5/11 Minnie PMPS 214 - ketone 0.2 +2 238 +5 255

Not bad but not great effects of the R, drop of 86. Now too low to get any mid-cycle though.

Struggling with the cat sitter situation. Can't find anyone who is used to testing BG though a couple happy to learn (I am not great at it though, so not a great teacher!) and can't get overnight. Am I worrying too much? With her numbers as they are right now, seems there is little risk of anywhere near a hypo going on and I could safely leave instructions to give 5u which is an easy dose. I'm afraid they'll be so hungry with only 2 feeds a day, even with the auto feeder!
 
I feel you...I'm going through the same thing with the sitter situation. And I ask myself that same question...am I worrying too much? But then I laugh to myself and know that of COURSE, I'm worrying too much. That's what I do!

The auto feeder would be for snacks in between the two meals?
 
Well at least the R seems to have helped the L out...ha, wonder what tonight will bring.

I feel you...I'm going through the same thing with the sitter situation. And I ask myself that same question...am I worrying too much? But then I laugh to myself and know that of COURSE, I'm worrying too much. That's what I do!

The auto feeder would be for snacks in between the two meals?

This is me EXACTLY. I worry when I leave the house that I'll come back and find her seizing on the floor. Yes, technically auto feeder is for snacks in between meals...but since being advised here that it's better to give several small meals throughout the day basically all snacks are meals :). My issue with the feeder is not knowing which of the two eats it. I just got a second feeder...because of COURSE they will know which feeder is for which cat :rolleyes:
 
Not bad but not great effects of the R, drop of 86. Now too low to get any mid-cycle though.

Struggling with the cat sitter situation. Can't find anyone who is used to testing BG though a couple happy to learn (I am not great at it though, so not a great teacher!) and can't get overnight. Am I worrying too much? With her numbers as they are right now, seems there is little risk of anywhere near a hypo going on and I could safely leave instructions to give 5u which is an easy dose. I'm afraid they'll be so hungry with only 2 feeds a day, even with the auto feeder!
When I had the baby, I just left blanket instructions that if the PS test is above some number (based on his numbers at the time, what should be a very safe # even without midcycle tests) then shoot. Below that to call/text me, and if I didn't respond within 15 mins to just skip. Better safe than sorry!

You can't separate the cats?
 
5/11 Minnie AMPS 321 (0.25R) +2 327 +4.5 241 +7 232 +10 199

This is her lowest ketone reading since records began, 0.2. I feel I now have personal scientific proof that feeding more fights ketones, I accidentally gave her >2/3 her daily calories before PMPS. That plus the little hit of R this morning, I suppose. Oh, and I sneaked the spironolactone into the tiny tiger beef. She is on strike with the frickazee.

When I had the baby, I just left blanket instructions that if the PS test is above some number (based on his numbers at the time, what should be a very safe # even without midcycle tests) then shoot. Below that to call/text me, and if I didn't respond within 15 mins to just skip. Better safe than sorry!

You can't separate the cats?
Thank you for chiming in, I really appreciate it!

I don't think skipping is an option because of her ketone/DKA history, though I don't think she's likely to have a low PS number...but who knows. This blue came - ha, out of the blue. I think am coming to terms with not having someone there overnight and just have twice daily visits with instructions to fill up the autofeeders with some 10-12% food. I don't know when is right to get guidance on a safe dose...

I hadn't thought of separating them but I only have a small place and they'd scratch the doors down if I shut it. Having separate boarding options would be too stressful to organize, and expensive. But I am open to ideas!
 
5/11 Minnie AMPS 321 (0.25R) +2 327 +4.5 241 +7 232 +10 199

This is her lowest ketone reading since records began, 0.2. I feel I now have personal scientific proof that feeding more fights ketones, I accidentally gave her >2/3 her daily calories before PMPS. That plus the little hit of R this morning, I suppose. Oh, and I sneaked the spironolactone into the tiny tiger beef. She is on strike with the frickazee.


Thank you for chiming in, I really appreciate it!

I don't think skipping is an option because of her ketone/DKA history, though I don't think she's likely to have a low PS number...but who knows. This blue came - ha, out of the blue. I think am coming to terms with not having someone there overnight and just have twice daily visits with instructions to fill up the autofeeders with some 10-12% food. I don't know when is right to get guidance on a safe dose...

I hadn't thought of separating them but I only have a small place and they'd scratch the doors down if I shut it. Having separate boarding options would be too stressful to organize, and expensive. But I am open to ideas!
She sure is a tricky cat given her crazy past few months! My vote is whatever keeps her safest, for sure. I was just trying to think of a foolproof way to make sure she has food available mid cycle.

In my case I knew when the shot time was and could likely be near the phone to give guidance around full/reduced/token/skipped doses.

With the medium carb food, do you not also run the same risk of ketones? Whether she's high from a skip or high from food...high is high, no?
 
My issue with the feeder is not knowing which of the two eats it. I just got a second feeder...because of COURSE they will know which feeder is for which cat :rolleyes:
Once again, we have the same issue! ;-) My little pork chop Sadie will happily eat what she wants, and not leave any "leftovers" for Fred! So I'm looking into the microchip autofeeder. Did you see the link I posted last time?
 
Back
Top