5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4=90 PMPS=158 +4=110 +6=98

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone!

Yesterday was the first time we saw Junior in blues and greens and it was all a new world for his bean!

Today's adventure will be to break out the Contour and try it out. Numbers on SS will continue to be AlphaTrak until noted.

Have a wonderful day everyone!
Bonnie
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142

Hi Bonnie,

I haven't made it to your condo yet. You joined right after I unexpectedly lost Maverick. So I haven't been visiting much.

Just checked out your photo's of Junior. Heart tugging. His AMPS is great - hope he is feeling back to his old self. The picture of him in your knitting was priceless.

Belated welcome to Lantus Land *waving*
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142

I agree with Karrie - what an amazing model your Junior makes!

Congratulations on the first greens and blues! Junior's AMPS aren't so bad at all this morning.

I hope you have a good day!
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142

I'm a Contour fan! Remember, there's a 30 point difference between the 2 meters (the Contour will be lower).

And, what a good start to Junior's day.
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4 90

Awww, Junior thanks you for such kind words about his modeling career. I just hope it doesn't go to his head!

I just checked out Maverick's YouTube video. What a beautiful cat, it just breaks my heart to know that he's gone. If Junior had long fur, we'd get them mixed up! They have similar eyes and demeanor...they could pass as twins!
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4 90

Go Junior!

I hope you enjoy the contour. It's the one we use, and we like it.
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4 90

Wow, the Contour was really easy to use -- it just sipped the blood up! I had expected that it would need alot more blood.

I have 3 questions:

1. The box says "No Coding" but the manual says I should test each new canister with a control solution. Isn't that contradictory or am I misunderstanding?

2. At +8, Junior was at 159 with AlphaTrak and 92 on Contour from the same poke. Should I be concerned that there is nearly a 70 point difference between the 2 devices or is it because I need to test it with a control solution?

3. Are the spreadsheet and documentation on the site based on human glucometers or AlphaTrak? When I see stuff like "How to Handle Low Numbers and low is considered <50, that's 50 on a human glucometer and not AlphaTrak right?
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4 90 +8 159 Contour Questions

I am anxious to hear what you find out! I am still really new and using a Contour. I'm sure someone will come along soon. I had no idea that there was a 30 point difference. Wow! That worries me even more now.
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4 90 +8 159 Contour Questions

The control solution isn't necessary unless you want to check the meter's accuracy. You test the solution like you would a drop of blood. It should read a certain number when checked with the Contour meter and that's how you know the meter is giving you accurate numbers. The next time you test Junior's BG, use both meters again and see what the readings are. The first time I bought a second meter and used them both on the same drop of blood, the readings were way off. I don't know why, but it took until the third test (I was testing myself, not the poor cat) to finally get within four points of each other. Also "no coding" means there's no coding chip that you have to insert into the meter itself. Accu-Chek Aviva has that (that's the meter I use). It prevents you from using strips from one box to the next, unless they have the same code, which is marked on the bottle of strips. Just so you're clear, the protocol we're all following here is based on using a human glucometer, not the Alpha Trak. The original protocol from Queensland University was actually written two ways, one for people using a human glucometer and one for people using the Alpha Trak so there would be no confusion in the numbers. Hope this helps!!
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4 90 +8 159 Contour Questions

i suspect you'll find it easier and cheaper to just use the contour. seems like the test strips for the alpha trak are more expensive.

melissa, the alpha-trak is calibrated for cat blood - but all of the info you are reading is using human meter numbers, the protocol, all the instructions on how to handle hypos or low-numbers or pre-shot numbers, etc, are all speaking to blood tested on a human meter unless it specifically says otherwise.

Most of the numbers people are posting are using human meters unless they specify otherwise. the alpha trak numbers are about 30 higher than the same drop of blood on a human meter. that only took me about a month to get through my head. hahaha.
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4 90 +8 159 Contour Questions

Bonnie:

I don't think I've welcomed you either so welcome to LL! Your Junior is very handsome!!!

I have a Contour as a 2nd backup meter (I have two OTs and the Contour..card carrying member of Glucometer Addicts Anonymous in LL :lol: ). I ran it against my vet's AT and my main meter which is a One Touch Ultra Mini (LOVE IT...strips kinda pricey). I really like the Contour. Interestingly, at higher numbers, the Contour I have actually ran 30mg/dl HIGHER than the AT and my OT was 30 mg/dl lower than the AT (right on target). I can typically count on the Contour running higher than the OT but at lower numbers, the difference is much less. I'm not sure why it ran higher than the AT the day I tested it because now it will run about 40 mg/dl higher than my OT on high numbers and about 10 higher on low numbers. The biggest thing is that you pick a meter and stay with it for consistency. ....and you be sure we know if you are using an AT or not when you indicate your numbers. I would use the control soln and do a control test on the Contour once just to make sure it is in the reference range but if it is, I wouldn't worry about it and I sure wouldn't do a control test on every can of strips.
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS=142 +4=90 PMPS=158 AlphaTrak

Thank you for explaining the point differences between AlphaTrak and Contour. Junior's PMPS had a 38 pt difference versus his ~70 at his +8 this afternoon. Patty, it sounds in line with your experiences (except I poked Junior and not me). I'll continue to use both awhile until I get the control solution.

I have (yet) another question: Dosage.

Junior has been at 1.5u for 2-1/2 weeks now. I was going to increase it to 1.75 when his BG still lingered in 200's and 300's but something always came up (ie, ran out of AlphaTrak strips, needed to get hypo kit ready, family emergency, etc).

Now that he's in blues and greens, I'm not sure if I should increase, decrease, or hold. I'm thinking about keeping him at 1.5u for another week while continuing to monitor him.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4=90 PMPS=158(#s r AlphaT) Dosage

I just looked at Junior's spreadsheet and it has me confused. I can't tell where you started following the protocol. According to the protocol, you should increase the dose by 0.25u if the nadir (lowest point in the cycle) is less than 300, but more than 200. If the nadir is greater than 300, you increase the dose by 0.5u. You hold each increase for three days. If the nadir is less than 200 (like it has been for the past couple days), you would hold that dose for three to five days. Only if the BG drops below 50 do you decrease the dose, and that hasn't happened yet. You should never increase the dose by 1u because you might miss Junior's perfect dose. Also, you shouldn't increase after one day because you don't know if the numbers you're seeing are 'New Dose Wonkiness" or a bounce. I'm sure the dosing experts will come on and give you advice that's tailored just for you.
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4=90 PMPS=158(#s r AlphaT) Dosage

Didn't the meter come with control solution? It's in a squeeze bottle that should be in in the black carrying case. (If you're stuck for solution, I can leave some with my doorman for you. I'm going out of town tomorrow until Sun.) Send me a PM and let me know.

Given what Junior's numbers look like, I'd hold on the dose until you see what tonight's numbers look like. Many cats run lower numbers at night. I tend to think you have room to increase but it's best to see what this cycle has to offer.
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4=90 PMPS=158(#s r AlphaT) Dosage

Just did my third comparison between AlphaTrak and Contour and there's a 27 point difference.

@Sienne, I think the delta is pretty much where it should be so I don't think I'll need the control solution. I'll still do the comparison today and tomorrow just to make sure. Thank you for offering your CS for me!

@Patty, sorry for confusing you. Back story:
- Vet had started Junior at 2U and had gone up 1u at a time until he was at 5u in April.
- I was going to start the protocol at 1.5U on 4/23 when I was low on AlphaTrak strips and without a good curve under our belt (4/25 for PM curve, 4/26 for AM curve).
- Junior bounced on 4/27, not a good time to increase
- Then Junior was feisty and barfy, not a good time to increase
- Family emergency, not a good time to increase

Through all this, he's gotten to blues and greens without changing dosage, which was why I wasn't sure what I should be doing next. I'll keep testing him tonight!
 
Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4=90 PMPS=158 +4=110 (AlphaT #s)

I KNEW there had to be a story there. And it all totally makes sense. Thanks for letting me know. Now when I look at Junior's SS, I'll have an idea what's going on!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top