? 5/11 Silver AMPS 115 PMPS 34 ***NO SHOT*** +1=121 +2=128 +4=97 ARE WE SAFE???

Status
Not open for further replies.
OKAY this was a little low to come home to - I am just extremely glad that his preshot is still his lowest. Obviously no shot - but I think I want to bring him down to 4u instead of 4.5u as I need to keep him safe when I am at work. Thoughts anyone? 4.25u?
 
Yikes! Silver is really going down in dosing quickly!
When I tried to do back to back reductions for Merry he didn't hold them so I spread out his reductions but Silver is really running with it.
I'm no expert but I would probably drop by 0.50 units instead of 0.25 units because you're gone on week days for a long period of time. If he doesn't hold that reduction you can always increase again. If it were me, I'd go down to 4u just to keep him safe.
 
Yikes! Silver is really going down in dosing quickly!
When I tried to do back to back reductions for Merry he didn't hold them so I spread out his reductions but Silver is really running with it.
I'm no expert but I would probably drop by 0.50 units instead of 0.25 units because you're gone on week days for a long period of time. If he doesn't hold that reduction you can always increase again. If it were me, I'd go down to 4u just to keep him safe.
Oh I've done back to back reductions twice already - not only is he holding them but he keeps earning new reductions. He is going down the dosing ladder FAST! If I come down 0.5u though that is to 4.25. He is currently on 4.75.
 
Oh I've done back to back reductions twice already - not only is he holding them but he keeps earning new reductions. He is going down the dosing ladder FAST! If I come down 0.5u though that is to 4.25. He is currently on 4.75.

I would drop by 0.5 units for sure. It's great he's doing so well but scary at the same time!
 
I forgot to add, check for ketones when you can because of the skip. How is his appetite?
His appetite is great! His ketones are LO and he is happy and playful as a kitten. Still on the AB from his DKA episode which was only last week!

@Veronica & Babu-chiri yes he had a dental then got an infection and DKA. Last week I thought I was losing him he was so weak. He's just eaten so I'll test him at +1 in about 15 mins.

Thanks everyone. I'll drop him to 4.25u tomorrow morning.
 
At Silver's current size of dose, I wouldn't expect much action from his pancreas. You could still have a bit of the depot helping out. Glad he came up for you.

Great news on the ketones and appetite. Considering it's the weekend and he's coming up, one possibility would be to shoot late and make up time to get you back on schedule over the weekend.
 
At Silver's current size of dose, I wouldn't expect much action from his pancreas. You could still have a bit of the depot helping out. Glad he came up for you.

Great news on the ketones and appetite. Considering it's the weekend and he's coming up, one possibility would be to shoot late and make up time to get you back on schedule over the weekend.
Well I'm out quite a bit tomorrow so that's too risky. The only reason he came up was because he got fed and always spikes high with food.
 
Yikes on that PMBG. That’s scary. Glad he is coming up. Hoping he doesn’t go to high before morning. Good luck with his new dose. I hope the reduction holds.
 
Yikes on that PMBG. That’s scary. Glad he is coming up. Hoping he doesn’t go to high before morning. Good luck with his new dose. I hope the reduction holds.
Well actually he is dropping again - 97 at +4 - I hope we are safe until morning. I have given him FF in gravy (1/2 a can) - maybe overdoing it but I don't like seeing a falling number on NO insulin. Making me a little nervous. @Wendy&Neko @carfurby @Veronica & Babu-chiri are we okay or do I need to keep feeding him high carb - I am about ready for bed.
 
Could be the carbs from his dinner wore off. Any chance of a test in 1/2 hour? He "should" be OK, but can't say for sure.
 
Could be the carbs from his dinner wore off. Any chance of a test in 1/2 hour? He "should" be OK, but can't say for sure.
Well I just fed him again so he will come up as I gave him high carb food so it might be three hours before that wears off again? I'm thinking at this rate that I need to drastically reduce insulin. I've had two skipped shots in two days.
 
It's a delicate balance, with ketones so recent in the rearview mirror. I wouldn't reduce too much. Thankfully you can get some day tests in tomorrow.

High carb takes a couple hours to wear off typically.
 
It's a delicate balance, with ketones so recent in the rearview mirror. I wouldn't reduce too much. Thankfully you can get some day tests in tomorrow.

High carb takes a couple hours to wear off typically.
Ok...well low carb takes him three hours so I figured high carb a little longer. I'll be sleeping with half an ear open tonight. I think the ketones were due to the infection which has now gone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top