5/11 Maus AMPS/407, +1.5/364. +3/252, +7/214, +10/229, PMPS/282

Just an FYI -
What you are seeing is a bounce. The drop to 96 brought Artemis up to 542 by AMPS and then he dropped to 131 and was back into the reds. I suspect it was fine to increase the dose. I just wanted to make sure you knew what you were seeing.

Also, now that you are starting to see nadirs that are under 200, you only hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles.
 
Just an FYI -
What you are seeing is a bounce. The drop to 96 brought Artemis up to 542 by AMPS and then he dropped to 131 and was back into the reds. I suspect it was fine to increase the dose. I just wanted to make sure you knew what you were seeing.

Also, now that you are starting to see nadirs that are under 200, you only hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles.
Is there an article that explains the why and how bounces work?
 
There really isn't a post I can link you to. This link provides some basic information on the role of glucagon vs glycogen.

Bounces occur for a variety of reasons:
  • The numbers drop into a low range
  • The numbers drop into a range lower than what your cat is used to
  • There's a fast drop in numbers
When one or more of the above situations occur, your cat's liver and pancreas go into hyperdrive. Your cat's body is reacting to the drop in numbers as thought this is a dangerous situation and a stored form of glucose, glucagon, is released along with counterregulatory hormones to raise BG levels back up. The issue is that it may not be a "dangerous" situation -- it's more a matter of your cat not being used to what are normal BG levels since a not yet regulated cat has been spending time in higher than normal numbers. It can take a few days for your cat's system to get back on track.
 
There really isn't a post I can link you to. This link provides some basic information on the role of glucagon vs glycogen.
Thank you, very helpful. I'm trying to feel more knowledgeable about what's going on with her cycles, but it seems like such a moving target. Then I further muddy the mix with partial fur shots (Maus is her own moving target).

I'm fast approaching my super busy, away from home office work schedule and am also getting a bit panicky that I won't have a better handle on this before I'm into 10+ hr days (6/18-7/31)

Thank you for helping me sort through this
 
Back
Top