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158 (IAA~ NEG!)

Jill, I just found it on line, ohmygod_smile .. I feel so dumb right now.. but at least i know now.. Thank you for spelling it out for me.. :lol:
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158,+4 110,+5 76 (IAA~ NEG!)

well great news! we'll all be curious about the acro test too, of course. might just mean that Tommy hasn't found the "just right" dose yet. he's sure looking good at the moment +5 = 76 - awesome!
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158,+4 110,+5 76 (IAA~ NEG!)

The test result is much like a snapshot; at the point in time when the blood was drawn for testing.
The line marking a positive is 20% or higher.
I realize that some may consider anything less to be negative, but really, if the result was 19%, I think I would be saying hmmmm, it's pretty close and may play into Tommy's BG activity. If you have some resistance, some tugging on the numbers, you may think that some of the resistance could be IAA.

So, with the negative for IAA, you really need to avoid going lower than 100.
When you get the results on the acro test, ask the vet for the value. The normal/ negative range is 12 thru 92.

ETA: Now don't worry if his IAA result is a borderline number because IAA is temporary and can be beaten back, BUT if Tommy were positive for both, acro trumps IAA and you would dose for the acro, keeping Tommy's BG above 99.
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158,+4 110,+5 76

What great numbers for Tommy today and yay for the negative test results. Something to celebrate. I can't believe you have 6. Oh My! :o I have 2 and a dog and that wears me out sometimes.

I hope you have a great day and we'll be crossing paws here for you.
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy AMPS~148,+2~158,+4 110,+5 76

Squirrel, "if" tommy should test positive for acromegaly I thought it might be fitting to copy and paste the comments I posted in gus' condo today:

Bev, just wanted to stop by to offer some support. One look at Gus' spreadsheet is enough to tip anyone off to the amount of frustration you must be feeling. Those of us who have been around for years have watched kitties reach higher doses many, many times. Dental problems can certainly cause numbers to rise. No doubt about it. Some diabetic cats do require that much insulin before reaching a breakthrough dose, but it is often a sign that something else is going on. Although we may discover that Gus is just a diabetic requiring more insulin than others, it is time to prepare for other possibilities.

One possibility is that Gus does have acromegaly. Acromegaly is a tumor of the pituitary gland that produces excess growth hormone. It causes growth to the body and internal organs. The hormone also binds with the insulin the cat produces (acrocats have a normal functioning pancreas) and causes the same high bgs seen in a diabetic cat.

The only way to be sure if a cat has acro is to test IGF-1. Your vet would draw a blood sample and send it to Michigan State University. We recommend that the cat be tested for insulin auto antibodies (IAA) at the same time. The tests can be done on the same blood sample and you save shipping and handling charges. MSU charges about $50 for the IGF-1 and around $15 for the IAA test, but each vet adds his own processing and shipping charge. One of the caregivers mentioned her vet charging $100 to draw blood and ship the sample. Obviously these fees will vary from vet to vet.

In the past, acro was considered very rare and most vets don't think of it. Current research shows that as many as 30% of cats diagnosed with diabetes actually have acromegaly. Because it isn't on the list of possibilities in the minds of most vets, you would need to ask him to have the test done. Most vets look at you like you're crazy when you ask to have your kitty tested. Just tell him to just humor you and do it. Here's some links to more information:


Acromegaly and Other High Dose Conditions: What We Know

Acromegaly-- The Basics

There is no need to rush any of this. The insulin plan is the same whether Gus has acro or not. We still work up the dosing scale for lantus just as we have been as well as using R to give a boost as needed. The goal of treatment is different with an acrocat - you are striving for a well regulated cat with bgs below the renal threshold, not a tightly regulated cat heading for OTJ. Regulation is a very realistic goal with acros. Once you get to a dose giving good numbers, it is relatively easy to keep them there using some of the same principles used in the TR protocol. Acrocats vary considerably in how much insulin they need - some do well at 6-7 units. Some need much, much more. The goal is to give Gus as much insulin as he needs... however much that might be... whether he has a High Dose condition or not.

In case you missed it, a couple weeks ago Libby posted some thoughts on acromegaly in Jazzy's condo along with links to some very well regulated acro kitties spreadsheets. Here's the link:
4/30 Jazzy AMPS 241, PMPS 234 PLUS thoughts on Acromegaly

Please remember that Gus is the same sweet boy today that he was yesterday and will be tomorrow. He can't read bg numbers and could care less what his diagnosis is. He just expects you to love him and care for him like you have always done.


xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx​



Please take time to review the links. Besides the basics included in the links from the High Dose Group, Libby's "Jazzy post" is of particular interest because she's included links to spreadsheets of very nicely regulated acro kitties. Personally, I found these paragraphs from Libby's post to be right on the mark when discussing range for an acro kitty:

"You do need to be more cautious with acro cats in green numbers – because most acros have a functioning pancreas, sometimes if you use low carb food to try to bump up a number, it can actually stimulate the pancreas to produce more insulin, sending the number lower instead of higher. That can make it difficult to control fast drops. I don’t subscribe to the theory that a green number is dangerous for all acros, if it is a flat green. Others do try to avoid all green, and for some cats that is a smart choice. Fast drops into green are more of a concern, until you know how your cat responds to carbs. Just like everything else, you’ll have to experiment to see how your cat responds to low carb and high carb foods, and use that information to determine what range is best for your cat.

Just to use Jazzy as an example, I have learned that she actually gets a good food spike from low carb. High carb can give her 60 points or more, which is usually a lot more of a bump than she needs. I have had an opportunity to shoot low and monitor a couple of times, and she has done fine. I’m perfectly comfortable with Jazzy surfing green when I’m home (I wish she would do it more often). I’m not confident enough yet to do that when I won’t be home, though she would probably be ok. I hope she’ll give me a chance to try again soon. She obviously feels better and is a lot less mean when she is lower, so I would prefer to keep her in blue/green all the time. My other cats would prefer that too, since she doesn’t attack them as often when she is in happy numbers. :lol: I’m running her higher than that right now because I don’t always feel well enough to monitor late at night. My goal for now is to keep her under renal threshold 24/7, and eventually get her to blue/green 24/7. Jazzy is just one cat, and acro cats truly exemplify the “Every Cat is Different” mantra. I’ve seen others that need a whole can of HC (or more) to slow down a drop. If I had one of those cats I’m sure I would be a lot more gun-shy about green!"


"Know thy cat"... that's what it's all about whether kitty is an acrocat or a kitty with "regular" (for lack of a better word) diabetes.
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy +2~158,+4 110,+5 76,+7 81

squirrel, i just read your post from last night. no worries!!!!!! gotta sleep when you can. i didn't think twice about you being offline - and i saw marjorie popped back on before long.

i could be mixed up about what was criminal minds and what was NCIS - maybe the oogie dismembered feet episode was NCIS. good shows.
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy +2~158,+4 110,+5 76,+7 81

I just wanted to let you all know that the Vet called back again.. The percentage for the IAA test was 4%..
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy +2~158,+4 110,+5 76,+7 81

Jill, I've already read that today as well as a time before that i believe, but I want to thank you for thinking of us and giving us the info.. over the past few months i've done extensive research on both of those Tests that were performed, printed out sheets and sheets, bookmarked everything i could think of.. tried to absorb as much info as i could... And I'm hoping for the best that this test will also be negative, and well, if it's not, we'll deal with it and do what needs to be done for Tommy. I really do appreciate you looking out for us!

Melissa: yeah, I seem to be worn out even more now with the Dx on Tommy.. I didn't know when to say no until i woke up one morning and there were 6 of them... Cat's know a sucker for lovin when they see one i'll tell you that much :-D Plus the 2 droolers and DH.. I got a whole house full of love :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy +2~158,+4 110,+5 76,+7 81

a whole houseful of love, now that's nice. what a great way to look at it!

interesting info on the acro - one question. how does an acro cat respond to karo syrup? does it bring up the BG?
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy +2~158,+4 110,+5 76,+7 81

Julie, that would be one question i haven't the answer for. I'm sure Libby does.. I would be curious to know that myself. :smile:
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy +2~158,+4 110,+5 76,+7 81

To answer the karo question, it depends on the cat. And it depends on what is happening with the acro.
My two are completely different.
I know that I can give a smaller amount of HC to Shadoe and she will come up in numbers.
I know that HC means nothing to Oliver if he is low and dropping - I once fed him three 5.5oz cans of HC and his numbers did not budge. The carbs did nothing.
It is for that reason I do not let Oliver drop to greens, and feed immediately if he does.
I go with the gravies in the HC first because karo is like a last resort as it does not last long at all, if it works, and too much karo will get you one upset cat.

If an acro is on a mission and dropping really low, you may need alot of karo and alot of test strips.
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy+4 110,+5 76,+7 81,+9 78

In addition to what Gayle noted, the pituitary tumor can be revving up or down. If it's in an active phase, BG numbers may rise. If it's inactive, numbers may be lower and this is likely a situation where the normal pancreatic function is a factor. Insulin may drop BG numbers and food may stimulate the pancreas and numbers drop further. Couple those factors with how carb sensitive your individual cat is and making generalizations becomes even harder.
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy PMPS 204

Squirrel, first of all, in case you didn't read my post in Gus' condo: I was not the least bit offended when you mentioned Julie and the tooth infection situation. I was joking and mean that she had gone thru such a difficult time with Punkin, that she could teach me all about it. It's not my style to be sarcastic or touchy, so please, don't ever think that. Second, I learn a lot from reading the posts in your condo. Looks like we have very similar kitties. I haven't had Gus tested, but he probably will be tested Friday afternoon. That's when we see the vet about the tooth. I'll keep good thoughts around Tommy so that he doesn't have acro. Just the regular, run of the mill FD is good enough, right?! Good luck, I'll be checking to see what's happening.
 
Re: 5/11 Tommy PMPS 204

Hi guys... so late in posting here. the day just got away from me... busy! Thanks you for visiting Mannie today, it is much appreciated!

Good news on the IAA testing. I wish you luck with the acro one. What a great condo here today - I learned alot of things. Now if I can just remember it all. :-D Very informative!

have a great evening - what is left of it... :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top