5/11 Latte AMPS-348, PMPS-504

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Last night:
PMPS-427
+2.5-435
+4.5-398
+5.75-298
AMPS-349

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14160

I can count on three fingers how many times in her almost 18yrs she has not gotten up when I say the word bath and join me for our evening bath before bed. Last night was one of them.

She ate a little kibble over night, but nothing else on the pm cycle. All I have been able to get her to eat this morning is maybe 1/4 jar babyfood. Otherwise she is only interested in her water or laying in her spot under the piano. I dont feel very good giving her all this insulin if she is not going to eat...or only eat AFTER she has dropped low (however low that may be).
But, its already in her so there is nothing I can do for today.

I may have to be gone until right up to her pm shot this evening.

My mantra at this point is do whatever I can to make her comfortable, and hope that I am doing a good job at honoring that.
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348

carolynandlatte said:
My mantra at this point is do whatever I can to make her comfortable, and hope that I am doing a good job at honoring that.

(((Carolyn))) I know you are doing a good job at honoring that. You are an amazing caregiver to her, and in all of your posts, I have never once seen you lose sight of her comfort. Sending many snowflakes to you and (((Latte))).
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348

I did not realize she was 18 wow I think you are doing a amazing job (((((Carolyn)))) sending more support and healing vines your way for Latte cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348, +1.5-227

I feel a little sick to my stomach after seeing that drop and not being able to get her to eat. Especially since I will not be home today. Any time I come near her corner she gets up and cowers in the litter box. :cry:
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348, +1.5-227

Morning Carolyn....hope Latte will eat a little for you this morning before you leave. If not, then I am sure she will munch on stuff that you leave out....like she did during the night....hope you both have a good day.....You are doing an amazing job!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348, +1.5-227

carolynandlatte said:
I dont feel very good giving her all this insulin if she is not going to eat...or only eat AFTER she has dropped low (however low that may be).
But, its already in her so there is nothing I can do for today.

So I'm thinking....she's finished her AB, and the infection has likely cleared. You've been thinking these crazy high numbers are from bouncing, and you aren't comfortable with the dosing given her lack of predictability in eating...you though yesterday she went lower than either of you prefer which set up another bounce...so why not try dropping her dose just a smidge? Seems like it might be a good time for the experiment?

I'm hoping she's just feeling punky today from the swings. Though, regardless of reason, nothing hurts your heart as much as seeing our furballs avoid us or cower from us. ((((hugs))))
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348, +1.5-227

Hi Carolyn and Latte, hoping you can get her to eat! Poor baby, you are doing all you can for her!!!! Sending hungry vines to Latte!!! and hugs to you!!!
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348, +1.5-227,+2.5~326, +10~507

Not only is this depressing, but These #'s dont make sense at all.

I checked her meter with solution and it's in range.

I used her back up meter (relion) with strips that are probably a month expired and got a 450.

Im beginning to wonder if I should just stop testing all together. It gives me no info to make changes or tell me what is going on with her. Its a source of stress for her, and obviously me as well.

Not much food gone, but a little kibble. Drinking lots of water.

If she doesnt sit in a place ai can give a shot soon the bupe will have to wait and she will only get 2 doses today. I dont want to chase her down and stress her out like she was this a.m.

She played with her cat nip toy shortly after I got home. Refused wet food, but is eating kibble now. Btw...her play with the toy does not seem to bother her. She juist bats it around and chews on it. Really not much movement. Since she has not played much in the last few months, it really helps to see her do this.
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348, +1.5-227,+2.5~326, +10~507

I'm glad she's playing. To me, that's a good sign.
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348, +1.5-227,+2.5~326, +10~507

Playing, wow that is a good sign. I think I'm feeling too emotional to be on the board tonight. I just want to scoop up all the board kitties and hug on them.
ANd you, I wish I could hug you too.
 
Re: 5/11 Latte AMPS-348, +1.5-227,+2.5~326, +10~507

AMPS-348
+1.5-227
+2.5-326
+10-507
PMPS-504

I reduced latte's dose from a 2.0 to s2.0.
If she ends up surfing 300-400's then fine. I would prefer that over her bouncing 200-400pts every cycle or two. This has been going on for nearly a month now and is really making her feel like crap, on top of everything else.

I planned on cutting pred (steroid) from 10mg to 5mg on Thursday, with a split dose of 2.5mg a.m/p.m. Her vet said the goal was to find the lowest effective dose. Maybe its somewhere between 5mg and 10mg rather than one or the other. Her starting dose a year ago was 7.2mg. So for today, wed, and thurs I am cutting her PM dose ONLY in half for a total of 7.5mg/day. I will leave her a.m. dose the same and see what is happening both with her symptoms and bg's on friday a.m. before I decide to taper it any more.

She has eaten a little more kibble and a small amount of wet in the last hour. She did get 2nd dose of bupe, and I will aim for 3rd dose at 12:30am.

She is under the piano, stoned. I am going to lay on my bed next to her and do nothing the rest of the night but BE with her. We have a vet appt tomorrow a.m.
 
it sounds like you have everything thought out. I especially like the part about doing nothing tonight but being with her. Good luck at the vet tomorrow, my thoughts are with you.
 
I agree with Libby....and with D. I want to hug you guys too....
I am feeling very emotional tonight as well...I was glad to hear that she is playing. That is so nice for you to see! Hope you both have a nice relaxing night...HUGS!
 
Hi Carolyn,

If Latte is playing - even tho it may be just lying there and batting it around- she still has spunk in her and must be feeling okay. Give yourself a big hug and then a little one for Latte. You're doing the best you can.
 
((((Carolyn & Latte)))) Here's hoping that tomorrow will bring an improvement in Latte's numbers and in her eating. And that she will keep her interest in playing. And here's hoping for a good night for both of you. Carolyn, you are doing such a wonderful job with your sweet kitty. We are holding you both in our thoughts and sending vines a-plenty.

Hugs,
Ella & Stu
 
I think you are doing such a fabulous job with her. phenomenal! I liked your mantra from your first post this morning. it truly is what it is about. I don't think any kitty could ask for a better bean than you. Will be thinking of the both of you. I hope the vet appt tomorrow goes well.

((((((Carolyn & Latte))))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top