5/11 Rudy AMPS 303, +3 203, +5 68, +6 118, +9 70, +10 98 PMPS 97, +1 144, +2.5 177

Status
Not open for further replies.
Should Rudy have a decrease?

He's had 2 already this week for bgs under 90. (Apparently he shouldn't have had back to back decreases - even though he was under 90. I wasn't aware of that.)

He was under 90 yesterday (third day in a row) and I held the dose based on advice from seniors. He's been under 90 again today.

Should I hold the dose again tonight? I prefer to change his dose in the AM since it's easier to monitor.
 
Since Rudy was below 90 yesterday and today, I think you are fine to reduce the dose. If you are more comfortable waiting until tomorrow to reduce the dose, that is fine unless he is green at PMPS. Then you may want to reduce tonight so he doesn't go too low.
 
Since Rudy was below 90 yesterday and today, I think you are fine to reduce the dose. If you are more comfortable waiting until tomorrow to reduce the dose, that is fine unless he is green at PMPS. Then you may want to reduce tonight so he doesn't go too low.

Makes perfect sense. Thank you!!
 
Considering he didn't go terribly low, and came up easily, I think waiting until tomorrow to take that reduction is a good idea. We try to give as much insulin as we safely can, for as long as we can, to give the pancreas time to heal. When he's in green, his pancreas can rest and heal.
 
Since he was green at shot time - I reduced him to 4.25 as Carla suggested. This is my first time shooting a green. I put a tiny splotch of MC in with his LC at dinner. Let's hope for safe surfing. :D

He was also tested for ketones today. Negative result. :)
 
Congratulations! You've earned this:

boshand.gif
For shooting your lowest number ever.

Depending on where he is at +1, a teaspoon or so of LC might be a good idea.
 
Congrats of the BOS award and another reduction! Rudy is rocking it!


ETA: Jen, just look at Rudy's SS starting at 4.30. Lots of blues and greens with some sprinkles of yellows and pinks. Unlike prior to that date. :cat::)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top